PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from ed
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 23, 2014 @ 05:22 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
ed

Beer Reviews
(23)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

23
Beer Reviews from ed
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: General Lafayette Inn and Brewery, Lafayette Hill, PA

We took a day trip just outside of Philly and headed over to this brewpub for the first time. First off, the atmosphere is very cool. A throwback to the 1770s. It is located on a main strip in town, but it feels like this place belongs in the countryside somewhere. The smells of a burning fireplace lingered in the air.

They carried an awesome selection of their own beers, from 2 different versions of their red ale, to a doppelbock, raspberry mead and even their framboise. A large variety of styles to accomodate most tastebuds.

We only had appetizers...the calimari and mozzarella sticks. Both were good, we didn't order full meals so I really can't comment on their foods.

The other customers at the bar were quite friendly, we shared several stories about our beer travels.

I look forward to my next day trip out here. It is only 15 minutes or so outside Center City. Worth the effort to get out there.

(12/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Egan and Sons, Montclair, NJ

I have gone to Egans several times...the food is good, but its a traditional Irish menu with things Shepard's Pie, Bangers/Mash, etc...aside from burgers, though, if you don't like Irish, you won't have much to choose from. The pub is located in a trendy area of Montclair and the inside of the establishment is really nice. The bar area, while thin, runs quite long, starting from the lower level bar/smoking/eating section to the upper level dining area. Regarding the beers...they have a nice selection of bottled beers, including Belgian styles. They carry 4 of their own beers on tap. These styles never change...never..pale ale, wheat, pilsner and lager. I am quite happy to have a local brewpub in my area, but it could be so much better if they changed up the selection now and then. How about a seaonal or something once in a while? Their own beers do appear to sell nicely, yet their multitude of taps include the likes of Coors, Miller, Guiness, etc...in the least, how about 1 or 2 microbrews added to that list? It doesn't seem lile Egan and Sons has interest in being another Bittings or Long Valley...which is disappointing, but it is still a nice, upscale location to meet or hangout for a few drinks.

(12/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Coddington Brewing Company, Middletown, RI

This was my second time to Coddington's, while I was again on vacation in the area. Was there a few years back. Made a specific plan to go stop there on my most recent trip, especially since it is the only brewpub in the whole region. Their blueberry ale is unique and sweet (they even drop a few fresh berries into the pint glass), and the best/most interesting thing they had on tap. I was a little disappointed the watermelon ale was not available yet. The bartender said it comes out only in August and is a big seller. Typically brewpub food, but good nonetheless. Their nacho platter was stacked! It is definately worth the stop here if you are in the Newport area...take a breather from shopping. Also, Newport and Greenvale wineries are 5 minutes away, if you are so inclined to mix your drinks for an interesting afternoon.

(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Trinity Brewhouse, Providence, RI

I didn't expect too much based on some of the recent reviews. I didn't get a chance to go to Union Street to compare it to Trinity either, but I thought Trinity was pretty good. The atmosphere was different, almost hippy-like, I guess. They had 2 stouts on tap, and the Russian Imperial was really good. Fresh and very flavorful. Their red ale had a nice flavor as well. The honey brown was so-so and a little disappointing, but otherwise all of their beers were good. The food was ok, typical brewpub food. The tortilla chips tasted a bit stale, but my burger was pretty good. It was an easy to place to find for out of towners like myself, right off Rt 95.

(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: City Steam Brasserie Brewery Cafe, Hartford, CT

Went to CT on business and stopped here...one of the only brewpubs in the Hartford area that isn't part of a chain. They had a nice, large selection on tap. 8 or so, I believe. Tried to Scottish Ale....interesting, it was smoked style. While not my favorite, it was different and I give them credit for that. The Milk Stout was great...their best. It brought me back the following evening. The Naughty Nurse dark ale was also pretty good.

On the Tuesday night I was there, they had a $5 special where you buy a pint glass, it is filled with a beer and every beer afterwards is $2. Excellent deal.

It looks like this place got some mixed past reviews, but I think it was really good.

(05/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Great

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

It is funny to find a brewpub out where the Ship Inn is located...doesn't seem like a strong location to support a brewpub. Regardless, it was like slipping into a real, old time English tavern. Their beer selection was minimal (although they did have a nice selection of guests beers on tap and bottled). Of their own, they had a Best Bitter, an IPA, a Golden Wheat and a Mild Spring (which was a nut brown). None were highly carbonated and they were served partially chilled, but not icy cold, in the English fashion. It made for a cool experience...the service was good. Ship Inn has a certain nitch...it is not going to compete with the offerings and scope of a Bittings or Long Valley, but it was more of an old fashion spot worth seeking out...far from the trendy style brewpubs that have popped up over the years. Regarding the food, the Shepard's Pie was incredible, but unless you are a fan of English fare, there is a limited selection.

(05/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

Located in charming Old Town Alexandria, Founders is a nice place to stop for lunch or dinner and sample some of their hand crafted beers. I was a bit disappointed their sampler did not include all the beers on tap. For some reason, they did not include their seasonals as part of it. They had a Raspberry Blonde on tap which I never got a chance to taste. The Scottish Ale was really good though. Had a bit of a bite to it. The food was not expensive and in the lines of TGIFs or one of the other chain restaurants. I liked it, not outstanding, but good enough to stop in and try. Friendly service and a decent atmosphere.

(05/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: District ChopHouse and Brewery, Washington, DC

When you are in DC, go see the Lincoln Memorial, the Smithsonian, the White House and visit the DC Chophouse! This place was probably the best part of my trip to DC. For anyone from the NYC area, the DC Chophouse reminds me a lot of the Heartland Brewpub chain. Trendy, but fun. A loud atmosphere. Their oatmeal stout was creamy and smooth. They make a bourbon stout by aging their oatmeal stout in bourdon barrels. It is hand pumped and delicious. They had a beer Velvet beer which is basically a smoother, creamier version of their traditional amber. It was nice to be at a place that served 2 stouts and a porter all at once. With dinner, they give you a complimentary serving of corn bread in a small skillet. It goes good with the beers. Somewhat pricey, but worth a stop for any beer lovers in the DC area.

(05/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

Quite possibly the most upscale brewpub I have ever been to. On our way home from a DC trip, we stopped there. I had a t shirt and baseball hat on...figured we would get dinner...only to find everyone in the room had on sportcoats, ties, etc. So, we hung out at the front bar. Small and somewhat cramped, but the beers were excellent. The Tiny Tim was interesting, with hints of rosemary. We enjoyed the cherry beer the best. Each drink is served in the proper style glass. The bar menu is not vast, but has pizza, burgers and a delicious turkey sandwich made with a bleu cheese spread and real cranberries. It was a good stop, but if you are a going there from out of town, just know this is no TGIF-ish brewpub atmosphere. There were 6 beers on taps and each one tasted fresh and good.

(05/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, New York, NY

No beer bar anywhere, and I mean anywhere, can compare to the Ginger Man. (Andy's in Bogota is very cool too, but on a much smaller level) Yes, you will be paying NYC prices for a pint of beer, but the sheer selection of what is on tap in mind blowing. Every single time we go, I find new and interesting choice to sample. They keep the beer menu updated and current. It is never ever a disappointment. The food is actually pretty decent and not too expensive. Get the Beer Companion...it goes great with whatever selection you might make. Also, the Guiness stew rules. 2 suggestions, though...how about offering a beer sampler? With so many selections, I would love to try a few...and at $6+ a pint, I can only afford so many. Also, how about getting some local breweries on tap: River Horse, Troegs, Flying Fish, Lancaster, Cricket Hill, Climax, etc?

(03/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery, Suffern, NY

I haven't yet been to the new brewpub, formerly known as Ramapo Valley, but I will give the new owners a chance...they have gone out of their way to address the past problem this place had. Geez, if anything I give Chad credit for coming to a website like Pubcrawler and actually speaking to the real beer lovers out there.

(01/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: High Point Brewing, Butler, NJ

We finally got a chance to stop by the brewery for their free monthly open house/tour. A decent crowd packed into the site. The owners went out of their way to make everyone comfortable...including serving cheese, chips, salsa and all the sampling of their beers (3 choices were on tap: Ramstein Blonde, their winter, and an unfiltered version of their Oktoberfest) that you can handle. I got an opportunity, after wanting to for so long, to try their winter seasonal. It was excellent, with a nice blend of different flavors. High Point needs to distribute this seasonal better...aside from here, I have never seen it anywhere before. The tour was nice and low key...it was a small intimate group who actually participated, while the rest of those in attendence stayed behind to continue the drinking. If you are in the area, make an effort to stop by. It is worth your time if you are into microbrews. Everyone seemed really nice.

(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

My wife and I went up to New Paltz for the day...checked out some of the wineries then stopped over to the Guilded Otter for the 1st time. It was worth the drive up from NJ. The atmosphere was nice and reminded us of a ski lodge. A good selection of beers; 8 total on the sampler. Our favorites were the Crimson Lager and their Scottish Ale. The Pumpkin seasonal was tasty...reminiscent of pumpkin pie. The food was decent, a typical selection, but it was all about the beer. A good upscale crowd. The back wall lists all of their seasonals brewed throughout the year...it is a long, extensive list with several unique sounding styles such as a Apple Brown. Worth the trip if you in the area.

(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: High Point Brewing, Butler, NJ

I am still looking forward to getting up to the brewery for a tour...is it possible to expand the tour from just the 2nd Saturday of each month? Either way, their Blonde is a great wheat beer, but I must say, the Ramstein Oktoberfest is easily the best fall seasonal out there. I don't know if it is sold in bottles (I've never seen it), but the Office restaurants have been carrying it...worth trying if you haven't sampled anything from these guys yet. High Points needs to distribute their beers better...only the largest liquor stores carry their product.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Heartland Brewery South Street Seaport, New York, NY

The menu and beers on tap are the same as all the Heartlands...but the location at the Seaport is the coolest among all the others. Yes, it is a touristy place, but that is fine. The Smiling Pumpkin seasonal was awesome. Indian River Light is always a good choice as well. The mini cheeseburgers with grilled onions is a must for anyone craving good bar type food to accompany their beers. I hear they are opening a new location in the Empire State Bulding and that is okay, but how about some other brewpubs (non-Heartland, that is) opening up in NYC?

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill, Red Bank, NJ

This place is very cool. Crowded all the time, but very cool nonetheless. First off, Red Bank is an awesome area on it's own to visit. Basil T's, set just outside the main section of town, is pretty overpriced on it's menu (which does not have a big selection of main courses either). The penne vodka cost me almost $17. A lot of money, but it was good. The place has a nice atmosphere. Italian food and beer seems like an odd mix, and it is, but this works well here. The beer is always fresh and good. The Iceboat Ale, a Scottish ale seasonal, was nice...as was their Pale Ale. Aside from the seasonals, they don't make too many kinds of beers; the typical selection of a pale ale, stout, porter, wheat and a red ale. Even so, it is a nice, clean upscale place in a cool area of the state. Somewhat pricey, even for the beers. The happy hours, with a free pasta station is worth the trip on it's own. Worth checking out if, but be ready to pay out some $$$$ for dinner.

(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Bru Room @ Bar, New Haven, CT

On our way home from Mystic, we decided to stop in a CT brewpub. The location is cool, right next to Yale University. We were expecting to get dinner here...oddly, though, the only thing on the menu was pizza. Granted, a lot of types of pizza, but only pizza (and 1 type of odd salad with pears and nuts and stuff). So, not in the mood for this, I can't comment on the food. It might be great pizza, but can they expand the menu just a little bit? Well, we waited and waited for a bartender to appear...no one did. We instead went over to the connecting bar in the other room. The sampler was mediocre. Most of the styles were flat tasting. The tap for the stout was not apparently working, according to the bartender. He made no effort to get us any from one of the other taps in the opposite room. I am not a huge stout fan anyway, so I didn't complain. The barleywine seasonal ale was pretty much the only decent beer they had. The entire place, some former garage or something I think, was absolutely freezing. Overall, Bru Rm was a disappointment. Maybe I am more of a traditionalist with brewpubs. This place was just a bit too different for me. It seemed to be trying very hard to come across as trendy, and not focusing on the beers as much as I might have hoped for.

(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Good Lousy

Establishment: Joshua Huddy's Brewpub, Toms River, NJ

Is this place even a brewpub? We went there recently...I asked what beers they have, and the waitress replied, "Coors, Bud, etc." She said they had stopped brewing there own beers because they were not selling. Maybe they started up again, I don't know. If not, they really need to change the sign so it doesn't call itself a "Brewpub." This place is just the Ground Round with a different name.

(12/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: JJ Bitting Brewing Company, Woodbridge, NJ

The beer selection was really really good...the Raspberry Wheat was tasty. The Winter Warmer Ale was different and had an interesting flavor...with hints of nutmeg and cinnamon. The food was not bad...the menu mostly consisted of burgers, salads, etc. The burgers were good, and they had a nice amount of different kinds to choose from. The only bad thing is the parking. We ended up across the street in a strip mall lot. Behind the brewpub there is a tiny lot, which I don't even know if patrons can use...and behind that is for people using the trains. Certainly, going to JJ Bittings is worse the trip.

(12/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

I had seen this place featured on the Food Network and it looked really awesome. So, while on vacation, I stopped in. What a major disappointment. It was dark and drabby. Maybe a nice local place, but not anything like the TV made it out to be. Not much of a selection. The bartender sounded Irish, and did not have much interest in explaining the beers on top to a couple of tourists. We had planned on eating there, but we decided against it. Don't even know if they were serving food. Instead, we headed over to Gordon Biersch.

(11/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant, South Orange, NJ

I have been to Gaslight a few times and have not experienced any of the problems from the previous reviews. The beer has always been pretty good, with a nice selection to choose from. The menu is rather large with entrees ranging from tasty German food to Buffalo burgers. The bar area is a bit loud, like any bar, but the beer has always tasted good, with a variety of choices. It is worth a trip to South Orange to check out the only brewpub in the area.

(11/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Long Valley Pub and Brewery, Long Valley, NJ

The location is really cool, an old mill. The bar is a little tight and the lady bartender was not overly friendly, but you can't beat the Happy Hour $2 pints along with free wings. I enjoyed the German Valley Amber and Grist Mill Golden Ale the most. $6 was not too bad of a cost for the sample either. Food was pretty good, with a decent selection and an ok price. Certainly worth seeking out.

(11/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: River Horse Brewing Company, Lambertville, NJ

Located in a nice spot on the Delaware River. Good clean gift shop, where you can sample all their beers for $1, or buy anything from a t-shirt to a pint glass. Their Special Ale and Belgian Frost were the best. Decent selection. The people were friendly and knowledgable. Definately a great stop when visting the Lambertville/New Hope area.

(10/31/2003)














(0.325 seconds) 05:22:51 54.81.187.157, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS