PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from brandon a. duhamel
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 28, 2014 @ 04:03 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
brandon a. duhamel

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from brandon a. duhamel
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good So So Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Good

Establishment: Peculier Pub, New York, NY

Huge beer selection, but mostly in bottles; about 5 - 10 on tap? (my memory fails me at the moment). Every beer you could possibly imagine from everywhere in the world. Prices are average for the styles of beers and the area, but be aware that a 15% gratuity is added to every order (regardless of party size) so tips are not necessary. Stay away at night from Thursday through Saturday as the place is small, the college students pile in like it's a japanese subway; there's no walking/standing/sitting room and long lines for the bathrooms.

(06/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: d.b.a. (DBA), New York, NY

Nice large selection of beers. Many, local, many english, and many Belgian. They usually have a gravity dispensed Cask-Conditioned selection (mostly English) and sometimes Belgian (which is unusual, because most Belgian ales are bottle conditioned.) Nice atmosphere, a little overly crowded on the weekends starting from around 7 or 8 PM. Nice friendly barmaid the few time I was there.

(06/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: West Side Brewing Company, New York, NY

Decent Wheat, nice Nut Brown, the place is a bit too small though. I couldn't really say I've had any bad experiences at this place. Great for good beer and monday night football.

(06/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Tap Room, New York, NY

I may be a bit tainted in my review here as I remember the Tap Room when it was Zip City - a place I felt to be one of the finest breweries in the world; I have never had a finer Hefe-Weizen or Dunkelweiss than Zip City's (not even in Germany), but I digress.... The Tap Room is now under Austrian management and they are making a rather reasonable selection of Austrian style Lagers as opposed to the bold German Ales of the former Zip City. I must admit that I have never been too fond of Austrian beer, feeling it to run a distant second to its German bretheren, but the Tap Room makes a stand for itself by offering fresh, quality, slightly above average beers. The Dunkel is to fizzy, too cold and not up front enough with its flavor, in stark contrast to its wonerfully dark and rich color. I did not try the food, and the service was a bit slow, even when business was slow...alas, farewell farewell Zip City; how I miss thee!

(06/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Heartland Brewery at Union Square, New York, NY

Heartland has just opened a second midtown location which is better, not as crowded as and generally classier than the Union Square location. I have never felt the Heartland to be an exceptional Brewpub for quality of beers. Most of their styles are fair to average with the only exceptions being their Pale Ale, which is actually more like an ESB (as is the case with most "American" Pale Ales) with a smooth subtly malty character with a nice bite of hops to finish, and the Oatmeal Stout (a Great American Beer Festival gold medalist), one of the most exceptional stouts I have had anywhere; a well rounded with big round maltiness large quantities of dark chocolate, subtle overtones of espresso and a hint of blackcurrant.

(06/13/1998)














(0.113 seconds) 16:03:22 54.90.156.100, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS