PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from diane van wagner
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 23, 2014 @ 03:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
diane van wagner

Beer Reviews
(31)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

31
Beer Reviews from diane van wagner
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Awesome! Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Sleeping Lady Brewing Company was Snow Goose, Anchorage, AK

Part of August 2004 Alaskan tour. Beautiful restaurant with top notch beers on tap. The IPA and Scotch ale wer our favorites. Food was pretty good, but pricey. Service was pretty good. The place was hoping and so was the wait staff. Nice view of Puget sound outside. Saw an AWAC taking off into the sunset. Will go back next time in Alaska.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Silver Gulch Brewing and Bottling Company, Fox, AK

This stop was a part of our August 2004 Alaska tour. We finally found Silver Gulch just out side of Fairbanks at a remote gravel intersection. It was closed. It only has limited time that it is opened to the public. We did find their beer across the street at the Howling Dog Saloon. They are awesome lagers. I am not a big lager fan, but these were big, bold, and crisp. Very well made lagers. The Howling Dog Saloon is the furtherest north rock and roll bar in th U.S. It's a true old time biker bar that has live music most nights and weekends. When we were there, it was populated by some out of town Hells Angels and local bikers. They were very friendly and polite. You could get a free teeshirt if you were a lady by flashing the management and the bartender. (we did not do this!)Don't judge a book by it's cover at the Howling Dog Saloon. Very fun place.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Regal Eagle Brewing Company was North Slope Restaurant, Eagle River, AK

This was a stop on our route to Anchorage on our two week Alaska tour last August 2004. Sorry we stopped. The one selection that they had was a poor example of a hefewizen. Weak, watery, and not completly fermented out as it was sweet. Run away from Regal Eagle as fast as you can. Out of the seven brewerys we went to this was by far the worst.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Moose's Tooth Pub and Pizzeria, Anchorage, AK

It took us 2 times to finally get into Moose's Tooth, but it was worth it. The place is packed at all times of the day and night. The beer selection is unbelieveble! I think there were at least 16 on tap that I counted. The standouts in my opinion were the IPA which is big and bold. The ESB on cask and pulled on a hand pump was heaven! What a well balanced ale served at the correct temperature. Try comparing it to the ESB on tap and notice the differences in taste even though it's the same beer. The other beers I sampled were excellent as well. Probably the best pizza I have ever had. This is truly the best brewery in Anchorage and a must stop on your brewery tour. Can't wait to come back!

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Haines Brewing Company, Haines, AK

Haines Brewery is a hard to find gem in the town of Haines Alaska. It is a 35 minute fast ferry ride from Skagway across an inlet carved by a glacier. Whales were present on our trip. The brewery took us about an hour to find with lots of walking. Once we found it though, it was worth it. It is located inside the set of the orginal White Fang movie. There is also a community garden planted there as well. We waited the 45 minutes until it opened. What awesome beers! The IPA was superb and comples. The pale was very crisp and refreshing. The brewer was working on a stout at the time so no tastings of that beer. Make your way to this brewery. It's worth it! Also go back into town and eat at the Fireweed. Excellent food in large portions. You can also get full pints of all of the ales from Haines brewery.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Bear Brewing Company, Wasilla, AK

Great Bear was a stop on our 2 week Alaska tour in August of 2004. What aa awesome place. It's in a shopping mall with a small packed parking lot. It was full of local patrons in the late afternoon when we went in for a snack. Their beers did not disapoint! Their IPA was on cask. It was a big, bold IPA that was very pleasing to the palate. The pale, stout, and Big Sue were also delicious. Food was incredible! Try the halibut nuggets. I never had fresher tasting halibut in my life! Service was very friendly. Most people in Alaska are friendly. Well worth making a trip to Wasilla.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Glacier Brewhouse, Anchorage, AK

Went there in August of 2004 as part of our 2 week Alaskan tour. The beers were very good, but I did not have a stand out favorite. The food prices were pretty high for the quality. The food was not bad though. Atmosphere was crowded and very loud inside. There was a great view of Puget sound if you went outside though. Once was enough at Glacier for me. Try it though.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company, Juneau, AK

Went to Alaskan Brewing Co. in August of 2004 part of 2 week trip to Alaska. What can I say except awesome! You alk into the taproom/giftshop from a gravel road. Inside is the brewery which you can veiw from a central viewing area. Walk up to the tasting area and have all of the tasters you want poured for you! Tony Hand was knowledgeable, fun, and really wants you to enjoy yourself. The smoked porter of tap was amazing! Smooth, creamy, and with just the right amount of smokiness, I can see why this beer has won so many awards. Alaskan Amber is one of my all time favorites. It is so easy to drink. Summer ale is good as well. Nice example of a kolsch. Well worth going to Juneau for. You can only fly in to Juneau, or get in by boat as no roads go through to the outside world. Beer Mecca to the far north!

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mendocino Brewing Company, Hopland, CA

A must stop for me on my brewery tour as Red Tail Ale was the first micro brewed beer I ever had over 13 yrs ago. I was very disapointed when I got there (on a Tuesday) and they were closed Tuesdays and Wedensdays for winter hours! The winter hour thing again! We don't have winter in California. Anyway, Red Tail Ale is awesome. Great example of an english brown ale with a west coast hoppiness. Will try to get back there again sometime during warmer months.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Morro Bay Brewing Company, Morro Bay, CA

Tried to go on the first day of our brewery tour. Got there at around 12:30 and they did not open until 3:00 as they were on winter hours! Who opens a brewpub at that late of a time on a Sunday? Will try again if we are in the area again in the summer months.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Speakeasy Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Went to Speakeasy, but found out when I got there that you needed an appointment to visit. Will try again on another trip to the Bay area. Their beers are pretty good though. You can get them at Beverages an More.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Have been to Anchor twice now. It is well worth the stop. Call in advance to make a tour appointment. Tour is fun and informative. Guides enjoy what they are doing. This is the only way that you will be able to enjoy tasting the beer at the brewery. All you can taste samples of all of their beers at a beautiful memorabilia filled taproom. Of course Anchor's beers are superb! Liberty ale is my personal favorite (IPA). Malty with a nice hop bitterness that is clean and refreshing. You can buy fresh cases of their beer right off of the loading dock. (pay inside) Highly reccomended!

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

Our third trip to "Mecca" and it never dissapoints. The restaurant and taproom has great decor and style. Get the circular spinning booth for added fun with your friends. The food is fabulous and a great variety. Try the jambalya. Of course the beers are excellent. What's not to love about the pale ale, porter and stout? There are many beers on tap that are only available at the tap room, or limited release to selected alehouses. The harvest ale, IPA, and the pale bock are just to name a few. Pale bock was available in bottles only in Butte County, so I bought a sixpack for home. Great gift shop where you can spend a lot of money on shirts, etc. I sure did. Took walking tour it was fun. A great leader in the brewery industry with high quality ales and lagers. A must stop for beer afficionados!

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Russian River Brewing Company, Santa Rosa, CA

I have waited a long time to visit Russian river.I veryexicited that it re-opened after Corbel sold it to Vinnie and Natalie. Vinnie is a God! His beers are nectars on steriods. Pliny the elder is heavenly. Pliny the younger will kick you in the ass! Both have assertive hoppiness and rich maltiness. Hoptime harvest is one of Vinnie's "lighter" ales. Golden amber with a fresh citrus aroma. Fresh sappy hop bitterness from addition of freshly harvested hops. Light malt body. Delicious! Blind pig IPA is light amber in color with a smooth malt body. Great hop aroma and finish. Very clean and refreshing. Hop heads take notice of Russian River. You won't be left unsatisfied. Food is great pizzas on thin crusts.What more could you want? Major destination on brew pub tour.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Third Street AleWorks, Santa Rosa, CA

What a fantastic brew pub! The atmosphere is fun and friendly. Bartender is awesome. Can't remember his name, but he writes the comic strip in the Celebrator every issue. Saw a sneak preview of the next comic. Bodega Head IPA cask on hand pump! What an awesome IPA. Traditional english style with a west coast hop attitude. Very well balanced with a spicy hop finish. Served cellar temperature as it should be. Annadel Pale Ale is another great english style pale ale. Nice maltiness up front with a crisp clean hop finish. Very refreshing. Foreign Extra Stout cask on hand pump. Sweet, dry, and creamy-smooth. Good malt roastiness. Very nice on cask. Blarney Sisters Dry Irish Stout was dry with a very predominate roasted malt taste.Served on nitrogen, it was a taste treat. Clooneys Irish red was a medium bodied ale with a subtle hop finish. Well rounded and very drinkable. A must stop on your brewery tour. I will difinately go back. It is the next street over from Russian River Brewing Co. Two great brew pubs within walking distance.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Seabright Brewery, Santa Cruz, CA

First stop on brewery tour. Great atmosphere and friendly service. Very busy. Food was very good with nice portions.Some vegetarian items. Had the Resolution and the strong ale. Strong ale was on cask. Both were very good. Also tried taster of the stout. It was creamy and delicious. (lost my taster notes) I will difinately go back when in the area.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Monterey Coast Brewing Company, Salinas, CA

Montery Coast was on our way home from our tour. Geno Sr. from El Toro recommended it to us. It was a little hard to find as there is major construction on the street, and a confusing array of one way streets. We did find it and it was deserted. We had very prompt service and ordered appetizers and a couple of pints. The IPA was outstanding. Beautiful Light amber color with a fresh hop aroma that made my nostrils tingle. The malt and hop balance was just right a little more hops than malt. The pale was also very good. Light golden color with a citrusy hop aroma and bite. Nice light malt flavor. Very refreshing. Our appetizers were excellent. The spring roles and the fried artichoke hearts were delicious. You could get several appetizers and share to make a meal. We will diffinately go back if in the area. Business did pick up as we were leaving thank goodness.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: ThirstyBear Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Major stop for us on our brewery tour. We were not dissapointed. Beers were excellent. Just had bowl of mixed olives and a green salad for the two of us for snack. Meyer ESB was true english style. Sweet malty mouthfeel with a clean mildly bitter hop finish. It was excellent. Howard St. IPA was a great balance of malt and hops. Again true to the english style. Very refreshing. Golden Hallucination Belgian Strong ale was a gem. It was more pilsner like in taste and crispness. It was finished with Saaz hops and cold lagered even though it is an ale. Alcohol sneaks up on you so be careful! Abbey Dopple has a nice deep amber color. Brown sugar like sweetness from addition of candied sugar. Big malt profile as well. Clean hoppy finish. Great example of this style. Make this one of your stops on you brewery tour. I'll be back.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Mad River Brewing Company, Blue Lake, CA

Major stop for us on our tour. Just a brewery which sells their beer in cases, along with great selection of shirts, pint glasses, etc. Steelhead extra pale ale has always been one of my favorites as a session beer as it is so refreshing and well balanced. Jamaica Sunset IPA is a hopheads dream. Niceley balanced between maltiness and hops. Great hop aroma. The Jamaica red ale is also excellent. Lady at the counter in the store was very friendly and helpful getting us our cases brought out to us. Quaint town of Blue Lake. Brewery is in small industrial park not far from the Mad River.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Magnolia Pub was a highly anticipated stop on my brewery tour. I was very disappointed. All of the the beers I had were cask on a hand pump except the porter. Ruby mild cask had a very watery mouth feel with no real flavor. Weather report wheat had a decent wheat bite to it , but was still a watery brew. Blue bell bitter had a weak watery taste to it with a very bitter hop finish. Blue bell bitter on tap was a little more balanced, but still watery. Proving ground IPA was nothing but hops with no maltiness to speak of. Very weak beer as well. Cole Porter was very roasty with an uncharacteristic hoppy finish. Lacks balance. Saving grace was nice artwork. Run away from this place!

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Ukiah Brewing Company, Ukiah, CA

Stopped here on my brewery tour as Hopland brewery was closed on Tuesdays. This was a pleasant surprise for us. All of the food was organic as well as the beers. The IPA cask was the stand out.This was on a hand pump at cellar temp. Sweet maltiness up front with a nice creamy head. Extremly floral aroma from dry hopping with simco hops. Nice hop crispness on the finish. Excellent! Big River ESB was also very good. Sweet maltiness followed by moderate bitterness. Highly drinkable. OPA (organic pale ale) Good balance of malt and hops with a light floral boquet. Refreshing and easy drinking pale. Coops stout is a well balanced stout with sweet roasted malt flavors. Creamy with subtle hoppiness. Nice interpretation of a stout. Talked with brewmaster, Bret Cooperrider at great length about his beers and the brewery history. Great guy. Well worth the side trip in my opinion.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good

Establishment: North Coast Brewing Company, Fort Bragg, CA

Another stop on my brewery tour. I was really looking forward to this stop. The brewery and the restaurant are across the street from each other. Went to the restaurant for dinner and was extremly dismayed with the food. I like spicy and hot, but it seems that the shaker top of the chile powder fell off when the food was prepared. All I could taste was chile powder! It was even in my coleslaw, and it garnished the plate edge. Saving grace was the Red Seal Ale cask conditioned. It was served on a hand pump at celler temperature. Delicious.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Lost Coast Brewery and Cafe, Eureka, CA

Also on my brewery tour. Was there on St. Patty's day for dinner. Very crowded with a long wait. Corned beef and cabbage was very good. Beers are awesome! Being a hophead, I really loved the IPA. True west coast style with a great hoppiness. Did not true the "fruity beers" though. Not my style. You can by distressed cases at a fraction of the cost at the restaurant. Nothing wrong with the beer, just labels, packageing, etc. A must stop.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lagunitas Brewing Company, Petaluma, CA

Their beer is awesome! Earmarked them as a stop on my brewery tour and they were only open on Thursdays to the public. I was there on a Tuesday and could not make it back. Disapointing.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Jack's Brewing Company, Fremont, CA

Very busy sports bar with friendly staff. Food was great and nice portions. Beer was good. Everything that I tasted was very clean and drinkable. IPA was the standout. It was nicely balanced and more true to the English style. Give Jack's a try.

(03/30/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.359 seconds) 03:57:23 54.166.128.254, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS