PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from doug
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 01, 2014 @ 07:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
doug

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from doug
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Yak and Yeti, Arvada, CO

This was the first stop on a beer tour of the area. Interesting place, in a large old home. Small bar up front with some seating outside, appears to be additional seating upstairs. We were ushered into what must have been a small front room of the original home. The Indian/Nepalese food was buffet style. I did not partake but those who did said it was very good. The aroma from the food was strangely comforting. I had the IPA which was spot on. Served at the right temperature and carbonation, while I didn't ask I assume it was on cask. It was really good and was hands down the best IPA I had in Denver. Also tried the ESB, which was a bit of a come down after the IPA but true to form and a chai milk stout that was very good with the chai adding a very interesting twist. A bit out of the way, but would go back and try the othere beers in a heartbeat if I was in the area.

(11/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: C. B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Highlands Ranch, CO

Actually made it here several times since my hotel was right down the street. Not a bad place. Drank mostly the Big Red IPA, which was a good but not great IPA. Price is fair especially during NFL games and other HH times. It is a comfortable large sports bar with decent seating and a large somewhat dark projection TV. Service was good and food decent, I had a couple different pizzas that were decent. Worth a stop in if you are staying in Highlands Ranch, but with all the great beer in Denver, it wouldn't be my primary stop.

(11/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy Great

Establishment: Glacier Brewhouse, Anchorage, AK

I really can't believe there hasn't been a review since 07? Maybe it is because it was because the wait to get in was too much and everyone went down the street. If that is the case, the wait is worth it to get in. I only had two beers, the Raspberry Wheat and the cask conditioned IPA. The IPA was fanatastic! The best beer I had in Alaska hands down. I wish I would have had an opportunity to try other beers, but getting in there is really a pain. The food was excellent and for Anchorage reasonalby priced. I had the salmon and it was darn good. The atmosphere is great, the apparently use applewood and the place smells great. Has that northwest feel. Service was frankly way below average. We waited on everything, fortunately we weren't in a hurry so I remained calm, but it was really bad. I would like to think that it is an isolated situation so wouldn't let it stop me from going back for the food and the beer. Best brew pub in town.

(06/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Moose's Tooth Pub and Pizzeria, Anchorage, AK

Number two of the Anchorage brewpubs and number two in the ranking. First and foremost, the place is hard to get into. It is packed pretty much all the time. I think this is due more to the pizza then the beer, but who knows. I acutally went there three times but only made it in twice. The best time to get in seemed to be around 2-3 PM any time after and it was crazy. Once again I had the sampler and found the beers to be pretty good, not quite great but better then average. Selection was really nice, with several wheat beers and fruit beers to join the regular lineup. I had an apple beer that was really quite different, not quite hard cider, just different. There were several beers I would like to have tried but didn't get a chance. Definitely worth a stop for the beer and the atmosphere. What should bring you here is the pizza. A great menu choice and the two different kind I had were quite good. The service was quite good considering the volume of people. As mentioned in prior posts, it would seem to be a locals favorite.

(06/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So Good

Establishment: Sleeping Lady Brewing Company was Snow Goose, Anchorage, AK

This was the first of the three brewpubs in Anchorage that we made it to. I would easily rank it third of the three. I had the sampler which consisted of 8 of the house beers. None were remarkable or stood out. All were safely within their style but rather boring. The food was just ok. We got a pizza and the artichoke dip. It was also our introduction to how little you get for your money in Anchorage. The service was kind of slow. We sat outside and could see the potential for a nice day to sit out there and enjoy a few. We didn't make it back and I am not disappointed.

(06/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great So So So So

Establishment: Cornerstone Brewing Company, Berea, OH

Went here on a recent vacation to the Cleveland area. Brewed and drank some great beer just up the road at the Brew Kettle and while we were in the neighborhood, we decided to give the Cornerstone a try. Maybe they should call it the Headstone, since I can't believe they can keep going with the beer quality and serivce they have there.

Our waitress was not pleased to be there or it seemed to us and let our beers run dry and like others have said the place really wasn't very busy. I tried two seasonals, a blueberry ale and an alleged saison. Neither were good at all. I could barely drink the saison and my brother-in-law left half of his. Normally I would consider this a sin against nature, but in this case, it was the better part of valor.

I ordered a pizza which was really pretty good and the place really has a nice atmosphere, but that was about it. Glad it is out in Berea rather then in Westlake where I hang out when there.

(06/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: The BREW Kettle Taproom and Smokehouse / Ringneck, Strongsville, OH

I was actually at the Brew Kettle to brew a batch of beer so had only limited opportunity to have a few beers, but those I had were quite good, even those of a style that I would not normally order in the sampler. My favorite hands down however was the Wits End Double Wit. A very nice wit. If I wasn't in need of maintaining my brewing coordination I would have gladly had several and stumbled out I am sure. As I recall the abv was up around 8%. I didn't have any food but my brother-in-law did and says they have the best bbq pork around. It did look good.

The real experience was in brewing the 15 gallons of beer. What a great set up. We do not have anything like it here in Texas and my guess it is not legal to do so. I have been a homebrewer for years and years and was somewhat suspicious of the entire idea when it was suggested to me, but now having done it, I wish we could do it here. Brewing 15 gals at a time is awsome and they do all the clean up for you. The employees were great a very helpful. If you live in the area, you gotta try it.

(06/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Fatheads Brewery and Saloon, Cleveland, OH

I can't believe that no one has rated this place yet! Was there on vacation on last week. Made three trips in 5 days if that tells you anything. Tried most of their beers and while I am just not a fan of all the styles, they were all good to great. They had an excellent cask IPA that reminded me a whole lot of Doghead 60. I am almost embarrassed to admit it but I really like the Bumbleberry, a blue berry ale made with honey and served with fresh blueberries. What a great warmweather brew. I also quite liked the amber. The food that I had was also very good and included the best spinach artichoke dip I have ever had. Highly recommended. The wings were also very good. The sandwiches are indeed as big as your head and a great value.

Overall a great new brewpub. Only downside is it gets very crowded and loud early, but that is probably a good problem to have.

(06/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Freetail Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

Wow the only other review had me all excited to go to Free Tail as rarely do you see "Awesome!" used to describe everything. I guess that should have been a clue. Either things have changed drastically in five months or the review was done by an employee. Three of us were in on a recent early Saturday afternoon. First and foremost the place really just doesn't have any atmosphere. It is on the end of a strip mall and is filled with chairs and tables on an open floor. Yawn. Nice view I guess but nothing else. There was a nice list of beers to choose from however and hopes soared high. I ordered a sampler, which consisted of 5 4 oz beers. I didn't take notes, but as I recall they were a blonde, a rye wit, a pale ale, another ale of unknown style and a saison. My friends tried the stout and the porter in addition to the beers in my sampler. In my opinion this is just another sad case where a brewpub is afraid to offend anyone and the beers, regardless of style are bland. It was very difficult to tell one from the next and I found that I actually enjoyed none of the beers to the extent that I would drink more then one. My two friends agreed. Overall a very disappointing experience. Won't be going back.

(05/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: C'est What?, Toronto, ON

Stopped in for a couple of beers in the middle of the afternoon after reading that it had a great beer selection. Found this to be true. I really like the fact that they don't offer the megaswill beers at all. All beers are brewed in Canada. Their beer is actually brewed by a contractor offsite. I tried 3 of the beers. A double pumpkin that was nice, very similar to Uncle Bucks. Their own coffee porter and a hazlenut chocolate stout. Both were done to style, I preferred the coffee porter. The atmosphere was quite enjoyable. It is in a basement in the downtown area. If I would have been in town longer I would have gone back for an afternoon session. Here as everywhere in Toronto, take along some extra cash as beer is quite expensive, at least in comparison to what I am used to. You aren't going to get a decent pint for under $6 anywhere I saw.

(11/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Granite Brewery, Toronto, ON

Kind of out of the way if you are in downtown Toronto, but worth the trip. Great atmosphere in the Distillery District. Great selection of beer. Nothing really stood out and in my opinion they were all dumbed down a little, but they were still pretty decent. The food was excellent and reasonable in price (for Toronto). I had a pizza that was excellent. Service was very good. Waitresses wear catholic school girl outfits. Very interesting. Nice place, I would recommend stopping in for lunch or dinner.

(11/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Uncle Billy's Brew and Que Smokehouse and Brewery, Austin, TX

Uncle Billy's now has beer! Currently 5 house beers on tap. Hefe, Blonde, Amber, Pale and IPA. Did the sampler first. Enjoyed all but the Amber. The Amber had good color but not a lot of flavor. The Blonde done in the style of the local Fireman's 4 was pretty good but not quite on point. The pale, which is brewed in the west coast style was excellent. The IPA while not necessarily to style was very good as well. Talked to the brewer Brian, late of the now extinct Bitter End and Live Oak. What a great guy! He spent a lot of time answering questions and talking about his thinking behind his brewing. He promises a smoked porter and other tantalizing beers in the future. The food is excellent, best BBQ in Austin, and they have recently added appetizers, I had the wings and they were awsome! I have been there 6 - 10 times and have always had fantastic service. If Carbon is working he will do you right. One of my favorite brewpubs around for food and beer. Still like the Draughthouse for just beer and atmosphere, but given a little time Billys just might supplant it.

(06/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, San Diego, CA

I was shocked to find myself enjoying a chain as much as I did Rockbottom. I have been to a couple others in the past and found them to be more so so then great. This was an exception, great location and atmosphere. I started with the sampler and really enjoyed all of the beers. While there was nothing overly original, they were well done. I ended up drinking a pint of the pale ale in the end. The food was excellent. I got the barbeque chicken pizza which was excellent. A surprisingly good experience in downtown San Diego.

(03/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Coronado Brewing Company, Coronado, CA

Three pint limit is still in effect. Strange rule for a brewpub. As a result I limited myself to 2 pints so as not to be "cutoff". Had the "hefe" and the brown. The hefe was a little odd and the hoppiest hefe I have experienced. Not what I was looking for but not terrible either. The brown on the other hand was quite decent and true to form. The place itself is very interesting and would be a good drinking atmosphere if one was allowed to do so. Maybe it's me but stopping at 3 pints is like kissing your sister and not necessarily a good looking sister.

(03/11/2007)














(0.081 seconds) 07:44:58 54.205.52.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS