PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from doug browder
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 24, 2014 @ 04:02 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
doug browder

Beer Reviews
(16)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

16
Beer Reviews from doug browder
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great So So

Establishment: Streets of New York Brewery was Uptown Brewery, Tempe, AZ

I moved from Phoenix a couple of years ago. At the time, this place had one of the best balanced and hoppiest IPA's around (my favorite ale), so when business brought me back, I eagerly planned my dinner around quaffing a few. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!!!!!!!! The beers here now are horrible, competing head to head with the likes of Budweiser for number of defects and lack of taste/pizzazz/flavor/redeeming qualities. I sat at the bar and when I told the bartender he had made a mistake becasue I had ordered an IPA, he said, "this is an IPA." He confided that the beers were no way as good as they used to be. They had been through two brewers since my last visit. In fact, he confided he wouldn't drink there; he goes to 4-Peaks. If this place was ever on your beer list, cross it off. On the other hand, if all you want is something to eat, the food is very good. I'm still on my quest for a decent IPA brewed in Arizona. Next month I'm off to Flagstaff.........

(08/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pelican Pub and Brewery, Pacific City, OR

Serendipity brought us to this ocean side oasis and the beer kept us longer than we intended. Beautiful views and really good, well balanced hoppy ales made for a great afternoon. Next visit to the Oregon coast, we will PLAN to visit.......

(08/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: McMenamins Edgefield, Troutdale, OR

Magical place with one of the best IPA's I have had...I love hops! Unfortunately, the IPA is only one of several that seem to whimsically alternate on the menu. Staying here was one of the most satisfying vacation experiences I have ever had. If you are wavering, MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS NOW!

(08/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Firehouse Brewing Company, Rapid City, SD

Good but not great beer and food. The ales definitely could use some more hops. Nice open air patio to sit and enjoy a warm evening.

(08/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Tucson, AZ

Place has been closed down. Tucson has now lost two brew pubs in 6 months.

(02/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Jerome Brewery, Jerome, AZ

It's hard to figure out just who this place is trying to appeal to. Heavy picnic table style seating upstairs and game room atmosphere in the street level barroom. Tried two beers. The stout was a little thin on flavor and body. The dark wheat was flavorful and a much better choice. Service was slow, and we were there at off peak hours. They do provide you with a sample taste of their wares if you ask, but it's in a small, flimsy throwaway plastic cup, which could be the emblematic. A most forgetable experience.

(10/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

Pretty decent pale ale, but a little short on hops for my taste. Wheat beer was well made and structured. All wood interior equals shouting to be heard at your table. Food was adequate--slightly better than most pub fare. This is the only place for a decent hoppy ale in Prescott.

(10/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

CELEBRATION ALE!!!!!! Best Beer ever made. Next season, I'm going to buy up the entire city of Tucson's allotment...

(07/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant, San Francisco, CA

Arrived at dinner time on a recent Friday night. The place was jammed with yuppie types and the staff was running, but still very friendly and helpful. We had good food and a sampler of beers, all of which were also good, though not top notch. My favorite (being a real hop head) was the Elevation ESB, which should satisfy most lovers of well balanced and big ales. GREAT views and a wonderful place to watch the sun go down.

(07/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy N/A So So N/A

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

I was very disappointed that a recent brewery mishap limited my choice of brews to only two. I really like hops, so I tried the cask conditioned IPA. It was not as hoppy as I like, but well balanced with a nice bittersweet aftertaste. We visited on a Sunday afternoon. The place was not too busy but our server was mostly indifferent to our presence. Will visit again on my next trip when, hopefully, they will have a full complement of beers to choose among. I don't have enough information to give a fair overall rating.

(07/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Hoffbrau Steaks and Brewery, Dallas, TX

Be aware that I love ales--the hoppier the better--and this place doesn't measure up to an ale lover's standard. The server suggested the Amber as their hoppiest and it was disappointing, even as an amber. Regarding the food: I was going to order a chicken fried steak until I found out they don't serve it with mashed potatoes!! Had a New York Strip that was adequate. My dining mates liked the rib platter and the fish and chips. When I return to Dallas, I won't be returning to this place.

(04/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Smuggler's Brewpub and Grille, Telluride, CO

We were there on a slow weekday afternoon when the wait staff seemed more interested in the locals and maybe co-employees than in customers. Mediocre IPA lacked enough hops for true IPA lovers. Barley wine was well balanced with good flavors.

(03/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Tucson, AZ

Beer is terrible-- I don't think they know what hops are.

(12/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Pusch Ridge Brewing, Tucson, AZ

The beer just keeps getting better. The Lizard Killer IPA is as good as any you will find in the country. Guest pour right now is Sierra Nevada Celebration Ale. Do your own "head to head" taste test -- first choice will be really hard. Also on tap is Old Pueblo Stout. I admit I'm not a big stout drinker, but this one is delicious. Big flavors and body without a lot of burnt ashes taste that I usually associate with this brew. Real smooooooth and creamy. A great neighborhood bar that deserves a few more visits from people that like good beer because they make the best in town.

(12/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Flagstaff Brewing Company, Flagstaff, AZ

Of the Flagstaff Brewpubs, this place makes the best beers by far. Especially good was the American Pale Ale which rivals an IPA for good hoppy flavors and aromas.

(10/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Pusch Ridge Brewing, Tucson, AZ

The IPA and the guest taps (Nimbus Palo Verde Pale Ale) are the best pours in Tucson for "hop heads".

(08/24/1998)














(0.248 seconds) 04:02:23 174.129.103.100, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS