PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from ed pawelko
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 31, 2014 @ 12:13 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
ed pawelko

Beer Reviews
(13)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

13
Beer Reviews from ed pawelko
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Saint Francis Brewery and Restaurant, St. Francis, WI

Sounds like Tom might either manage or own this brewpub (unless he can eat an awful lot in one sitting)!

(11/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Independence Brew Pub, Philadelphia, PA

With so many excellent beer locales in and around Philadelphia, I would avoid spending money at this large touristy brewpub. While the selection is decent, the quality of the beer leaves something to be desired. And the service...horrible. I waited 10 minutes before a server (Casey) even showed up at my table and then my order was prepared incorrectly over 30 minutes later. I don't think she could have cared less about her job. A manager stopped by the table presumably to apologize but just started justifying why I received such slow service! Poor management...maybe that's why this server had such a bad attitude. I left no tip...something I don't think has ever happened at any other brewpub. AVOID this place and go Nodding Head, Monk's Cafe or Eulogy.

(11/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Onion Pub and Brewery, Lake Barrington, IL

I used to love the Wild Onion Paddy Pale Ale and Jack Stout before this upscale establishment was built. However, their beers are now rather bland and lack the flavor that they used to have. The food here is good, albeit a bit expensive, and the service is also good although the waitstaff seems lacking in beer knowledge. Not a bad place, but give it time and hopefully it will return to better brewing days.

(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Govnor's Public House, Lake in theHills, IL

I tried their sampler which included 8 different beers (light, abbey ale, hefeweizen, pale ale, scottish ale, cream ale, stout and a bock). Of these, 3 beers really stood out. The Wilkomen Bock (nice play on words) was nicely balanced with a sweet malt character. The O'Kelly's Hefeweizen offered the banana and clove aroma with the German yeast strain giving it the familiar bready taste. Finally, the GPH Abbey Ale was absolutely outstanding. I had the pleasure of speaking with one of the brewers, Ron, who told me that the pub will always have some type of Belgian to offer with a trippel currently in the works. He was even kind enough to give me a cask-conditioned sample of the Abbey Ale. YUM! Like other reviews, the one knock I have on the Govnor's Pub is the very slow, uninterested and inattentive bar staff. And I'd love to see an aggressively hopped pale or IPA in the future.

(05/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tavern in the Town, Libertyville, IL

Sorry, but I just realized that I was reviewing The Firkin, Tavern in the Town's sister restaurant located next door. If you are looking for an outstanding selection of Belgians, including Maredsous on tap, try the Tavern.

(11/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tavern in the Town, Libertyville, IL

Doesn't get much better: Great atmosphere with a rotating selection of outstanding beers served by a knowledgable, friendly staff! Last time there I enjoyed a Lakeside Cream City Ale and a Goose Island Nitro IPA. The bar area, which is relatively small to accomodate the dining area, can get a bit too crowded.

(11/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Sheffield's Wine and Beer Garden, Chicago, IL

A great place to enjoy an outstanding selection of beers. I had a Rogue Brutal Bitter on tap that tasted as though it just came from the fermentor! I look forward to visiting the beer garden this summer.

(01/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Hopleaf Bar, Chicago, IL

Hop Leaf is a small bar (seats about 50 people) with an outstanding beer selection, particularly if you're a fan of Belgians. Despite coming in with a group of 35 people, the service remained fast and friendly. My thanks to Mike Roper (owner) for a nice time. I will definitely be back.

(01/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Quenchers Saloon, Chicago, IL

Emmett Yung is one of the best bartenders that I have ever had the pleasure of being serviced by. They say that great service can make up for a mediocre product but at Quencher's you get both service and a great product. Their beer selection is impressive and everything I tried was fresh and served correctly. I will definitely be back for a night of darts and great beer. By the way, thanks to Earl Johnson (owner)for finding my camera!

(01/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: River West Brewing Company, Chicago, IL

I have received mixed reviews about the quality of the beer at River West. Of the two styles I tried, the Belgian was rather good (and true to the style) while the stout was just average. I tried a Margherite pizza which arrived lukewarm and tasteless. Even though the bar was relatively empty, several of the people I was with experienced poor service. I may give this place another try during the summer to see if things have improved.

(01/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Hopcats Restaurant and Brewery, Chicago, IL

I was very impressed with the quality of Hopcat's beers. Their OPA (oatmeal pale ale) was quite flavorful and their IPA was perfectly balanced for this hophead. The Indonesian chicken and curried lamb parcels were delicious compliments to my beer. With advance notice, their management was able to accomodate 35 discriminating beer lovers without a single glitch in service. Well done - I will definitely be back.

(01/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Weeghmann Park Restaurant and Brewery, Chicago, IL

I believe that this brewpub closed a couple of weeks ago.

(01/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Wild Onion Brewing Company, Lake Barrington, IL

It's definitely worth your while if you can find this little brewery in Barrington. Although you can find Wild Onion on tap in several Chicagoland bars and restaurants, a trip to the brewery is a real experience. You'll leave feeling as though you are part of their brewing family. I agree with the other reviews - the Paddy Pale Ale is outstanding.

(10/08/1998)














(0.197 seconds) 00:13:32 54.161.228.29, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS