PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bryan peretto
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 06:08 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bryan peretto

Beer Reviews
(4)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Celtic Brewer
Favorite Beer: My Own
Located In: Mid Connecticut
My Website: www.twinhillsbrewery.com
4
Beer Reviews from bryan peretto
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Bidwell Tavern Cafe, Coventry, CT

For a small and VERY old tavern in a little cow town, The Bidwell has a great selection (about 22 taps) of good beer.

Usually, I opt for the Johnny Courage because where else do you see that on tap?

There are various specials throughout the week like Thursday's Wings and Swill Beer night. I won't tell you my favorite because I don't want to have to wait for a table.

The wings are my favorite of anywhere in the world- and I've had wings at lots of places. I don't find any of them hot, just flavorful. The other items on the menu have treated me equally well.

(10/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: The Half Door - A Traditional Irish Pub, Hartford, CT

I've been here many a'time. Luckily I get out of work early and can score a parking spot on the road, otherwise it can get hairy.

There are a good amount of taps, and a great selection of bottles. I won't even begin to list what they have and what I've tasted- I don't think there's enough room.

My favorites are the belgians. But the $3 pints of strongbow cider will get you where you need to be for pretty cheap.

The food is good. Last time it was so salty, I must have drank a gallon of water when I got home. But at least it tasted great and they tried pretty hard on the presentation.

The atmosphere is cozy and the people are friendly. I've struck up conversations with all sorts of people there- and that's not usually my style. There's just something about the Half Door that makes you feel at home- despite its surroundings.

(10/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Vaughan's Public House, Hartford, CT

A nice place to hang out if you're in Hartford. It's a good crowd. There are a few decent beers (micros, imports, and locals) on tap, and a few on nitro.

Seasonally, there's a Spaten O-fest on tap which is all I had last time. On other visits I drank the best Boddingtons I've ever had. Usually you'll find 10 Penny, Guinness, Smithwicks, Youngs, Carlsberg, Stella, Harp, and others.

I've never had the food, but I've heard it's pretty good. Even at the busiest times, I don't have to wait long to get a beer.

(10/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: The Cambridge House, Granby, CT

The current quality of beer is great. It looks like they've finally settled into the new system. Personally, I think the stout is one of their consistant winners.

Even with all the good brews, they still offer some of the other locals such as Troutbrook and Berkshire to name a few.

The food has always been great and I usually try something new each time. Once I arrived 15 minutes before they opened and I was seated and served even though I offered to wait.

As for criticism, it does get busy at times (good for them!) but it does impact service and it can get very loud in the bar area. Thankfully the owners are receptive to feedback and are all-around good people. Definitely stop in!

(10/23/2006)














(0.14 seconds) 18:08:52 107.22.120.91, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS