PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from doug kath
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 15, 2014 @ 10:15 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
doug kath

Beer Reviews
(54)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

54
Beer Reviews from doug kath
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, San Bruno, CA

Good food. Good service. Beers were about what you'd expect from a brewpub chain like this. Pretty much middle-of-the-road. Nothing too horrible, but nothing too memorable either. A good place to go to eat. Nothing here for a beer geek, though.

(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Tied House Cafe and Brewery, Mountain View, CA

This is a nice out-of-way brewpub. Food was very good and the service was first rate. Ah.... but the beer....well, that could have been significantly better. I had a sampler of 8 beers and overall they were pretty average. The Oatmeal Stout was not too bad and their Face Off Red was OK. The rest were rated quite low. As a restaurant, this place was very good. As a brewpub, it was only mediocre.

(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: ThirstyBear Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Stopped in for quick sampler when in town recently. Was able to try 9 different beers. Most were mediocre. None were really bad. A few that did stand out as being above average were: Howard Street IPA, Meyer ESB, and Koslov Stout. There are not too many organic brewpubs around. This was somewhat similar to a few others I have been to.

(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

I was looking forward to visiting Magnolia, as I had heard good things about it. Unfortunately I went in for a sampler and was told they weren't doing samplers that day. It looked like there were about 12 or so beers to choose from, but to my disappointment I was only able to try two of them, as I didn't have a ton of time to spend. The two I had were TweezerTrippel and Proving Ground IPA. Both were very good. It's too bad they were unwilling to accomodate their guests with samplers. I would have loved to have been able to try more.

(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: 21st Amendment Brewery, San Francisco, CA

I visited San Francisco recently from Michigan and I always try to vist as many local brewpubs as I can while traveling. (I've been to almost 200). This one was a little disappointing as far as the beers go. I had no problem at all with the food or service. The beers in my opinion were overall somewhat weak and bland. The one I did enjoy was Brew-Free or Die IPA. That was very good. Some of the others that I had that were only so-so were Trumer Pils, the watermelon ale, 563 Stout, 8th Anniversary Wheat, Schweick's English Mild and the Pomegranate Cider. Overall, a good place in a good location near the ball park. Just not so great with the beer.

(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

This definitely one of the better brewpubs in the Las Vegas area. Now, don't read too much into that because most of the others are not very good. However, the beers at Triple 7 generally seem to have more body to them and don't seem quite as light or watered down as most other establishments. Main Street Station, where the brewery is located is just a block or two off Fremont Street in the old part of town. Like many of the older hotels and casinos, this place has some character. Nice old style woodwork.

(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Tenaya Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Las Vegas, NV

Located several miles off the las Vegas strip, this place is more of a slightly upscale restaurant than a true brewpub. The beers are generally decent. Nothing outstanding, but certainly not terrible either.

(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Ellis Island Casino and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

The main reason you are reading this is because of the beers. OK -- the beers are pretty bland and lack much variety. That being said, this really isn't a bad place, unless you want a lot of bright lights and expensive decor. It's a small, off-the-strip casino, that is certainly not flashy, but not a bad place to spend some time. People are friendly, slots are usually pretty loose and it's just a short walk from some of the multi million dollar places you probably spend most of your time at.

(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Barley's Casino and Brewing Company, Henderson, NV

I have been to Barley's a couple of times. It's a nice, smaller place away from the hustle & bustle of the Las Vegas strip. Definitely a decent place, but the beers are mediocre at best. Light, watered down taste for the most part. Not horrible, but not a lot of body.

(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

It's unfortunate, but if one reads through these reviews of Copper Canyon, the one common thread in most of them is the service is quite poor. Yesterday was the 3rd time I have visted there (I guess I keep hoping it will get better) and every time is the same.....service is slow, wait staff is not too knowledegable about the beer, etc. The food is very standard, but quite overpriced. The beers are usually OK, nothing too great, but generally not horrible either. Occasionally they will have a sesonal that is above average. This could be a dynamite place to go, but sadly, it has more negative than positives.

(06/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Two Rows Restaurant and Brewery, Dallas, TX

The beer here is not great, but it is certainly not swill! I was in Dallas last week from Michigan and went to Two Rows for lunch. Sampled 7 different beers and most were above average. Unfortunately, they did not have a true IPA available the day I was there, but they did have a Titanic Barleywine which compares favorably to many others I've tried. The Wheat, Blonde and Porter were very ordinary (not bad, just OK). The rest (King Louis Ale, Jackhammer Ale and Route 66 Amber) were ones that I would have again. Services was top notch and the food was good with a nice variety on the menu.

(06/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewery, Webster, TX

Nice place. I sampled 7 diiferent beers and while none were outstanding, they were pretty good. Lots of choices on the menu. We had pizza, which was not bad. Server was excellent.

(06/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Humperdink's Restaurant and Brewery, Dallas, TX

I thought this was a decent place. True, more of a restaurant than a brewpub, but I had no complaints overall. I sampled 8 diffferent beers and they were generally quite good. Not outstanding, but good with a nice variety. Our server was very attentive and efficient. Good food with many choices on the menu.

(06/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Sports Brew Pub, Wyandotte, MI

I have been to Sports several times and have never been disappointed. I like this place. Good food with a variety of choices. The beer can tend to be a little inconsistent at times. Sometimes outstanding, other times not as good. I did have a Pale Ale there recently that was excellent.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Prairie Rock Brewing Company, Elgin, IL

I have been to well over 100 brewpubs and this one wins the prize for the absolute WORST service I have ever encountered. They were seating parties that arrived after we did. I ordered a sampler, and waited almost 1/2 hour for it to get to the table. Waited another 1/2 hour for our food to arrive. Overheard other tables complaining about the service also. There was some manager type guy prancing around the room, but wouldn't come near our table. (I think he knew we were pissed, so he just avoided us.) Overall the beers were pretty decent and the food was good, when we finally got it. But the horrible service has ruined any chances for me to ever go back to Prairie Rock. Unless you have an extra 3 hours to spend having dinner, I would avoid this place.

(06/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Trailhead Brewing Company, Saint Charles, MO

I thought Trailhead was a decent place on a recent visit there. Quaint location and an interesting building. No real complaints. Good food and good service. The beer was better than I expected, though not outstanding. I think they do a pretty good job.

(06/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Flat Branch Pub and Brewing, Columbia, MO

I have been to over 100 brewpubs and was pleasantly surprised at this one. The food was very good with a nice selection to choose from. I cannot say enough about the service. Our server was outstanding. He was very efficient and attentive, without being overbearing. And last, but certainly not least...the beer. Had a sample of 11 different beers and overall would rate them well above average (Although they can keep the Green Chili beer). Good mix of light and dark beers, with nice flavors to most of them. Highly recommended.

(06/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Wallaby's Grille and Brewpub, Medina, OH

No complaints about this place. Better than I expected. Food, Service and Beer were all very good. What else is there?

(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Canton, OH

Outstanding selection of beers available. Most were pretty good despite the hokey names (Old Leghumper Porter, Dog Drool Stout) My favorites were Cask Nut Brown Ale and Golding's Retriever Pale Ale.

(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Smoky Mountain Brewery, Gatlinburg, TN

Was pleasantly surprised by this establishment. Was better than I expected. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was very enjoyable. I rated most of the beers (had a sampler of 7) quite good, except for the Brown Trout Stout. Just didn't care for that one.

(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Sevierville, TN

Did not have food here. Just stopped for a sampler of six beers. Was disappointed in the Mad Wolf IPA and the Bear Bottom Stout. Neither would rate any better than mediocre in my opinion. Ten point ale seemed to have the best flavor and the Golden eagle was good also. Waiter was very good who spent time with us talking about beer.

(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Arrowhead Brewing Company, Maumee, OH

Don't go on a Sunday. They're CLOSED! Found that out the hard way. The beers were not quite as good as I was expecting. In my opinion, the Side Cut Dunkel Weizen was the best. Food was OK, nothing special. Service needed improving. I kind of liked this place better when it was Bavarian Brewing.

(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So So So

Establishment: Buffalo Wild Wings Grill and Bar, Westland, MI

I first visited Fire Academy about a year ago and was not impressed. I wen again yesterday and things have not improved much. The beer is better than it was, although several remain somewhat bland. Our table ordered 3 medium burgers and they were all well done. Waitresses are friendly but very slow. The fire house memoribilia and decor make this an interesting place to look around, but I wouldn't go for the food or the beer.

(08/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Lighthouse Depot, Saint Joseph, MI

Service was horrible. After the waitress took our drink orders, we waited almost 20 minutes until we saw her again. When we mentioned it, she got a real attitude. The beers were fair, at best. The Red Sky Ale and the St. Joseph Pilsner were OK and the IPA was tolerable. The others (Oatmeal Stout, Rapsberry Wheat, Light and Sunset Wheat) were either bland or just poorly brewed. The food here was also disappointing.

(08/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Royal Oak Brewery, Royal Oak, MI

The food and beers were average. The Wheat beer was probably the best one, but even that was lacking something. Overall, a mediocre experience.

(07/30/1999)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.134 seconds) 22:15:53 54.166.65.9, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS