PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from brett hollern
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 26, 2014 @ 12:13 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
brett hollern

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from brett hollern
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

Just becasue it's a chain-style brewpub, don't pass judgement. This John Harvards always has a terrific selection of brews, the milk stout is top notch as well as many of thier other brews. The menu is wide ranging and the portions are large. I have not had a bad meal there yet. The atmosphere lends itslef well to an establishment that was built from scratch rather than one occupying an existing structure. You can basically reach out and touch the fermenters as they are integrated into the restaraunt seating area. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a wide selection of quality beers and a decent meal.

(08/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

If you are a fan of unique establishments, plan a visit here. Located in a restored train station, the bar area is open and roomy. There is a cool mezzanine overlooking the bar area for dining. Great time and care were taken in the restoration of this building, from what I understand, it was in deplorable condition beforehand. Let's not forget the most important element though, the beer! All of their selections are excellent representations of their style and their Ironhorse Stout is damn tasty. I hope to see them expand their beer line but overall the quality is great. The food selection and quality are good, although I was disappointed with their Po' Boy. A great brewpub overall and it's nice to see a brewpub between Pittsburgh and Harrisburg.

(08/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Uncle Tucker's Woodfired Pizza and Brew Haus, Cumberland, MD

Got a chance to visit here after a meeting in Cumberland a few weeks back and was pleasantly surprised. The downstairs pub, although a bit tight, had a terrific atmosphere, with a brick and stone interior, the sampler of 5-6 beers provided everything from a light ale, I guess their "transition beer", good for its intended audience to an excellent, tasty Scotch Ale and the pizza was superb. If you happen to be travelling on I-68 through Maryland, make sure to stop by.

(08/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

I really don't think Victory could brew a bad beer even if they tried! Hop Devil rivals any IPA I have ever tasted. Their Old Horizontal Barley Wine is tremendous (seasonal)as well as their Moonglow Weizen Bock (summer). The pub is big and roomy with a nice long bar. I did not get to eat but have been told the food is good. Drink Victory's beers and you will be amazed!

(08/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

I maek a stop here any time I am in the 'Burgh. The Penn Pilsner has been a staple in my beer diet since I first tried it 3 years ago. The atmosphere is terrific, big oak picnic style tables which are great for a group of friends. Their seasonals are always good and ture to their style and thier regular brews all please (Dark, Gold, Kaiser Pils,Weizen)A bit of Germany right in Pittsburgh.

(08/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Ellicottville, NY

Their seasonal was a tasty Maibock, they had a terrific roasty Porter and thier Stout was perfect and their wheat was just fine. Great atmosphere, inside and out (in their Beer Garden)Great little ski town , too. Be sure to visit if you are ever near by! (I know I will be back when the snow comes)

(08/22/2000)














(0.04 seconds) 00:13:38 54.87.134.74, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS