PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from brian loew
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 20, 2014 @ 11:32 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
brian loew

Beer Reviews
(51)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

51
Beer Reviews from brian loew
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy So So

Establishment: Westwood Brewing Company, Los Angeles, CA

Yet another disappointing Southern California brewpub offering. During my visit five beers brewed on site were available, all but one of which was pedestrian. The smoked scotch ale however, was very good and worthy of recommendation. WBC has the type of menu one would expect in oh-so-groovy Westwood, and in fact several of the dishes were good. As indicated by several previous reviewers, the service is absolutely horrendous. Don't expect to park for free or within reasonable proximity to the site. Bottom line: thumbs down. Westwood, you are capable of so much more!!!!!

(09/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Waimea Brewing Company, Waimea, Kauai, HI

This brewpub, located in an old plantation house in the sunny southwest portion of Kauai, is the best on the island by far. After sampling and dismissing Whalers and finding Big Wave recently closed, I visited WBC three times during a recent 10 day vacation. Four beers brewed on site were offered, including a fine IPA (hoppy, tasty, and drinkable, with a good maltiness) and a nicely hopped wheat which stood far above the average lame brewpub version. A golden and red ale also were offered, and both were good products. WBC also had Spaten Oktoberfest and Guiness on tap, and of course those are always welcomed additions to the brewpub experience. I sampled the food several times and really enjoyed the seared ahi salad, chicken skewers in a jerk-style sauce, and a truly unusual and tasty cole slaw. The service was excellent, with all staff showing a warm and welcoming aloha spirit. Of the approximately 200 brewpubs I have visited, this is now among my favorites for its friendly and relaxed karma, fine beer, and of course, its setting on one of the most beautiful islands in the world. Highly recommended.

(08/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Whalers Brewpub, Lihue, Kauai, HI

While this brewpub probably has the most beautiful location of any in the United States, that is the only thing going for it. During my visit five brews were offered, and each was poor at best. The service was neglectful at first, degerating to hostile as time wore on. Some folks have commented favorably upon the food, but perhaps they had a different chef. My tastes may be odd, but I found the food to be ordinary and unremarkable in every way. I can sum up my experience by saying that after my visit on the first of a ten day Kauai vacation, I deliberately avoided this place for the balance of the trip. Skip it and go instead to the Waimea Brewing Company in Waimea, where they have very good beer, good food, and a warm and fun loving aloha spirit - things noticeably absent at Whalers.

(08/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Good Lousy

Establishment: Side Bar Brewing Company, Riverside, CA

Please note that this once weak brewpub is now closed and boarded up. No loss, I'm afraid.

(07/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Brickhouse Brewery and Restaurant, Redlands, CA

A nice looking brewpub in the cute portion of downtown Redlands. On the day of my visit six beers were offered, none of which was worthy of favorable comment. The stout was the only standout, regrettably for its absolutely awful taste. I visited during a very quiet afternoon, but the friendly bartender indicated that the evening crowd is great. I did not taste the food, but can say that it is offered in a spacious and attractive portion of the facility located apart from the beer action. Despite its close proximity to my home, I do not plan to return and could not recommend it to potential visitors. The Inland Empire continues to be a wasteland for quality brewpubs.........

(07/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Boscos Pizza Kitchen and Brewery, Germantown, TN

Recently had an opportunity to revisit this brewpub in the tony Saddle Creek shopping center for the first time in three years. Six beers were available, including one cask conditioned pale ale. All six products were good, with my favorites being the IPA and Scottish ale (Isle of Skye). The two food entrees sampled were very good, and due to the lateness of the hour, the crowd was small. Our waiter was in dire need of a personality implant (amazing ability to suck all life out of those he addressed) but he was attentive and met cutomer food and drink needs adequately. Regrettably, I must echo one remark made years earlier: Memphis is pitifully short of brewpubs, and as a result Bosco's is truly an oasis in a bleak beer landscape.

(06/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Compass Creek Brewing Company, Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Tucked away in a little shopping center near the fine Epicenter minor league ballpark, this new brewpub has an attractive design. On the day of my visit about six beers were available. As a whole, the brews were rather thin and watery, lacking in body, and generally uninspiring. However, I did like the red ale (an unusual occurrence) for its interesting maltiness. I did not opt for the food, but the menu specials offered some fresh fish preparations. Service left a lot to be desired. Since it's the only brewpub for miles around, I suppose it is worth another visit, but there is much room for improvement here.

(05/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

I concur with the praise given by other reviewers to the emphasis on cask conditioned beer, but I don't share their enthusiasm for the general quality of the products. On my visit several of the brews tasted virtually identical. I also did not have the opportunity to meet the brewmaster. However, I did run into several typical Haight district street people dropping in to use the bathroom, which was an interesting (if not pleasant) experience. A great location for a brewpub, but unfortunately I wasn't terribly impressed.

(12/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Indian Wells Brewing Company, Inyokern, CA

This brewpub is currently in the process of moving to a new location on Highway 14 just west of "downtown" Inyokern. The facility is scheduled to open to the public in January 1999, but the proprietor was kind enough to provide a tour last weekend. Beer will be made and bottled on site. Unfortunately, the beer wasn't available for tasting, but the facility was nice and so were the employees.

(11/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Bonnema Brewing Company, Atascadero, CA

As of mid-August 1998, a new brewpub was under construction for this firm. Beer is currently available for tasting, but the facility arrangement clearly is temporary. Of the four beers offered during my visit, only the Stout was a distinctive product, having a delightful chocolate presence. Unfortunately, the flagship Red Kroaker Ale was unavailable. The staff at the brewpub is very friendly, and the new facility promises to be a fun experience.

(08/31/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great So So

Establishment: Skewers Restaurant and Brewery, Costa Mesa, CA

This is a very small brewpub located in a small and crowded strip mall on 17th Street in Costa Mesa. A limited number and range of beers are offered. On my visit these included an apricot hefewiezen, scotch ale, pale ale, and stout. The products were OK but not distinctive in any way. The menu specializes in grilled items served on kebobs or skewers. The two I sampled were good, as was a meatball sub. Based upon the emptiness of this place during a recent Saturday lunch, patronage is weak.

(07/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Lamppost Pizza and Main Street Brewery, Corona, CA

Housed in a rather bleak mall hard by the 91 Freeway, this establishment offers an admirable selection of generally good beers. The atmosphere is more pizza parlor than brewpub, but that approach certainly works, e.g., Pizza Port in Solana Beach. On my visit seven beers were offered ranging from a hefewiezen to a stout. The IPA, pale ale, and maerzen (sp?) all were quite good, the stout was nicely finished, and the others were at least average except for a weak hefe. The owner and staff are extremely friendly, and the pizza is excellent. Frankly, I didn't expect much from this brewpub but I will certainly return. This is a local business worthy of regular patronage.

(07/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Boscos Pizza Kitchen and Brewery, Germantown, TN

Very attractive brewpub located in an upscale shopping center in the eastern suburbs of Memphis. The quality of the products is generally high, and the food is above average for a brewpub. This place can be quite crowded during happy hour periods, taking on a meat market feel. In spite of that, this brewpub is a godsend for the beer deprived in the Memphis area. It's a very long drive to the nearest quality brewpub...

(07/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: San Marcos Brewery and Grill, San Marcos, CA

Friendly staff and a small selection of generally solid beers makes this a frequent stop. During my last two visits cask conditioned beers were offered, including a very fine ESB. All of the products are good, but none are exceptional. The food is standard brewpub fare, but it certainly meets my needs. I have occasionally found the servers to be inattentive.

(07/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Arizona Roadhouse and Brewery, Tempe, AZ

Large brewpub featuring live music by some good local bands. Fairly good selection of beers brewed on the premises. I only had time for one selection (oatmeal stout) which was pleasant but far from great.

(03/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Streets of New York Brewery was Uptown Brewery, Tempe, AZ

Very attractive establishment looking and feeling more like a restaurant than a brewpub. Good selection of beers and fairly good pizza and pasta. The India Pale Ale is well executed.

(03/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: McFarlane Brewing Company, Phoenix, AZ

Located in an industrial area, this is part brewery, part brewpub. Lots of regulars here, enjoying products served by those who brew them. Not many beers are made here at any one time (and no pale ales ever), but each of the four I tried last week was excellent. Both filtered and unfiltered Hefes were far better than those cranked out by marginal brewpubs in the Pacific Northwest. Wonderful Octoberfest also. The atmosphere is funky and friendly, and the beer is great; what more can you want?

(03/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Awesome!

Establishment: Brickskeller, Washington, DC

The selection of bottled/canned beer offered by this venerable establishment in the embassy district off DuPont Circle is unquestionably among the very best in North America. I have been coming here annually since 1972 and have not made it through the entire beer inventory yet. The beer menu will impress even the most experienced pubcrawler. Unfortunately, the food is useful only for soaking up the beer. Eat elsewhere but by all means pound a few rare brews here!

(03/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: E and O Trading Company, San Francisco, CA

New brewpub recently opened on Sutter Street in San Francisco near Union Square. In appearance and ambiance this is more of a restaurant than a brewpub, i.e., the design is elegant and upscale. During my visit a lager, brown ale, porter, and IPA were offered, and all were brewed on the premises. All brews were good with the IPA being the standout product. The Indian and Thai cuisine is absolutely fantastic - among the best food I have had in any brewpub in the U.S. Considering both food and beer, this is among the very best brewpubs in the Bay Area. Highly recommended, although the usual SF parking nighmare must be anticipated.

(12/23/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: ThirstyBear Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

A wonderful new brewpub near the Moscone Center. The general quality of the beers is very good, and they have a cask-conditioned beer featured every Tuesday night. The food is spanish in orientation, and is among the best I have experienced in any U.S. brewpub. Fantastic paella and tapas. Parking is a drag of course, but ThirstyBear is among the very best (if not the best) brewpubs in San Francisco. Highly recommended!

(12/23/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Stoddard's Brewhouse and Eatery, Sunnyvale, CA

More restaurant than brewpub in appearance, with very good food and generally high quality beer. A nice surprise.

(11/04/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: River City Brewing, Sacramento, CA

The best brewpub in Sacramento. General quality of the beers is very high, and the food is outstanding. Often crowded due to location in K Street Mall. Rather noisy as well, but this brewpub is still highly recommended.

(11/04/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Rubicon Brewing Company, Sacramento, CA

One of the oldest of Sacamento's growing list of brewpubs and still a favorite. Very nice pale ale, and other products are generally good. Very friendly folks in a neighborhood atmosphere.

(11/04/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Skagit River Brewing Company, Mount Vernon, WA

Located in a cavernous semi-industrial building in Mount Vernon. The beer was generally good but not uniformly so among the selections. Funky and laid back atmosphere and staff. During my visit a group of office mates sitting on the second floor were literally screaming with delight over some rather graphic exhibitionist activities occurring at their table. That type of stuff seemed acceptable, and a great time was being had by all. You've got to love that...

(10/24/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Orchard Street Brewing, Bellingham, WA

Small but very good brewpub located in an out-of-the-way industrial park. Beer quality is generally quite good, with a reasonably broad selection. The food is excellent, at least it includes the salads, wood-fired pizza, and pasta. A very pleasant surprise on the Washington brewpub trail and a recommended stop.

(10/24/1997)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.319 seconds) 23:32:07 54.227.171.163, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS