PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from eric
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 24, 2014 @ 10:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
eric

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from eric
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Washington, DC

Went there instead of Capital City Brewing (Cap/ was having some big gay/AIDS party). Had a Fest Bier and Marzen. Both were very refreshing. Neither beer had an exaggerated taste/aroma. Also had their wings and the Prawn salad. Was quite impressed with the wings. I've recently lost my "taste" for chain brewpubs but I would consider going back there again.

(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

Made only my second visit to Red Star today, my first had been just over a year ago. Had a pint of the IPA and Oktoberfest. Both were pretty good, though I like my IPAs just a little hoppier. Had the beer battered cheese platter and a kobi and mixed greens salad. The salad is most likely going to be the salad I compare all future salads to. It was kind of like a vegatarian sushi role with goat cheese, pretty much an acquired taste. Maybe I'm getting to accustomed to brewpubs but I feel their beer selection (as well as others in the Greater Pittsburgh area) is a little sparse. Then again maybe I've been drinking a little too much :)

(09/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

I've been going to John Harvard's about once a month for the last 1.5 years and only maybe 3 times has the service been what most people would consider "normal". I guess a place can do that when they know a majority of their clientele comes for the beer. I love Andrew's beers. I interviewed for the Assistan Brewer position a few months back and he was very helpful in telling me about books I should read to become a better brewer.

(07/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Corolla Brewpub was Weeping Radish, Corolla, NC

Went there the first night I was on vacation. Enjoyed sampling the beers. Wanted a liter of Weizen but didn't have any on tap so settled with the Corolla Gold. All the beers were good but is a distant second to anything made at Penn Brewery. The food was pretty good. I got the weiner schnitzel but kind of wished I'd gotten the liverwurst instead like my dad. Will definately go back there next year.

(06/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Outer Banks Brewing Station, Kill Devil Hills, NC

I was quite disappointed with my visit. There were 5 beers available, their (K)Olsch, a Belgian Wit, a copper ale, a porter and a stout. I got a sample of each. The quality of the beers were good, I liked the porter the best. But why a stout and a porter, even if it's only the first week of June. Maybe if the stout was a special stout (like milk or oatmeal) but I don't think it was. The big thing that made no sense to me was that they offer Budweiserproducts on the drink menu! Any self respecting brewery/brewpub would never do that. I could see maybe offering another micro's beer but not Bud. Our server was very nice (and cute) and knew her beer. Even though I was less than thrilled with the place I will still most likely go back next year when I go that way for vacation. I give most places more than one chance to impress me. As for the Budweiser thing, I think that's a bad move, business-wise and common sense beer-wise

(06/09/2002)














(0.047 seconds) 10:28:35 54.235.5.178, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS