PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from doug phillips
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 20, 2014 @ 08:33 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
doug phillips

Beer Reviews
(35)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

35
Beer Reviews from doug phillips
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Wilmington, DE

This is less about the beer and more about the location. As usual I got a sampler. In this case it consisted of the 8 beers that they currently had on tap, regulars and 2 specials. The specials were a heffe and a whit. The six regulars were ok, I felt that while the were close to style in all cases, they were somewhat watered down of all versions. The light lager was a pretty good example of an American mass produced beer and was basically like drinking water. The Ironbound was billed as an American pale and again on the lighter side of the scale with little hops but not a bad beer. The porter did not have a heavy mouth feel like I like in a porter but ok taste. The heffe and the whit were the closest to style and I stuck with the whit. For atmosphere, it is a great place. Sat on the balcony over looking the riverwalk and listened to live music one night. Service and food were pretty good overall on both occassions. I highly recommend this establishment if you are in the Wilmington area. Plenty of parking and easy to find.

(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Union Station Brewery was John Harvard's Brew House, Providence, RI

Stopped in for an early dinner on the 4th of July. This is a rather nice place, with ample seating and a patio area for additional seating. Had a heck of a time finding it on the city map, but it was worth the search. The service was very good. I got the sampler for starters and found the beers to be quite good but not great. I think this is to be expected from a John Harvard's or most other chains. Trinity was closed so it was the only game in town. I stuck with a couple of pints of the wheat and found it to be quite drinkable. Food was good as was overall experience. Stop by if in Providence.

(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: City Steam Brasserie Brewery Cafe, Hartford, CT

Stopped in for lunch and tried their "sampler". You actually get to pick 5 of the 8 beers they had on tap to make up the sampler. Was not knocked out by any one of the beers that I selected. I did follow up with a pint of the Belgium white that they had and it was pretty good. I thought that the beers were a little dumbed down and not really to style. There aren't a lot of brew pubs in the region and this one is worth a stop. As noted in other reviews, it is a pretty neat building and interesting to watch the bust stop crowd wander by. Food was not exceptional, but ok.

(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company, El Paso, TX

I would really rate all as pretty good rather then good. Got the sampler and thought all beers were quite good, maybe not great but, you get the idea. I really did like the place though and it is within walking distance of the hotels around the airport. It was better then I expected in El Paso. The prices were right at happy hour and the atmosphere was what you might hope for in a brew pub. Best compliment I can give it, is that I will be back next time I am in town. As far as the beers go, they had a mexican amber that was quite good as were the stout, porter and IPA. This place is better then good but not quite great. Give it a try.

(04/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Rocky River, OH

Short and sweet. I have been here several times over the years, and things don't seem to change much. It is almost always crowded (you have to sit at the bar unless you are eating before 10 PM) and full of smoke. I had hoped to get an Oompa Loompa, but as in past years they were out, so I settled for the dunkel weizen. It was ok, no Oompa Loompa that's for sure. Fearing that I would soon require supplemental oxygen to survive we called it a night after a couple of pints. Not your best option in the Cleveland area, but worth a stop if you don't mind the smoke.

(12/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Willoughby Brewing Company, Willoughby, OH

Made the trip out east for the first time while in Cleveland, it is about a 15-20 minute drive from downtown. Willoughby is in an old rail car repair building which gives it a pretty cool atmosphere. We sat at the bar and I ordered a sampler. As I recall there were 7 beers, with their seasonal being a light beer? Apparently they had just run out of the pumpkin. Actually while I was there they ran out of two more beers. No one beer stands out in my mind, although I did order a pint of the amber, after finishing of the sampler. I had the spinach artichoke dip which was very good. The place began to fill up with people and smoke and we decided to leave. All in all it is a nice place, but I wouldn't drive by Great Lakes again to make a special trip.

(12/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

This was actually my second trip to Great Lakes, the first was several years and many more beers ago, so my memory was a little foggy, however, i remembered thinking it was pretty cool. My memory for once was solid. Great Lakes has pretty much all a brew pub should have going for it. A great variety of beers, the pumpkin beer was the best of the bunch, but they all had merit. The christmas ale was the weakest of the bunch as we were a little disappointed in the lack of spices. I also enjoyed the Belgian whit. The place is entirely non-smoking which actually allows you to taste the beer you are drinking. The menu is a little foo foo, but the the food was pretty darn good. If you are in Cleveland it is the place to go and they have some excellent growlers at a very reasonable price if you are into such things.

(12/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Bricktown Brewery, Oklahoma City, OK

I was surprised to read some of the reviews here that say that the beers are lousy. I should preface this with the fact that I had a wonderful summer cold, so my beer tasters may have been a little out of whack but I did get the sampler (only 5 beers) and then had 2 pints of the wheat, which I thought was decent if not great. I found the beers to be ok. Nothing great, but nothing terrible either. The food was plentifull and tasty, the waitress was one of the best ever and the atmosphere itself pretty cool. Overall an ok experience and I would go back. I am beginning to think that midwest brews = average though. I wish that Boulevard had a brewpub.

(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Misty's was Crane River Brewpub and Cafe, Lincoln, NE

Last time I was in here it was Crane River. In this case only the name has been changed (I presume to protect the innocent). I stoppen in on a Wednesday afternoon for a sampler. Sat at the bar and tried the offerings. They had a decent selection of styles, but none really stood out. They had two wheats, a spiced american and a traditional american, both were ok. The rest all lacked character. The bartender was waiting on tables inside and outside so was distracted. All in all if you were there when it was Crane River and found it to be boring and benign then, nothing has changed so don't go in with great expectations. It is really a shame with it's location across the street from Embassy Suites that they don't do a better job.

(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Empyrean Brewing Company, Lincoln, NE

Same beer as Lazlos (see my review on Lazlos). Really nice place in the Haymarket. Had a couple of the brown ales at the bar and an excellent pizza. Service was great, but then again I was the only one at the bar. I was surprised that they did not have a wheat or a pale on tap, given the time of year. Worth a stop while in the Haymarket area.

(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Good

Establishment: Lazlo's Brewery and Grill South, Lincoln, NE

First time I had been back to Lazlo's for several years. I lived in Lincoln for the better part of the 90's, so I was most familiar with the downtown location, but had been to south a time or two before. As always the food was fantastic and the beer was just good. I tried all the beers on tap over the week I was in town and settled on the brown. The best beer was the IPA which is a product of a local contest winner, very true to style with nice hops. Historically the brewer(s) at Lazlo's are very conservative and brew relatively benign beers. This remains true. I talked to several friends and a bartender about this and they suggested and I agree that the average beer drinker in Nebraska is never going to stray far from megaswill. It is too bad but true. Bottom line is if you are in Lincoln this is the best game in town and a great place for a meal so don't miss it.

(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A Lousy

Establishment: Copper Tank Brewing Company, Austin, TX

This was the frist time I had been to the Copper Tank in quite a while. When I first moved here it was a place to go on Weds nights for cheap beer and good pizza. The beer was ok, but it was cheap, problem was I always had a headached next day (maybe cause the beer was so cheap which of course equaled more beer) or maybe because of the rice or corn they were using to stretch the grain bill. Anyhow, I got into the habit of going to Lovejoys or Bitterend when downtown, where I was assured of finding a quality beer. Then rumor had it that the Copper Skank got a new brewer. Tried to have a beer there a couple times but they have strange hours and lots of private functions so never made it. Finally made it New Years Eve. I had the brown and my friend had the blonde. These beers were bad, no way around it, they were a sorry excuse for a brew pub offering and frankly an embarrassment that they are here in Austin. I have no idea what the last reviewer was tasting and maybe we have completely different ideas of what good beer is, but honestly, that stuff was bad. Go two blocks up to Lovejoys or down to 4th for the Bitter End or even better drive out to the Draught House, but do not waste your time here. It is a shame because the place has potential.

(01/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A So So So So

Establishment: Jerome Brewery, Jerome, AZ

Just an update on what the others have said. Didn't know it existed but noticed it on the way to Sedona. Conceptially seemed like a cool idea, having a brew pub in a town of 500 perched on a side of mountain in an old building, so I stopped on my way back to Prescott. Needn't have bothered. Beers brewed by Oak Creek in Sedona. Not sure why you call yourself a brewery or brewpub if someone else brews your beer, seems like a beer crime of sorts to me. Anyhow, ordered one beer from the surly bartender, drank it and ran for my life. Do yourself a favor and keep on driving the switchbacks to Prescott for the 4:00 happy hour.

(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewery And Grill, Sedona, AZ

Easy to be redundant here. Had the sampler and was not impressed with the beers overall. The hefe was quite good and the brown was decent, otherwise the rest were quite unremarkable. Did I mention it was $4.50 pint? Getting pretty $$$$ in my opinion, but considering the location and the yuppified atmosphere and clientele I am not surprised. For me it was definitely not worth the drive from Prescott. Based on the reviews of the sister brewery I would definitely try the other location next time.

(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

I really enjoyed it here. I tried 8 of the 9 beers that they had on tap over the three trips in two days that I made there and couldn't complain about any of them. I esepecially enjoyed the pale ale, but the others were true to style and very drinkable. Happy hour daily from 4-6 was a great deal for $2 pints. The food was excellent and the service was very good overall with one small hiccup from a waitress who was telling anyone that would list that she had given her notice. The atmosphere is interesting since it sits on the ground floor of a mini-mall located on the main street of town. part of the bar/restaurant seating is in a roped off area in the mall area across from several shops. The best beer atmosphere is in the bar area where the smoke was actually tolerable. Definitely a must stop if you are in the area and even worth the drive up if you aren't. a top tenner for me.

(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

Stopped in fairly late in the evening so only had a couple of beers and no food. Went there on the recommendation of the bartender at Papago. The two beers that I had, the Burning Bird cask pale and the porter were excellent. Would like to have tried more, but time did not allow. As mentioned earlier, a very comfortable place with good service. I usually stay in Tempe or Scottsdale so it is a drive to the pub, but is well worth it for the quality of the beer, second best in the area to Four Peaks in Tempe in my opinion.

(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company, Scottsdale, AZ

While making the stops at the brew pubs in the Scottsdale area during the Christmas weekend, I stopped in and had lunch a couple of beers at Oggis. Nothing real remarkable about the place. Staff was very friendly and the food is typical pizza place food. I had the hefe and their pale ale. Both were decent, nothing to get terribly excited about. All in all a good place to stop and have lunch with a good beer, but nothing I would go out of my way for.

(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: Papago Brewing, Scottsdale, AZ

As other reviews have said this is a bar with a nice selection of beers and an interesting eclectic atmosphere. If it is a true brew pub you are looking for this isn't it. I am under the impression that they don't actually brew any of their beers, but that they are brewed by Sonora Brewing. If it is a great beer bar you are looking for in the Scottsdale area this is the place, if it is a great brew pub, try Sonora or Four Peaks in Tempe.

(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Great So So

Establishment: Walnut Brewery, Boulder, CO

The worst of the lot in Boulder. My brother and I got the sampler (11 beers). Honestly there wasn't one of them worth drinking. If the beer isn't made with some kind of adjunct (I would guess corn syrup) I would be more then amazed. Our waitress was great and agreed that it is the worst beer in town and she comped us both samplers. The place has great potential due to the atmosphere, but I would definitely not stop again for the beer. I have to wonder what others are tasting that think this is good beer. Expect a chain and a little less.

(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Redfish New Orleans Brewhouse, Boulder, CO

See Bearded Dave's comments. I had the ESB and thought it was quite good, it was late on in the night so I can't be a constructive judge of the beer, but the atmosphere was great (walk on past the restaurant area and get back in the bar). They had live music and great service. Had a great time and would defintely go again. Best place in the area with the live music and atmosphere and the beer is very passable.

(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery, Boulder, CO

Second stop on the brewery tour of Boulder. Beer was good, we had the hefe and an amber. For a chain I thought the beer was better then most. Bartender and rest of the staff were very friendly and made the place worth trying. I would stop again.

(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

Spent a Friday night in Boulder to hit the brewpubs on and around Pearl Street. I tend to very much agree with P&J from Pitts. Great beer (best in town that I tried) and really good food but I believe overhyped as far as being the "best in Colorado". Was actually there twice in the same day (it was a long one) the first time the service was horrible (lunch) but the beer and the food was good enough to bring us back (midnight) where the service improved. It was the atmosphere that got me. It fell like a cafe in a small midwest town on mainstreet. Did not feel like a brewpub to me or a bar for that matter. Just a personal choice, but I do believe that earlier reviews created some false expectations for me. When in Boulder, go there for the beer and the food, but don't expect it to be the best ever, go to Phantom Canyon in the Springs for that.

(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Good So So

Establishment: Hops Grill and Brewery, Fort Myers, FL

Stopped in for lunch on a Saturday prior to a flight out. It is the only brew pub in town so I couldn't be choosy. One of the people I was with asked the waitress if they had any wheat beers. She was stumped, pretty sure she didn't know what a wheat beer was (am thinking in a brewpub that you might want to train the staff a little better).Got the sampler with 5 beers. the first three, a lite, a golden lager and a low carb beer (oh the horror) could have all been from the same tap (and the tap could have said "miller"), not too good. The other two beers were an amber that was the "best" by far and a "porter" that I would have classified more as a brown, perhaps. The good news is I didn't go in with any high expectations based on my chain brewery experiences in the past. The food was decent though. Wouldn't go out of my way for this one or return for that matter. Fort Meyers, you have my sympathy.

(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good

Establishment: The Dodging Duck Brewhaus, Boerne, TX

This is kind of a tough one for me. Was down on a Saturday for a beer and lunch. Four beers on, an India Pale Lager, a pale ale, the ESB and the Stout. I got a sampler and found them all to be very good beers and true to style. I enjoyed the ESB the most and ordered a pint after the sampler. I am surprised that people have found this to be the best brew pub they have ever been to. I understand that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but the best??? For me, not even close. Four beers is not a very large menu compared to others. They were $4.50/pint in Boerne Texas for crying out loud! The patio is pretty cramped and it faces out to a highway so it isn't exactly serene. The food was quite good as was the service. Overall it is better then many but not nearly as good as the best, in my opinion. Worth a stop in the area, but I wouldn't drive down from Austin again just to try it.

(05/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Barley's Casino and Brewing Company, Henderson, NV

Stopped in after playing a round of golf at Black Mountain. I got the sampler. While they have a nice selection of beers I really found it difficult to tell one beer from the other and didn't feel that they were examples of the styles they were intended to be. Most of the people in the bar were drinking other then the house brew. The price was right but the beer just didn't cut it. Wouldn't go out of my way to go again.

(04/03/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.361 seconds) 08:33:33 54.227.215.140, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS