PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bubba
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 31, 2014 @ 10:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bubba

Beer Reviews
(19)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

19
Beer Reviews from bubba
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

Ok, this place has it all, fantastic Belgian House Brews, impecable Belgian guest selections, outrageous prices for all of them, top notch food, and a really, really nice staff. Cant wait for the unfiltered Reserection Ale. Keep up the great work Volker, Chris & Steve!

(09/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sean Bolan's Irish Pub, Baltimore, MD

Ok, so I didnt have any food, but I saw it. Thursday night is Firkin Night at SB's and it is firkin worth it. Ken is as nice as they come and treated me like a regular 5 minutes after I walked in. Tap quality is superior. Also always has one cask on hand pull. you will not be dissapointed.

(09/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Granite Brewery, Toronto, ON

I was staying at the Roehampton hotel nearby for a few nights so the Granite was homebase. Met up with Ron Keefe who is a super nice guy, he had apologized that they only had one hand pump running at the time of my visit. He was unable to keep the close eye required on the casks of IPA and Special due to a death in the family, but the Summer Cask was primo. Nicely hopped no skunky aftertaste, and very, very refreshing, served a little cooler than most hand pumps I've had, but it was hot out, so it was nice. Had all brews available, the stout is a little too heavy on the roasted flavor, but still a good brew. The Peculiar was a winner as was the Ringwood ale and the Bitter. Brought back a bottle of the Peculiar, bought from the LCBO at 2300 Yonge. Staff was friendly and efficient, food was very good and prepared quickly. Would be back in a heartbeat if I get back to Toronto, eh.

(06/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Bow and Arrow, Toronto, ON

Stopped in on my way downtown last Saturday. It was hot and I was thirsty, lucky for me the Bow and Arrow appeared on the horizon. There was only one ale on the hand pump at the time, an ESB from Durham, was a winner. A very good selection of micros from Canada and a very polite and helpful bartender. This place is very large so group visits should not be a problem.

(06/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Awesome! Good

Establishment: The Duke of Perth, Chicago, IL

Stopped in on a Saturday Night, there is plenty of waitstaff here (which is required according to the sign out front). There was a wait for the smoking section which was in the front of the bar. We did not eat as it was pretty late. They focus on Scotch's here, so if you are a Scotch Hunter you will love this place. 6-8 Taps, tried the Young's Winter Warmer and a Bellhaven's both were fresh. The had Specked Hen and a few others in Bottles and Duvel for those that need something Belgian. The wait staff was very pleasant and checked back often. Nice quiet place to sit back with a glass and have a conversation. Now I can say I've been to a Scottish Bar.

(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Map Room, Chicago, IL

Stopped in on a Friday night, there was a Beatles cover Band, which was playing a little too loudly for conversation to be heard. But, hey wadda want for no cover. Scored a bottle of New Glaurus Rasberry Tart and two seats at the bar. Very helpful staff, and a fun crowd of people. Also had a Westvletern 12 ($12 ouch), a Bell's Expedition Stout it was like 10W-30, and delicious as all heck. The Alpha King Pale was everything that it had been hyped to be and more. This was a great place to seek out. It was a little smokey though, I Agree.

(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville, Chicago, IL

Ok, heading advice from previous posters, we stuck to service from the bartender. It was Friday afternoon, just before a Cubbies game. We got great service, hot food, and great beer. Had the porter, it was fresh and flavorful. Cubs won!

(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

Stopped into the Clyborn location twice during my visit. Once after a buying binge at Sam's Wines across the street, and a second time before a Cubs Game. First time went with the Hex Nut on Cask, it was good, but a little past peak. Also had an Oatmeal Stout with my burger. The stout was right on, nice and creamy with just the right amount of bitterness. Fries were cold, burger was great. Second visit had the Special on Cask, it was much better then the previously mentioned Hex. Also had a Demolition 1900 Belgian Style ale (9.0%) which was very refreshing. The Vienna was very worth mentioning as was the Maibock. Service on the 2nd visit was much better.

(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Cafe des Bruxelles, New York, NY

Not much of a bar, but a really good restaurant. Nice staff, their selection of beers is well chosen but not overextended. Only restaurant I know of where you can finish you meal with a Scaldis (Bush). Beef Stew is the best thing on the menu (have a Chimay Blue with that) and a pot of Mussels for a starter (mines a Rodenbach on that). Have been there twice and will be back again soon.

(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Blind Tiger Ale House, New York, NY

Great selection of every beer type under the sun, was there a month or two back, only problem is that it is a sort of a small place so seats are at a premium. Prices were reasonable and the bar staff were movin and shakin all night long to keep everyone happy. gets real smokey in there though.

(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Barrow Street Ale House, New York, NY

Huge Bar, with pool and darts downstairs. Actually got a buy back on my last visit, almost fell off my stool! Nice and dark the way a good NY Bar should be. About 15-20 on tap and about the same or a few more in bottle, beer of the week special, I think it was $2 pints on those. I'll be baak!

(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: River City Brewing Company, Jacksonville, FL

Stopped by RCBC after arriving in JAX on Wed evening. It was early so there was only a small crowd. Bar staff was friendly and helpful. The Porter was the best of the bunch, Scotch Ale was definitely off tasting, may have not been the freshest of kegs. Food was decent enough and arrived hot. Water Taxi's stop just outside which is handy if you are staying far away from the pub. Place is huge and has indoor and outdoor seating, live bands (looked like on weekends).

(10/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Hyde Park Brewing Company, Hyde Park, NY

Stopped in on the way back from Cooperstown this past week, waited almost 10 minutes for someone to sit us at a table, not that they were busy, there just was'nt anyone interested in helping us. Waitress once she showed up was helpful and quick. Food was very good, beer n cheese soup was worth while. Had the brewer's special - Octoberfest, it was decent and proper. The stout had a weird metallic aftertaste which was not pleasant at all. They were out of Porter which I would have liked to try. Located right across from FDR's home, they have three hiking trails there so you can burn off some of the calories from the beer n food.

(10/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY

We had gone up to Cooperstown for our 1st anniv, and to visit ommegang for their 3rd b-day party,tours were free, great food and the folks there are real nice. the $4 tour free is credited to any purchase so you can get a glass for $2,not bad. Try the Ommegang cheddar & horseradish spread it's a sinus clearer. V.much agree with Bob from Allentown, stay at the Duk'e Oak B&B, Dave & Cindy are great hosts, and the breakfast's are to die for. Stop by the brewery if you are in the area to see how belgian beer is made.

(10/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Cannon Brewpub, Columbus, GA

3rd visit to the Cannon last week, they were out of several of their regular beers, the IPA is still real tasty, the stoudt was a little too burnt tasting, the Red Jacket was fresh and hit the spot. Staff was attentive as always and the food was hot, fresh and done right.

(09/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Palmer Lake Brewing at the Warehouse, Colorado Springs, CO

We found the Warehouse after a day of treckin through the hot sun at garden of the gods, and were well rewarded, great beer and food. Belgian was nice, subtle spices, great color, real smooth, pale ale was nice and bittre, great aroma, Equinox Mystery Ale was smokey and interesting very unusual, had a Locomotive Stoudt for dessert, was nice and thick, not burnt tasting which was nice. Should have ate less and drank more but the food was great, buffalo steak, and a cream of chicken soup to kill for. We were 1st ones in the door at 4pm on Sat so service was not an issue, the folks there were real nice.

(09/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Cheyenne Mountain Brewery, Colorado Springs, CO

Bad News Folks This place is closed, good news is the bewmaster is working at the Warehouse.

(09/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Cannon Brewpub, Columbus, GA

This is as brewing gets in Columbus, the IPA was really good, as was the Celebration ale. The Red Jacket was the star on the lineup. Good food, and very knowledgable staff. After closing, we went to the Uptown Taps pub across the St with the waiters and kept the party going.

(07/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Pike Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

FOund the Pike at Happy Hour $2 Pints. No stoudt, but the Pale Ale, IPA, Kilt Lifter & Nitro Porter were all excellent. Did not have food, but the wait staff seemed proficient and numerous. The barkeep had the next one on the way before I even came close to finishing, just the way I like it.

(07/25/2000)














(0.26 seconds) 10:55:07 54.161.155.142, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS