PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from eric foster
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 20, 2014 @ 05:30 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
eric foster

Beer Reviews
(9)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

9
Beer Reviews from eric foster
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: R.F.D. (Regional Food and Drink), Washington, DC

RFD is an odd place and difficult to summarize. It has one of the best selections of draft beers I've ever seen, along with an impressive selection of bottles (sort of a "greatest hits" from the Brickskeller, its sister bar). But the atmosphere is rather sports bar-like, which is to say nonexistent. The service is uneven. The food is inconsistent, although often quite good. I go regularly, simply because there's nowhere else in town to get many of these beers (and they rotate beers constantly). If you know what to expect, you won't be disappointed. If you're a beer nerd, you won't want to miss it.

(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Washington, DC

This place looks and tastes like a chain brewery. The service was rude (I ordered an ESB, which was on the board, and received a grunted, "No ESB" response..), and the beer bland and boring (I had a Pale Ale, my guest a Porter, both quite run of the mill). Seems to be designed to accomodate tourists, but beer tourists should look elsewhere.

(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dogfish Head Brewings and Eats, Rehoboth Beach, DE

Made the 3 hour pilgrimage from DC and spent an afternoon and evening enjoying the brews and distilled delights from Dogfish. Service was great, especially once we were recognized as 'beer nerds.' Had a nice tour from the brewer and distiller, Mike. Food was very good. Dogfish has outrageous beers-- you may not like every one, but you'll appreciate the uniqueness and creativity that goes into them. Most pleasant surprise was the liquor-- Dogfish has a small distillery on the premises and all the booze we tried was outstanding: delicious gin, vodka (with natural flavorings if you like), and rum (spiced and honey varieties). Very clean taste. Overall a great experience and well worth the trip.

(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

I am one of the many who regularly make long road trips to McNeill's, and it's worth it every time. This is a beer lover's paradise. If you're looking for a yuppy "atmosphere," fancy food, or an Appleby's-like appearance, don't go and leave the beer for the rest of us. There are many places in beautiful Brattleboro to get food, but there's really only 1 place to go for beer. Amazingly large selection, great atmosphere (mostly regulars who appear to live at the bar, and who could blame them?). Trust me, it's worth the trip, wherever you're coming from.

(03/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Bar Harbor Brewing Company, Bar Harbor, ME

It's all been said before, but repetition can't hurt: Cadillac Mountain Stout may be the best stout in America (can't get it outside of Maine)-- I drink a case or two each year. Tod and Suzie (no relation) are incredibly kind, knowledgeable, and entertaining. If you go to Bar Harbor and don't visit, you're really missing out.

(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Franklin's, Hyattsville, MD

Hands down, the best brewpub in the DC area-- I only wish it were closer. Some of the negative reviews are mysterious to me-- JoJo has not written a single good review of anywhere he/she has been (maybe works for Budweiser..); others complain about non-filtered beer-- they should also stick to Bud. Franklin's beers are distinctive and fun. Even if one is not to your taste, it's going for something different. I love this place: great beer, great bartenders, tasty food.

(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Saloon, Washington, DC

I live in DC and this is my favorite beer bar-- no, it doesn't have as many beers as RFD or the Brickskeller, but what it does have is great atmosphere, a moderate number of unique beers, and the best bartender in DC (Robert). The owner and bartender are serious about their beer and happy to talk about beer. Right near the U St. metro, close to Ben's Chili Bowl and Dukem, a great Ethiopian restaurant.

(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Awesome!

Establishment: Toronado, San Francisco, CA

Went to Toronado for the Barleywine Festival, which happened to start while we were in SF for a long weekend. Wow. 55 barleywines on tap! It was mobbed, service was slow, but it was well worth it for all the incredible beer they had. From the sounds of other reviews, that's about what you should expect here: amazing beer, somewhat uneven otherwise, but well worth it if you're serious about beer...

(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

I've visited many brewpubs all over the country. Magnolia is one of the very best I've ever been to. The cask IPA may be the best I've ever had, the selection is incredible, all the beer we tried was excellent. We were there during February, Strong Beer Month, so they had lots of those-- including 3 different years' barleywines. Need I say more?

(02/27/2005)














(0.17 seconds) 05:30:54 54.161.202.106, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS