PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bruce j. dana
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 20, 2014 @ 11:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bruce j. dana

Beer Reviews
(10)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

10
Beer Reviews from bruce j. dana
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

Found Tampa Brewing Company in a strip mall type location, had both indoor and outdoor sitting (not much of a view). Found a seat at the bar with a drink menu, but bar tenders where more concerned about their hair and what magazine cover Britney Spears was this week. Tried a couple of the their beers and both where average taste and where priced above the average cost of these beers. Finished beers at Tampa Brewing Company and went back to hotel to finish my Samual Adams variety six pack which was much better.

(11/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Northwoods Brewpub and Grill, Eau Claire, WI

Was excited about visiting Northwoods Brew with the thoughts of micro brews and home made pies. Stopped on a Thursday afternoon and order Poplar Porter, if I had a blind fold on and you put this pint in front of me I could not tell you it was a porter style beer. Next I ordered a piece of apple pie with a big scoop of ice cream along with a pint of Kelly's stout, the best thing I can say is the ice cream was good. Decided it was time to go after finishing both pie and beer, maybe would stop again if I'm in the area.

(06/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

Triple 7 is a hidden gem in downtown Vegas!!! Not only can you get Triple 7 beers within the great looking establishment, you can play craps in the Main Street Casio and drink Triple 7 at the same time. How great is that. We tried the following beers:

* High Roller Gold A good filtered wheat beer. This is a good starter beer.

* Pumpkin Spice Ale Perfect for pumpkin lovers. Not too much spice with a clean finish. Great color, autumn in a glass.

* Royal Red Lager This red lager was average to good, crisp and easy drinking beer. Could use a step up in the flavor category.

* Marker Pale Ale Great aroma and flavor. A very good pale ale. I really like this ale.

* Black Chip Porter A great porter. Tastes smooth and roasted lots of chocolate toffee and espresso coffee. A-1 beer.

Next trip to Las Vegas I will look into staying in the hotel above the casio and brewery. Great Place

(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: The Covey Restaurant and Brewery, Fort Worth, TX

Covery is a O.K. place to go, but would not go out of my way to visit. The selection of beers that are offered was and made you think which beer to try next.

Two of the beers that I tried where good and would have again. Covey's Heteweizen is a perfect summer time beer and great taste, this is one I would have again. Second Covey's Amber has good bitter taste and is a solid amber beer, another one Covey's beers I would have again. One of Covey's beer that I was disappointed with was the Texas Wheat, very light tasting wheat beer, may be a good starter beer and then finish with two listed above. Covey's Pale Ale also was in the average catagory, O.K. beer but good aroma.

One problems we noticed about the layout of the restaurant was the pizza oven on the dinning side of the building puts out some most heat it causes the air conditioning to run full bast to keep the dinning side cool, so the bar side also gets the air conditioning full bast and is 10 to 15 degrees colder (which I guess would keep your beer colder).

Since Covey just opened my wife and I will give it another chance sometime and this time we will both bring jackets.

(08/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

I was starting a 7-day cruise from Vancouver, I had six hours to waste in Vancouver before our ship set sail. Found Steamworks was driving from the airport to the ship docks, it was easy to walk to their location. Started out with Cascadia Cream ale, everything you wanted in smooth cream ale. Second I tried their Empress IPA was just above average. But the final beer I tried was Heroica Oatmeal Stout, which would get me to return anytime. Also the staff at Steamworks where great, Duncan the bartender was friendly and had alot of knowledge of all the beers. The Steamworks building was great with an unbelievable downstairs and kitchen area, the manager even gave me a tour of all floors of this fine establishment. If you are starting a cruise in Vancouver and have some free time make Steamworks a must stop.

(10/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Glacier Brewhouse, Anchorage, AK

Had eight hours to waste in Anchorage and I found Glacier Brewhouse. Drank three different beers while eating lunch. First I had Glacier's Amber beer ( my favorite style of beer), but was disappointed in the lack of flavor and taste. Second I tried Glacier's Oatmeal Stout, good full flavor and smooth. Last I had Glacier's IPA, this was the best of the three. Good bitter and fruity, one of the top 5 IPA's I have drank in my life (thumbs up). Also as a footnote Glacier serves a top of the line root beer too, which went good with our lunch.

(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good

Establishment: Sleeping Lady Brewing Company was Snow Goose, Anchorage, AK

Great location and view and back patio and also fun games to play while in the bar.

Started with 'Susitna Hefeweizen', a heavier hefeweizen with a solid taste. It was a meal in a glass. Also tried '49er Amber Ale', middle of the road Amber over all. Next I tried 'Portage Porter', very roasty taste good chocolate finish and smooth. Best of all was 'John Henry Oatmeal Stout', a full flavor beer smooth finish. Just a great drink. The only negative for Snow Goose was the bartender at the time talked to use like we just came off the fishing boat for three months. Even I was blushing listening him talk with my mother-in-law sitting next to me and my wife.

(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Market Street Pub, Gainesville, FL

I have learned that if you go to Gainesville, Florida for work or pleasure don't expect any good micro breweries in this town. I was in town for work and found out about Market Street Pub located on the Florida campus area, which I figured would mean great beer in a great location. Unfortunately this place only had a great location. When I arrived at Market Steet Pub I looked at the seclection of beers (all four of them) and asked the bartender about the different beers, but the bartender informed me that only one of the selcections was available. I tried that one stout brew that was available and found it lacking in everything (smell and taste). Drank my one beer and paid my tab and called my night short. No reason to visit this place again.

(02/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy Good

Establishment: Waterloo Brewing Company, Austin, TX

If you like great beer taste and selection and like to drink it in a dirty frat house, this is your place. Really enjoyed the selection of beers and taste, but was turned off by the dirty floors, bathrooms and the mess and dirt behind the bar it has like I was drinking a beer with Jon Belushi in Animal House.

(09/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

Great place to sit to have a beer, but beers where OK at best. The porter and amber had little favor, but had one different kind of a berr 'Red River Rye'.

(09/08/1999)














(0.097 seconds) 23:53:23 54.198.36.179, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS