PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from ed almekinder
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 17, 2014 @ 02:00 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
ed almekinder

Beer Reviews
(31)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

31
Beer Reviews from ed almekinder
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewing Company, Sedona, AZ

Not as good as its sister brewpub on the other side of town. Located in a real warehouse district that was dusty and hot. Not a place to take a girlfriend, someone you want to impress or even your wife. Not much else to say.

(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewery And Grill, Sedona, AZ

Very nice atmosphere, on the yuppie/high class touristy side. Overpriced but nice. Not the best beer in the world, but not the worst either. Good thing they don't have any competition in the area.

(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: The Green Room was Mogollon Brewing, Flagstaff, AZ

This place is weird. First the bartender walked away from me when I ordered my beer. When he came back a drunken customer had pushed up next to me at the bar and spilled a full beer all over the bar in front of me. The bartender though, kept his cool, didn't flinch or hesitate one minute. He just drew my beer and put it down right in the middle of the puddle and then walked away again. The IPA was almost non-drinkable and the nut brown was not much better. One of the worst Brewpubs I have ever seen and almost the worst service I have ever gotten.

(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

Great Food. Great Beer. Great atmosphere and service. The only place to go in Prescott. The IPA was as good as you will find anywhere. The Nut Brown was also top of the line. Highly recommend. One of best 5 brewpubs I have been to in the United States.

(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

Great Nut Brown Ale. Very good IPA. Food was very good, service was excellent. Overall a very nice brewpub. One of the best we have ever visited.

(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Coeur d'Alene Brewing Company, Coeur D'Alene, ID

This is the second time that we have been here and it is the best place in Coeur d Alene to enjoy excellent beer. They do a great job woith all of their beers.

(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Eichardt's Pub, Grill and Coffee House, Sandpoint, ID

This is the bar that I would like to own if I ever owned a bar. Many wonderful microbrews on tap. Excellent bartender. Fish and Chips are awesome, especially the garlic fries.

(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Schirf Brewing Company was Wasatch Brew Pub, Park City, UT

Our least favorite of all the brewpubs visited in the Salt Lake area. The food was overpriced and not very good. The beers were worse. No flavor, overpriced and the service was to the point of being snotty.

(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Desert Edge Brewery, Salt Lake City, UT

We had 4 different people waiting on us while we were there. Service wasn't bad, nor was it outstanding, just different to have that many people taking turns waiting on you. Beer was watery and wasn't worth a second. Food was good but not memorable.

(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Uinta Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

Although we did not get to visit the brewery, the Uinta beers that we purchased elsewhere were by far the best in the Salt Lake City area. Excellent flavors in the beers and not watery like most of the competition.

(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Squatter's Pub Brewery was Salt Lake Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

Couldn't believe that they closed at 11:30 on a Thursday night. IPA was okay but nothing to write home about, as was the Porter.

(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Capital Ale House, Richmond, VA

I agree with everything that the previous poster said about Capital Ale House, with the exception of the service. We thought that our service was exceptional and by far the best we had while in Richmond. Maybe we got the excellent service because we sat at the bar, I don't know, but everything the previous reviewer complained about did not happen with us. The bartender that we had was a wonderful young lady who knew her beers, poured us numerous tastes until we found exactly what it was we wanted to drink, served our food promptly and kept cleaning our area while we ate, and we weren't the only people in the place. The bar itself was fully seated with people, and the tables and booths were half full with many more people coming in as we left. The beer selection was the best I have seen anywhere. So many selections of beers I had only heard about but had never had the pleasure of actually trying. The steamed mussels are a must, absolutely great and a good value too. I just can't say enough good things about this bar. Had we stayed in Richmond longer, we ould come back to this place and forgotten about all the others.

(01/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good So So So So

Establishment: Richbrau Brewing Company and Restaurant, Richmond, VA

Chili was very good, beer was not. Service was poor. Bartender had no knowledge about beer, tried to serve me a lager when I wanted something in the India Pale Ale category. Bartender also appeared to be less than enthusiatic about having to actually work, even though there were only about 5 people in the bar at the time.

(01/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Legend Brewing Company, Richmond, VA

The porter was very good. We did not care for the other ales or lagers, a case of personal tastes I guess. Brewpub was clean and friendly but the food didn't stand out from other brewpubs, not that it was bad, it just didn't stand out.

(01/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Tito Macaroni's, Coeur D'Alene, ID

This Italian Restaurant has an excellent bar with a wonderful bartender named Jimmy. Microbrew selection is good, food is wonderful (and not overpriced for being a part of the very upscale resort)and Jimmy knows his beer and how to entertain his patrons.

(01/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Capone's Pub and Grill, Coeur d'Alene, ID

A wonderful local taproom. More beers than you can possibly try in a week. Food was basic and excellent. Bartenders were knowledgable about beer and did their job happily and efficiently.

(01/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Coeur d'Alene Brewing Company, Coeur D'Alene, ID

Even though other people in town were not overly enthusiastic about this brewpub, we found it excellent. Food was topnotch and was only second to the service and the selection of beer styles.

(01/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Spicy's, Knoxville, TN

This place smelled bad from the moment we walked in. We were looking forward to having some of their "famous" wings that they claim to be the best in KNoxville, however when we found out that the most exotic beer that they had was Killians, we decided to try elsewhere. Even if they had had a decent beer, I don't know if we could have enjoyed it with the smell of the place.

(09/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Barley's Taproom, Knoxville, TN

I know the beer selection was good, because I had ten minutes to study the beers that were on the chalkboard. I can't say much more about the place though because the barttender never came over to get out order. Its not that they were super busy, there were only 7 people in the place. We were looking to do some good drinking and eat a meal there, but that's not easy to do when you can't get anybody to wait on you. We finally just walked out and the funny thing was the manager asked us how we enjoyed our stay at Barley's. What a joke!!

(09/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Knoxville, TN

I wouldn't go here just for the beer. The beer selection was poor, but they did have a drinkable porter. The good of this place though was our bartender, James. He was very sociable, engaged us in good conversation and made our night enjoyable.

(09/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So

Establishment: Calhoun's, Knoxville, TN

This place is about average for the Knoxville scene, nothing much to recommend it but then again, there's not much decent competition. There were only 4 beers available. When I asked if they had an IPA, the bartender said that they didn't but the pilsner was just the same. Where did this guy go to bartending school? My wife and I both ordered the brown ale, which my wife actually enjoyed. I didn't care much for it so we moved on to go elsewhere for dinner.

(09/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Gore Range Brewery, Edwards, CO

Nice looking place, just not a very friendly place. Service was terrible, so much so that we left without eating, figuring if it took us 15 minutes to get a beer, it would be tomorrow before we got any food.

(06/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dillon Dam Brewery, Dillon, CO

Probably the best brewpub I have visited in the US. We were fortunate to have our trip acvross the Vail Pass stopped by a freak snowstorm on the Friday of Memorial Day Weekend. Since we couldn't drive we stopped for lunch and happened upon The Dillon Dam Brewery. The extra Pale Ale was the excellent as was the Sweet Georgia Brown. Food also was great with wonderful service from a very knowledgable bartender.

(06/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Typhoon Brewery, New York, NY

Obviously I was not impressed with this place. The beer was tasteless. The food was overpriced. The service was abysmal. Finally, the place smelled as if someone had thrown up all over the place, which after tasting the beer I can understand. Of course we didn't find any real good place to drink in New York, unless Amstel light, Heinecken and Bud are your beers.

(02/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Lousy Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Washington, DC

We visited this place about three weeks after September 11th and there were only a few people in the place at 6:30. It really was quite sad, they were really hurting for business along with every body else in DC then. The beers that my wife and I had were really quite good and we are tough to please. I had the IPA and she had the Amber Waves. The best though was the food. We intended to eat a full meal there and ordered the nacho's for an appetizer. The serving was so big that we both ate until we couldn't eat any more. It was the best nacho's I have had anywhere. After washing the nachos down with some more IPA I needed something sweet so I ordered a brownie covered with ice cream, whipped cream, caramel, chocolate sauce and cherries. When they brought it out I thought they were kidding, it was so huge. Again, my wife and I both ate until we couldn't eat anymore and had to leave some on the platter. It was the best eating experience we had in DC and it only cost us $10.00 for the appetizer and the desert. Wonderful, we will be back.

(02/06/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.526 seconds) 14:00:12 54.197.110.151, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS