PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from beerbill
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 20, 2014 @ 09:40 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
beerbill

Beer Reviews
(33)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

33
Beer Reviews from beerbill
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mount Rushmore Brewing Company, Hill City, SD

Just a follow-up to the previous review - the place is definitely CLOSED. We went there on July 4th after a visit to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse and even made hotel reservations in Hill City to make sure we'd eat and drink there. Boy, were we disappointed to find it GONE. Its now a Harley Dealership.

We went down the street to the Bumpin Buffalo, which was a disaster. It was 6:45 and we waited about 25 minutes for a table. When we finally got a a table, the manager, who was standing maybe 10 feet away from us, told the waitress, "don't seat them, we're not serving dinner anymore." When I tried to talk to the manager, she quickly walked away and refused to answer me. I was pissed to say the least. She was standing right next to us, tell us yourself moron! Don't dump it on some poor waitress you gutless wench. And thanks for letting us stand there for 30 minutes for nothing. How the hell do you run out of food on July 4th? Next visit, I'll stay in Keystone instead.

(07/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Magic Hat Brewing Company, South Burlington, VT

We stopped by for another visit to the brewery this Fall. I picked up a bottle of Thumbsucker Imperial Stout, which I uncorked for New Year's. What a flavorful brew! The beer had a great lacey head and had lots of malt flavor with chocolate and coffee overtones. The beer went down a bit hot (7.8% alcohol), but I was very pleased with this brew.

(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, CA

I've never been to the brewery, but it sounds like a great place to visit. I wouldn't consider myself a hophead, but I've got to say that ABA is a brew that is full of flavor. At 7.2% ABV in a 22 0z. bottle, This is one potent brew. If you haven't tried it, its worth tracking down the closest distributor - and make sure you read all of the fine print on the bottle, these guys are having fun making beer. That's the way it should be!

(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company, Juneau, AK

This brewer offers some of the finest beers I have ever tasted. I recently tried the 2004 Smoked Porter - a bit hoppy for my tastes but it is still young. The 2003 Smoked Porter is aging nicely and is well balanced. The Amber Ale is delicious...period. The Winter Ale is nicely spiced and you can definitely taste the Spruce! I wish these guys were available in New York - I'd save a fortune in FedEx fees!!! By the way, if you like beer stuff, and if you're on Pubcrawler I assume you do, check out their website. Lots of great items and they ship promptly.

(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Alchemist Pub and Brewery, Waterbury, VT

We went ot Ben & Jerry's and made a couple of other stops near Stowe and decided to try this place for lunch after the reading the reviews - it sounds great. Unfortunately, it doesn't open until 4 pm on Saturday. Seemed kind of odd to not be open on a Saturday afternoon in the Fall for lunch.

(10/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Newark, DE

We were seated in the back, which was a bit overheated when we first walked in. We asked the server to turn on the a/c, which he did and it cooled off pretty quickly, thankfully. I had the prime rib (Sunday is prime rib day) and it was great. The horse radish that accompanied it was in a cream sauce and way too mild. My wife had salmon and she enjoyed it very much. The beers were great. I had the ESB, which had a great creamy head and excellent flavor. My wife had the Belgian Brown Ale, which I tried. It had a very fruity flavor with plum overtones. My kids had root beer which Iron Hill brews. It had a very rich flavor and made great root beer floats for dessert. Overall, we enjoyed the visit and would go back again.

(09/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Seven Bridges Grill and Brewery, Jacksonville, FL

We stopped in Jacksonville on our way down to Disney and found this place through Pubcrawler. The food was terrific and the service was excellent. My children had pizzas, which were all terrific. My wife and I had the seafood fettucini cooked in a key lime cream sauce that was unbelievably good! As for the beer, I had the Magnolia Brown Ale. It has a nice smooth flavor, but is a bit lacking in the finish. Still, not a bad brew. About the only negative I can offer is after the meal, I wanted to buy a tee shirt. The only sizes they had were Small and Medium! Most of the beer drinkers I know are not small or medium - rather XL or XXL!!! Definitely worth a stop if you're travelling the I-95 corridor south of Jacksonville.

(09/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Selin's Grove Brewing, Selinsgrove, PA

Stopped by on a recent vacation based on the positive reviews in Pubcrawler and we were not disappointed. The White Horse Porter was excellent with great molasses flavor. I liked it so much I took a growler with me for the cooler! The nacho platter appetizer was awesome. The menu is a little offbeat and it was a little difficult to find things for the kids to eat, but in the end we were all well fed and the food was great. About the only negative I could offer is that it is a little tight for space, but that is a minor issue. Overall, I highly recommend.

(08/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

I picked up a sampler case during a recent vacation in Lancaster. This is without question one of the best bottled beers I have had. The Lager is very good. The Rugged Trail Nut Brown Ale and the Hopback Amber Ale have excellent flavor without being overpowering (I'm NOT a hophead). This is not available in my neck of the woods, but I will look for it when I travel.

(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Its been several years since we've been here. I've only had good experiences at this place, both under the old and new ownership. All of our food was well prepared and served promptly. The Milk Stout was excellent as was the Spring Bock. The Spring Bock tasted a little less sweet than I remember, but then again its been several years. Overall, definitely worth the trip.

(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Merry Piglets, Jackson, WY

I've sent several emails to Pubcrawler correcting the name of this place without success - maybe I'll get their attention this way. The place is called MERRY PIGLETS. Fun Mexcian themed restaurant. Nice selection of beers, very good Mexican food. Friendly wait staff and good service. Bathrooms could use a cleaning when we were there in July.

(10/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Vermont Pub and Brewery, Burlington, VT

We visted twice this passed weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the place. Food was very good and extremely reasonably priced. I tried the Irish Red Ale and the Stout. Found both to have good flavor but lacking a bit in body. The place was packed both nights, definitely a hot spot in Burlington. I will definitely be back next visit.

(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Reuben James Restaurant and Brewery, Burlington, VT

Good food at a reasonable price. Excellent service. Check out the overhead light fixtures when you're in there - pretty cool.

(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Switchback Brewing Company, Burlington, VT

I looked everywhere and couldn't find the place. The address is another business, not the brewery. I asked around and nobody knew about it. Either its closed or not doing very well getting their name out!

(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Magic Hat Brewing Company, South Burlington, VT

A quirky brewery to say the least. Stopped by on Saturday afternoon and the bar area was packed with college students getting free samples. I tried Heart of Darkness and #9 and enjoyed both. The line for merchandise was 8 people deep, otherwise worth the stop.

(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Mount Rushmore Brewing Company, Hill City, SD

We found this place in our travels from Crazy Horse on our way up to Sundance, WY. The beer selection was excellent and the food was tasty and well prepared. Service was a bit slow and the upstairs room was hot - really could use ventilation or a/c. Glad we stopped and worth a visit. Hill City is a very nice town.

(10/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Pocono Brewing Company, Swiftwater , PA

Looks like all of the reviews prior to 2002 have been lost? My last visit here was in 2001 and the place had gone downhill dramatically. While the beer selection remained excellent, the quality of the food, which had been great, was aweful. On a recent weekend trip to PA, my family decided to give them another try. The food was much better, although not where it was say 4 years ago. I had a burger which was done the way I asked. My kids all had the macaroni & cheese, which is thankfully back to what it was several years ago and not that Kraft crap. My wife had crab cakes which she enjoyed, although they were made a bit heavy on the bread. I enjoyed a New Castle Brown Ale on tap. They looked to have around 30 beers or so on tap and a nice selection of bottled brews as well. I hope they continue moving in a positive direction, we'd love to return here more often. Now if they'd only bring the pizzas back on the menu...

(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Southampton Publick House, Southampton, NY

Brought my parents for dinner recently and had the Wheat Beer, which was very good. Everyone enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. Purchased a real nice hooded sweatshirt on the way out!

(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great So So Great

Establishment: Mount Rushmore Brewing Company, Hill City, SD

We stumbled upon this place on our way to Sundance, WY from Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Terrific assortment of beers on tap. We ate upstairs, which really needs to be air conditioned. Service was slow, but the food was very good. Overall, a very pleasant surprise. Hill City is a neat town with quite a few art galleries and I believe there is a scenic railroad that departs from there as well. Worth a visit.

(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Silver Dollar Bar and Grill, Jackson, WY

Great bar. Pool table in the back. They have Moose Drool Brown Ale on tap, which is a great brew. I had a buffalo burger which I enjoyed. Wall is a big tourist trap, but still a fun place to visit that is basically in the middle of nowhere!

I don't know the hours, but I think its around 6 am to ? I know they serve breakfast in the morning. Wish I had more info to give you.

(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Big Sky Brewing Company, Missoula, MT

I had Moose Drool Brown Ale on tap as often as I could while on vacation. I even brought home a six pack. This stuff is great!!! I wish you guys could ship to NY!!!

(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Grand Teton Brewing Company, Victor, ID

They have relocated to Victor, ID, which is about 25 miles from Jackson Hole via Wilson. We did not get to go there to eat, hopefully next visit we will. I did try their Ginger Ale which they bottle, and it was unbelievably great! If you like Ginger Ale, you'll love this. You can buy it at the Mangy Moose Liquor Store which is downstairs below the Mangy Moose Saloon.

(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Barley Creek Brewing Company, Tannersville, PA

The place has improved since our last visit a year ago. They've renovated the place - moved the bar, took out some booths, rearranged the seating. Food was better. Fish and chips was excellent. I had a black & tan made with their Brown Antler and Stout, which I enjoyed. If you haven't been there lately, worth coming back for another look.

(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Library Restaurant and Brewing Company, Laramie, WY

My wife had the stout, which was very good. I tried an ale which was ok. We tried the pizzas, which were excellent.

(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Jackson Hole Pub and Brewery was Snake River Brewing, Jackson, WY

We visited Jackson Hole for a week's vacation and ate here 3 times. Zonker Stout is excellent. Pale Ale was also great. Try their root beer - it is FANTASTIC. They also make root beer floats which will knock your socks off. Food was excellent.

(08/06/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.294 seconds) 21:40:00 54.234.0.85, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS