PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dick poynter
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 18, 2014 @ 03:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dick poynter

Beer Reviews
(49)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

49
Beer Reviews from dick poynter
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

Very good beer. We tried several and all were tasty. Wait staff friendly and helpful. We had several appetizers and all were great. We would definately go back. My only problem was signage. We drove past it the first time.

(08/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Boulevard Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

We had a great tour and a nice selection of samples. We didn't have reservations, but signed up on the waiting list and got in because of some no shows.

(08/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company, Madison, WI

This appeared to be a new location on the far south side of Madison in a large strip mall. It was a very nice place. More importantly, the beer was great. I had both the IPA and APA and really liked both. We had dinner there also. Food and service were top notch. It is the kind of place you want to return.

(07/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: New Glarus Brewing Company, New Glarus, WI

We stopped to see there new brewery. It has a really great location, just south of town on a big hill overlooking the whole town. However, it goes downhill from that. No signs to direct you to the tasting room, we had to ask around. The tasting room had 6 of their 11 beers on tap. Of course, they didn't have the pale ale we wanted to try. The tasting room was very large, but only had about 10 chairs. It was like they really didn't want visitors. Of course they charge for the samples. The gift shop, just across the way also had six beers on tap. But they were the same six, (why not the other five beers you brew?) and you couldn't taste them anyway. You had to go back to the tasting room. Our whole group left there feeling like we were unwelcome and they could care less if we wanted to taste their beer or even buy some. I don't think I'll be going back.

(07/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Grumpy Troll Restuarant and Brewery, Mount Horeb, WI

We stopped for lunch and had a great meal and several tasty beers. We tried about six different, all were good and well made. I really couldn't rate any of the beers awesome, but they were good enough to make me want to come back next year.

(07/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Capital Brewery Company, Incorporated, Middleton, WI

This is a brewery and a bar, but no food. We had a really fun tour, with sampling during the tour, which made is more interesting. all the beers we tried were good. The pale ale was very tasty. We enjoyed the beer and the experience.

(07/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Sprecher Brewing Company, Incorporated, Glendale, WI

Nice brewery. No food. Friendly folks. We couldn't get the tour because they were all booked, but we bought a nice selection of their beers-available cold--and really liked every beer we sampled. Great sodas, too. I wish their beer had a wider distribution.

(07/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Water Street Brewery, Milwaukee, WI

We visited this place with high expectations, but were very disappointed. We arrived about noon on a Friday and sat a table about 4 feet from the bar. After a while, a waitress told us we had to go the bar to get a beer. We ordered there pale ale and asked for a taste of the raspberry weis. The pale ale was undrinkable, we could not finish the beer!! --Which is very unusual for our group. The Raspberry did not taste so good either. We decided to pass on lunch and get out of there.

(07/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Leinenkugel's 10th Street Brewery, Milwaukee, WI

Although they didn't seem like they were set up for tours, the security guard took us directly to the brewmaster who cheerfully guided us to the sampling room. We had a few samples, only 4 beers on tap-Honey wheat, Amber Ale, Barleycorn, and 1888 bock. All were good. We ended talking to the brewmaster for quite a while and ended with a very pleasant experience.

(07/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Columbus, OH

Always enjoyable stop for us. Pizza is outstanding. Beer is good, drinkable, etc, although not the best I've ever had. Service is friendly and fast. We always go to a BJ's.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Triumph Brewing Company, Philadelphia, PA

A short walk from the Liberty bell, but I wouldn't make the walk again. It just wasn't as good as I expected. I almost got the impression they were more about the food than the beer. We only had an appetizer and it was very good, but it just wasn't the type of place I would like to visit again. The beer seemed average.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Yards Brewing Company, Philadelphia, PA

We stopped by on a Friday. Visitor area was still under construction, but we were welcomed and offered several samples. All four were good, so we bought a six pack of each. All were enjoyable. I would buy more if I were in the area.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: McKenzie Brew House II, Malvern, PA

We stopped by after a trip to Philadelphia. The IPA was very tasty. A couple of others which we tasted were also good. Food was outstanding. It is a brewpub we would enjoy going to again.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Granite City Food and Brewery, Rockford, IL

We stopped by on Father's Day to taste the beer. The place was packed. We tried the IPA. It was good; not the Sierra Nevada excellence, but would be very nice with a meal. The Blueberry was a nice change of pace. Would be good beer to sit on the deck and drink.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Two Brothers Brewing Company, Warrenville, IL

This was so enjoyable, we returned a week later. We had some very tasty IPA's. Other beers seemed well brewed also. Good selection of food and all was very tasty. The place is tough to find, however. No signage and is located in an industrial/warehouse area. It is worth looking for, however.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewery, Schaumburg, IL

We stopped by for appetizers and beers. Enjoyed both. We sampled 4 beers and they all seemed true to style and tasty. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would like to return.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Mickey Finn's Brew Pub was Libertyville Brewing, Libertyville, IL

Very good IPA. We tasted a couple of others and they were good. Food and service were very good. We would return, if in the area again.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Granite City Food and Brewery, East Peoria, IL

Nice beers. Good food. A brewpub I would enjoy returning to. Beer is not as good as Rhodell, but still nice.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

Beer selection was very good. I ordered a 1/2 glass and they served it in a school cafeteria style 8 oz glass. Not very appealing. Beer tasted fine however. The food selection was somewhat meager and somewhat average. Not as good as most brewpubs I visit. They need to be more customer responsive.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: America's Brewpub, Aurora, IL

I expected better quality and selection of beer. No IPA, bartender tried to tell me a brown ale was hoppy. It really wastn't. I probably wouldn't go back because there are better places.

(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, Ellicott City, MD

Food was very good. Beer was average and mild. The two or three we tried tasted very similar and slightly watery. It was a nice place, but could use some work on the beer recipes.

(12/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: McKenzie Brew House, Glen Mills, PA

Very enjoyable and drinkable beers. They weren't outstanding, but the 3 we tried were good (pale ale, lager, red). The food was tasty and enjoyable. We would return.

(12/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: New Glarus Brewing Company, New Glarus, WI

Follow up to my comments related to my recent visit. I didn't mention they charge you for the tasting, and then only let you sample the 3 choices they are featuring that day. Which is kind of silly since they are serving bottled beer. Why not allow you to taste the ones that interest you? Not really a great experience.

(07/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Stoudt's Brewing Company, Adamstown, PA

As usual, great food and beer. We were disappointed in that they were out of several of the beers we wanted to try. Eddie needs to crack the whip and get brewing.

(07/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

I agree with the majority of reviewers. Awesome beer. Very pleasant experience in the tasting room. They really made you feel like they were glad to see you. Happy to talk beer with you, answer all questions and give you seconds on the samples. We liked everything we tried, especially the pale ale.

(07/14/2008)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.132 seconds) 03:45:29 54.204.215.209, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS