PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from eben halberstam
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 29, 2014 @ 11:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
eben halberstam

Beer Reviews
(9)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

9
Beer Reviews from eben halberstam
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

FYI Troegs moved to Hershey, Pa., as of Oct. 2011.

(02/27/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Norwich Inn was Jasper Murdock's Alehouse, Norwich, VT

Just came back from a stay at the inn. There were four beers on tap. I especially liked the ESB and oatmeal stout. I agree with an earlier poster that I wouldn't make the trek here just for the beer, but if you're going to be in the area, it's worth a visit.

(10/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Thoroughbreds Grill and Brewing, Leesburg, VA

I especially liked the beer soup and onion rings; the bratwurst was good too. I tried the beer sampler, then had that day's cask-conditioned (not included in the sampler), which was the 50 cat IPA. I preferred the non-cask-contitioned version (perhaps because I was hot and really wanted a cool beer), but as the reviewer below notes, the beer is good if not always within the advertised style. As point of comparison, Thoroughbreds has a broader menu than Sweetwater, but I think Sweetwater's food and beer are of higher quality.

(06/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Fredericksburg Brewing Company, Fredericksburg, TX

Oops. See review below. I visited on Feb. 19, 2001.

(02/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Fredericksburg Brewing Company, Fredericksburg, TX

Visited Feb. 22, 2001. Only tried the pilsner (three other beers were on tap: amber, porter, and IPA). Pilsner was drinkable, but not what I was hoping for. As a comparison, think Degroen's (Baltimore, Md.) Pils. FBC claimed its pilsner was well-hopped, but it didn't come close to the flower bouqet or bite of a Pils. It was closer to a Lone Star or Shiner Bock. The food was great. Had the Reuben, which I highly recommend. I'd go back.

(02/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Shipyard, Orlando, FL

I agree with Mr. Marconi (below) I thought the Export Ale was the best, followed by the stout. The Old Thumper didn't do much for me; it didn't seem bitter enough (for me, it seemed to have almost a sweet aftertaste). I thought the Goat Island was quite good; if I were a "lite" beer drinker this would be among my very favorites. They did not have a seasonal when I was there (boo!) (Dec. 6, 1999). The servers were quite friendly, but the food was only average (I did not try the beer soup, but wish I had). We did like the buffalo wings (boneless) and onion rings. What was especially welcome was a full-service restaurant in an airport with decent brewery-fresh beer.

(12/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Weeping Radish, Kitty Hawk, NC

This newest of the Weeping Radishes is more similar to the Corolla location than the original in Manateo. No beergarten or playground; no full menu, but WR beer on tap and to go!

(04/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Sweetwater Tavern, Merrifield, VA

I think that the prices are mid-line for the DC area and that the quality of the food is well above average. Most of the beer is above average, too. The Snakeriver Pale Ale is a good staple, but their Porter is undoubtedly their flagship beer (awarded a silver medal at the 1998 Great American Beer Festival!). I recommend Sweetwater to all (but call ahead and waitlist first).

(02/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Kokomo's Restaurant and Mircobrewery, Wildwood, NJ

The servers were friendly enough, but not attentive enough. The food was OK, especially considering the locale, but it was a bit pricey. The decor was interesting, but the place was pretty noisy. The beer was average. My recommendation: if you're staying nearby, it's probably worth a trip for a beer; if you're not nearby, it's not worth the trip.

(02/23/1999)














(0.071 seconds) 11:20:24 184.72.141.31, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS