PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from doug seeley
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 18, 2014 @ 08:36 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
doug seeley

Beer Reviews
(40)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Favorite Beer: weyerbacher hops infusion
Located In: NJ, NY, eastern PA
My Website: www.seelcraft.com
40
Beer Reviews from doug seeley
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Christie's, Glen Gardner, NJ

With 10 brews on tap and more in the bottle, Christie's is not only beer-friendly, but a great place to hang on the weekends, where the party kicks in at 10 pm.

During the evening it is a fine Italian restaurant, with standard and innovative pasta dishes and an extensive seafood and turf menu.

If you get there before 6 pm, there is always complimentary food out, whether make-your-own tacos, pizza, or Chef Eddie's latest appetizer creation.

(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Christie's, Glen Gardner, NJ

With 10 brews on tap and more in the bottle, Christie's is not only beer-friendly, but a great place to hang on the weekends, where the party kicks in at 10 pm.

During the evening it is a fine Italian restaurant, with standard and innovative pasta dishes and an extensive seafood and turf menu.

If you get there before 6 pm, there is always complimentary food out, whether make-your-own tacos, pizza, or Chef Eddie's latest appetizer creation.

(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Barley Creek Brewing Company, Tannersville, PA

After 5 years, I decided to try Barley Creek again, this time by trying the Rescue IPA in the bottle.

It was terrible! No malt taste, no hop taste, with a rancid, bitter taste like a old pickle. I see that the bottles have a lot of sediment in the bottom. I thought that was from bottle conditioning, but I hope for their sake that it was from the beer re-fermenting and dying. So maybe I'll try it again in another five years, to see if they've fixed it!

(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Raleigh, NC

Great atmosphere (when we were there at noon). The barkeep was very knowledgeable and handy with the samples.

The beer list is strangely sorted by color of beer rather than type, so we let the barkeep make recommendations.

Good pub food.

(10/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

Beautiful setting: the old railroad station. Very interesting, but expensive menu. I had the tuna: crispy on the outside and raw in the middle. Great! Most places can’t or won’t do that. And the sauce, based on the house-made butter (sweet, rich butter flavor, and overly salty) was wonderful! I’d try any dish based on butter. The Crab Scampi should be sinfully rich! The beers. Red Star Golden Light – very light, slightly beery, a typical Budwater. Little Guy Lager – somewhat stale, overly heavy and lacking in brightness for a real (German) lager. Canvas Back American Pale Ale – An amber, hoppy, IPA-type, very dry with no hint of the green pineyness of some fresh hops. Strangely, they nitrate it. The nitration head quickly dissipates leaving a lightly carbonated ale. Scotch Ale-probably the driest scotch ale I’ve ever tasted. The malt tastes more “stouty” than “amber”, i.e., over-roasted. Pumpkin Porter – a really good porter, with almost no perceptible “pumpkin” taste and only a hint of spice. It shows that they can do a good porter, but unfortunately they only make specialty porters and usually do not have one on tap. Iron Horse Stout – extremely mild taste. No mouth feel or after taste. Like a Coors Lite with brown food coloring.

(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great N/A

Establishment: Tun Tavern Brewing Company, Atlantic City, NJ

Tun has an interesting selection of beers that are fairly well done. They were a little light in flavor, but the Lager was quite meaty and tasty. The IPA was overly hopped, but very fresh and piney--dry-hopped I assume (the bartenders are too busy to discuss the beer, and it's not clear how much they know.) The Summer Weiss was a little sour; it may have started to turn.

We didn't try much food, but the atmosphere is pleasant enough, especially for Atlantic City!

(05/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company was Mallzee's Stuft, Santa Clarita, CA

Okay, it's a chain. But they do a really nice job on the atmosphere, food, beer, and service. Good selection of good food from family fare to pub grub.

And great beers! A super-belgian Hefe with spice to blast your tastebuds! Their Torrey Pines IPA really tastes like you're breathing the piney air in that park--lotsa hops. The Paradise Ale is very pleasant, with a good touch of hops. The Stout is very smokey and chocolatey. They have even made their Budwater-like beer (every pub needs one for the novices) taste good, with a touch of hops.

(05/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Firestone Walker Brewing Company, Buellton, CA

We didn't stay for the food, since the menu is very limited. But we tried a couple of appetizers: the cheese platter was really bad: the cheeses were unaged and hardly recognisable. What gives? A brewery/winery should know something about aging!!

The beers were okay. The Pale Ale was good, with more flavor than most (not just hops). The Amber Ale was full-flavored and malty. The Porter was very timid, or else accidently diluted with water! Good IPA. Didn't try the Lager: don't need more Budwater.

(05/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Union Station Brewery was John Harvard's Brew House, Providence, RI

This was my first visit, so I had nothing to compare to, but I think the place is great! We sat at the bar (early evening) and had plenty of attention! The menu looks very good, and the 3 things we had were well prepared.

I thought the beers were diverse and pretty good overall. I expect they'll get even better as the new brewer gets up to speed. The IPA was a little light, but strong in acrid hops. The Harvest Spice was a pleasant "pumpkin ale" type, but could have been maltier. Northern Light won't disappoint the Budwater lovers: it was dry and tasteless, but not unpleasant. Golden Spike, a PA, was nicely malty, but a tad too hoppy. The Vanilla Bean Porter needs some work; it was a little sour and tasted like medicine.

Overall, I would definitely go back, if I'm ever in the area again.

(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Adirondack Pub and Brewery, Lake George, NY

Last nite they had 7 of their own beers on tap! All good, but some stood out: The IPA was hoppy with a bright taste, and the California Steam was very refreshing, not at all yeasty, even though it was appropriately cloudy and really foaming, but it had a surprising load of hops, which I think worked very well.

The Raspberry Wheat was a little thin, tasting like salty raspberry soda, but very drinkable if you like weisen beers. The Bear Naked Ale was a little heavy in solids, almost salty. The very, very dark Fat Scotsman Ale was heavily malted and appropriately sweet. The Snow Trout Stout was a little thin, with the expected burned malt taste. I didn't try the Blond, which is alledgedly their Bud-like.

The atmosphere is rustic pub in a lodge, very comfortable in a beautiful setting, with a good steak and seafood menu.

(06/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: The Irish Pub, Atlantic City, NJ

What is a real Irish pub doing in today's Atlantic City!?! A 75 year old, crusty old pub with good, really cheap, pub food, and a wide selection of beers to choose from (albeit a little heavy on the Budwaters of the world...). What a pleasant relief from the tinsel and clammer of the boardwalk. And it's only a 1/2 block away!

(03/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: Firewaters, Atlantic City, NJ

50 beers on tap! The service was great at the bar. They had 4 really interesting beers on special at $2, including Bellhaven Scotch Ale, Victory Fest Beer, and Weyerbacher Blanche. The food (snacks) comes from a counter at the next stall.

(03/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Blackstone Restaurant and Brewery, Nashville, TN

A nice American style pub with good pub food, well presented. The beers were interesting and some were drinkable. The obligatory "Bud-like" Chaser Pale was billed as a Koelsch but was overly sweet. The Nut Brown Ale and Maris Otter had good body and aftertaste. The Porter and Stout were surprisingly sweet, but the Porter had a good burned malt taste to back it up. The Red Springs Ale, a hoppy Pale Ale was quite drinkable.

(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great So So

Establishment: Market Street Grille was Bohannon Brewing Company, Nashville, TN

This downtown Nashville pub looks like a real English pub, right down to the handles for the hand pumps. You think you're in for a real English experience. But unfortunately, they have no English-type beers on tap. Even the pump handles are fake--they're attached to regular, pressurized taps. And the beer is served in ice-cold classes! The 6 beers they brewed were different from each other, but otherwise undistinguished. The Pale Ale and Red Ale had little body; the Pils was too malty and too high in alcohol--a strange sensation to have a pils taste perked up by extra alcohol. The Brown Ale and Porter were too sweet, but otherwize pleasant. We didn't stay for the food.

(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Big House Brewing Company, Albany, NY

My first impression was that this was a dying, down and dirty, beer joint, but it was only a facade caused by the extreme lack of repairs and scrubbing. Actually the food and beer were very good, but in a really gritty setting. The menu is typical pub food, but what I chose was very good, so I would not be reluctant to order anything. They had 9 beers on tap; quite a good array. I tried 6: The Wheat was very strongly berry-flavored but not weizen-like at all; almost like a wine-cooler. The Amber was pleasant and mild, not very exciting; a good beer for with food (like iced tea). The Pale Ale was extra hoppy (the barman said that they had recently decided to kick up the hops in all their beers; I like a lot of hops, but I'm not sure it is a good idea to do it to all beers.) So the PA tasted like an IPA, and was great. The IPA was somewhat over the top: so much hops that it had sort of an aromatic glow; I couldn't taste malt at all, it was overwhelmed. The Stout was sweetish but very smoky; kinda pleasant. The Porter had the body the Stout lacked: good bitterness with the flavor of the really toasted malt coming through without any smoky taste.

(03/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

It was great to find a bar in LV without slot machines everywhere! So my impression of this brewpub was very positive. We didn't have a chance to try the food, tho.

My overall impression is that the brewer is really trying to differentiate his beers from all the "5 colors of honey water" you find in these kit/extract startup microbreweries.

But I question the brewer's concept of adding excess hops to everything. I like hops a lot, but this is overdone.

The beers: High Roller Gold: a Budweiser by any other name should taste so bland. I guess every brewpub needs a Budlike for the non-beer drinkers.

Blackchip Porter: a mild porter, but with a medicinal taste, and too much hops!

Royal Red Lager: not at all what I expected. Malty, but not at all sweet, and too hoppy.

Double Bock: very toasty, high malt ale, spoiled by too much hops.

Marker Pale Ale: here's where the hops belong! But this pale ale was a little bland in flavor, other than too much hops.

I like hoppy beer, a lot! But I couldn't take more than a pint of any one of these.

The bartenders didn't have time to discuss the beers, and the descriptions on the beer list were written by a wedding chapel copywriter, I think.

(02/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Bube's Brewery, Mount Joy, PA

At least none of the beers were skunky last night, Carole! I think they are not really serious about making great beers, yet, but they do appreciate good beer, judging from the other beers on tap and in bottles. The five housemade beers on tap were generally a little bland, especially the Honey Cream Ale and Kolsch, but the ESB was not bad. Santa's Helper (7.4% alc.) was interesting, due to the spices which blended well with the tangy taste of the extra alcohol. In the Catacombs Restaurant (certainly a great visual experience--caves full of old beer vats, with tables and candles among them): I think they try too hard to make the food fancy: my crab/chicken dish didn't match the sauce at all. But the dishes are pretty, if a little dried out.

(01/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Long Valley Pub and Brewery, Long Valley, NJ

Awesome cask-conditioned 'Best Bitter' on the hand pump! I didn't think I could get an ale that good outside of England! So smooth! Just right! The pub menu is still great, and the service is excellent if somewhat risky, if you sit at the bar while Tom "Mudslinger" is presiding! The Best of the Wurst was burned to perfection: crunchy and brittle on the outside and full of roasted-in flavor on the inside. My compliments to the chef and the brewer!

(01/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Big House Grill, Albany, NY

This outlet for Big House Brewery is closed and up for sale! Alas, I'll have to visit the brewery itself, wherever that is..

(01/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Great

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

All of the beers on tap have distinct, usually good, characters; no “kit brewery” with malt extracts here! In general, each of the beers is sweeter than what I expected, but that is not a complaint. The Scottish Ale is just a sweet, pleasant BudLite type. Not bad. I guessed that this was the beer the happy hour crowd chose, but no (more about that below)! The Amber Ale was a good Scottish ale, a little light. The Quackenbush Blonde was OK--just beer, not special. This is the most popular beer; the happy hour people like it because it tastes the least like beer and the most like ice tea. It figures. This Hefeweisen was incredible! A major kick in the tastebuds from clove and coriander! Their (allegedly pilfered) yeast is gotta be working overtime!! The “Belgian Style” Strong Ale is surprisingly light (in color) ‘cause it’s actually a classic Trippel: sweet, heavy, and sneaky (9% rocket fuel). Every self-respecting microbrewery needs a Stout; they have Evans Extra Stout: I don’t know if it’s the original 1700’s recipe, but it was just another sweet, non-assertive stout (not nitrated). The de rigueur hoppy beer is the Pump Station Pale Ale: not only was it well hopped like an IPA, but also it was flavorful, with a hint of celery, like a young Chablis. Very good! I don’t understand what brown ales are for, they don’t fit into any category for me, but this one, the Kick Ass Brown, was much better than most, more aromatic malt base, with a surprising delivery of hops aftertaste. Not bad! I didn’t sample a lot of the food, but what I had was edible but a little strange; it probably reflects local tastes. The service is always good at the bar, and you can debate the beers while you taste them.

(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Big House Grill, Albany, NY

I haven't had the beers at the brewery, but I thought they were very well delivered here: fresh, tasty, and a good, diverse selection: I didn't try the Light: the barkeep said it was for Coors Lite people.

The Bootlegger Berry Wheat was not at all treacley, it tasted like a light, raspberry wine, crisp and delicious!

The Ale Capone Amber tasted like a typical american beer (you know who I mean): I think they boiled old shoes in the wort to give it that sour, dead, beery taste.

The Legs Diamond Pale Ale was very fresh, but fairly hoppy (you never know if a PA is going to be malty or hoppy!), just to my taste!

The Bad Boy Brown was a typical brown ale, very malty, cut with a high alcohol content, like brandy plus maple syrup (I'm not saying that is bad...)

Prohibition Porter was very pleasant, a full bodied porter with a lot of chocolate overtone, almost a dessert beer, but not sweet like a milk stout.

The Bonnie & Clyde IPA was my favorite: very hoppy, yet a fresh, fruity undertone.

Overall, I think they do a good job on a diverse selection of beers.

The food was good pub food; no complaints, except the portions were huge, and I couldn't finish it.

The service was great, but it almost always is when you sit at the bar.

(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Great Good

Establishment: Holiday Inn, Cortland, NY

It's hard to believe that a hotel bar in outter New York would have anything but Bud Light and Labatt's Blue on tap, but this new bar (just renovated) has 10 taps, with Boddington's, Newcastle Brown, Blue Moon (belgian white), Sierra Nevada PA, as well as de riguer Bud, Bud Lite, Coors Silver Nothing, and Labatt Blue. I salute their initiative and diversity!!

(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Which Brew, Easton, PA

This new beerbar has 10 great beers on tap and at least 40 in the coolers! They tend toward the BIG beers (Lunacy, Victory ESB, Weyerbacher Old Heathen, etc.) with emphasis on Belgians, Dark ales, and hoppy beers. An awesome selection! Almost all the food is prepared with a stong beer (Blanche Mussels, Redtail Ale Onion Stew, etc.) and is excellent! Which Brew is the creation of Kelly Jo Ditze, the former host of the late, lamented Weyerbacher pub. Her chef is Derek Randel, also late of Weyerbacher.

(06/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So Good

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

Ironically, the beer has gotten better (it has distinctive flavors now, and the musty taste is gone), but the food is much worse. It used to have good English pub food, but now it is bland and off taste--the beef and mushroom pie was sweet and flat, with no beef or stew taste. The roast beef was a cheap cut of tasteless beef with no roasting taste. Time for a new chef: keep the new brewer!

(03/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Buffalo Brew Pub / Brewing Company, Williamsville, NY

I think they must not have any interest in brewing beer. These beers shouldn't have been served. They should stick to commercial beers, or hire a brewer. The Lager was very, very bland. The Amber Ale was good and malty. The Autumn Alt had turned in the keg, I think; I hope it wasn't contagious. The Oatmeal Stout was mild but not offensive. The Raspberry Wheat had very little fruit taste and NO wheat (Weizen) taste.

(11/25/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.352 seconds) 08:36:25 54.166.105.24, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS