PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from eric christensen
Other Reviews by this User
  >
September 03, 2014 @ 03:15 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
eric christensen

Beer Reviews
(39)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

39
Beer Reviews from eric christensen
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Fox Bay Brewing Company, Saint Charles, IL

Samplers available for $7. Equals out to two pints of beer! Nice place, nice location. All the beers were good. Food was not spendy, but not cheap. Highly recommend you stop by if you are in the area. Live music featured on weekends, and beer specials daily.

(05/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Fremont Brewing Company, Fremont, CA

Looks like some of the previous employees are going to open a new brewpub at the Fremont Hub shopping center. Mike's Pub? may be the name of it. A new brewing system was being installed on location a couple weeks ago. Opening date is set for Dec 22, 1999. More to follow.

(11/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Prairie Rock Brewing Company, Elgin, IL

Very nice looking brewpub. Beer selection is six or so house beers on tap. Samplers available. Root beer coming soon. I found the beers to be solid and good representation of style. If you want to avoid the white tablecloths, eat in the bar. Prairie Rock is located just down the street from the Grand Victoria casino.

(05/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Port City Brewery, Mobile, AL

Under new management but still a great place!

(04/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: McGuire's Irish Pub And Brewery, Pensacola, FL

Great burgers. The beers were solid and I especially liked the Irish Pale Ale. Service would have been "great" if I did not have to grab the bartender after five minutes of being ignored at the bar. (on a Sunday afternoon)

(04/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Coast Brewing Company, Biloxi, MS

The wait for good beer in Mississippi is over. The folks at the Beau Rivage Casino have created an absolutely stunning establishment. Copper, brick and wood are everywhere. In fact the entire brewery is clad in copper. The brewpub encircles a stage where such acts as Peter Frampton, Hall and Oats, and Joan Jett perform. But what about the beer? Mississippi law prohibits Coast Brewing from making beer with over 4% Alcohol (by weight or volume I do not know). As a result the brews are light bodied. In addition, all the five beers on tap when I was there were lagers. Biloxi Blonde is the lightest and the Ruby Red is the darkest. In the middle is an Amber, a Plisner and a Bock (automatically handicapped due to low alcohol). The beers are good and refreshing. The food is great and is upscale pub grub (soup, salad, sandwiches and pizza) Some items are made using the house beer. Overall, the place is great and a must visit for the wandering pub crawler.

(04/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Flatlander's Brewing Company, Lincolnshire, IL

Nice sampler available. It lasted me through my meal. Speaking of the meal, it was great. Menu items range from sandwiches to steak. Arrived at 6pm on a Saturday night and walked right in. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. By 8 pm the wait was 45 min for dinner, so go early! Beers are good, period. Nothing bad and nothing WOW. The place is easy to get and a short hop from the hotels in Rosemont and Northbrook. Travelers who like good beer and food should look this place up. I will be back!

(04/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Mickey Finn's Brew Pub was Libertyville Brewing, Libertyville, IL

Samplers available for 75 cents a piece. Good solid beers. The food was great from the wings to the burgers. Nice atmosphere.

(03/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Yard House, Long Beach, CA

Great place to hang out when you are not at the pool! As a beer geek, I found the selection overwhelming, but I muddled through. The service, although easy on the eyes, needs a bit more training on the styles. All in all a great place.

(02/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Belmont Brewing Company, Long Beach, CA

Nice place to have a beer. Samplers are available. The wheat beer is a solid American interpretation, and the LB Crude is a nice Porter. The food was very good and the kitchen is not adverse to minor changes. I would go back and recommend it to my friends.

(02/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Crooked Waters Brewery and Pub, Peoria, IL

Samplers available. Nice location and the food looked and smelled great. I wish the beers were better. They lacked complexity, but were pretty good. The Wheat Ale is a solid American interpretation. The seasonal IPA would make a good regular Pale Ale due to the lack of hop aroma and bite. But hey, this is just one guys opinion. Cheers.

(12/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Bear River Brewery, Petoskey, MI

I tried the sampler and found that the beer ranged from good to great. I especially liked the Pale Ale (Gold Medal at the Real Ale Festival in Chicago), and Porter (Robust). The Stout, Nut Brown, Amber and Raz Wheat were all good. The whole town rolls up the sidewalks at 8 PM during Fall weekdays, so plan accordingly.

(10/31/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Red Bell Pub at the Airport, Philadelphia, PA

An oasis at the airport. Fun pub atmosphere. 20oz. brews are $5 and a full service bar is available. Light fare such as hot dogs, nachos and fries available. All the beers were great and I especially liked the solidly hopped IPA. The all malt Lager is also a winner. Bottled beer is available to take with you on the plane.

(10/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Front Street Brewpub, Wilmington, NC

What a great old building! Nice feel. Samplers are available. The food is outstanding. As for the beer, I liked the Hefeweizen the best, although the Pils and the stout were very good. The Raz wheat had a good rasberry character without being too sweet. The Scotish ale was a little light for the style, but still enjoyable.

(10/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Atlanta Beer Garten, Newport News, VA

Resurrected from the old Virginia Smokehouse and Brewery. The beers are for the most part German in style. Although the new brewer is sneaking in a few English standards. Samplers are available. As for the food, the main dishes and salads were very good at a good price. The appetizers were high priced for what you get. Big screen TVs and pool tables are throughout. Overall, a nice place to have a beer.

(10/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: America's Brewpub, Aurora, IL

Great place to have a beer. I would recommend the sampler; ample servings of five house beers. When you have decided on your beer, it is nice to see that they serve it in the correct glass. The bar staff could have been a little more attentive and informative. I can't wait to eat here!

(09/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Founders Hill Brewing Company, Downers Grove, IL

Just a nice pub to visit. The food is really good and the brews more than pass muster.

(07/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Shipyard Brewing Company, Portland, ME

Great tour, big microbrewery. Tours start off with a video about the history of Shipyard and the brewing process. Be prepared to walk some stairs! the gift shop is well stocked with goodies.

(11/13/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Casco Bay Brewing, Portland, ME

Tours available. Mike LaCharite is a great host. I was able to sample a variety of beers in various stages of fermentation. This a is great tour for homebrewers. Mike is a homebrewer gone professional. Beers are brewed under the Katahdin label. Beer available at the brewery.

(11/13/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: The Stone Coast Brewing Company, Portland, ME

Samplers available. Service was slow the night I was there. Live music and dancing are upstairs. Nice looking establishment. Beers were OK.

(11/13/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Gritty McDuff's, Portland, ME

Be prepared to wait for a seat in this rustic local hangout. The pub grub looked good, but the crowd kept me from ordering food. I have heard really good things about this Portland hang out.

(11/13/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Allagash Brewing Company, Portland, ME

Great tour. The brewers are proud of what they do. Belgian beers are their specialy. While I was there, I enjoyed a Wit and a Double. Beer availbe in six-packs to go (I took home a six of the double)

(11/13/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Acadian Brewing Company and Beer Garden, New Orleans, LA

Nothing fancy, just a great spot to have a beer. Two Arcadian beers were on tap at the time of my visit. A really nice pilsner, and a malty Vienna Lager. Other beers on tap at the beer bar include Dixie (of course)and Guiness. At least a couple dozen bottled beers were also available. Thursday night is $1 pints! Zapps and Arcadian Pils - You can't beat it.

(11/13/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Port City Brewery, Mobile, AL

One of the best cheesburgers I have had in a long time! And do not forget a cup of gumbo. The brewpub has a great atmosphere, and outdoor seating on the second floor balcony. Beer samplers are available.

(10/28/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Union Station Brewery was John Harvard's Brew House, Providence, RI

The Stout I had in March was the closest thing to Guiness I have ever tasted (and I have tasted alot). No review on the food, although I did have a great chocolate desert there.

(10/26/1997)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.143 seconds) 03:15:59 107.22.78.233, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS