PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from douglas j. cox
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 24, 2014 @ 06:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
douglas j. cox

Beer Reviews
(17)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

17
Beer Reviews from douglas j. cox
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Coopersmith's Pub and Brewing, Fort Collins, CO

Being a graduate of CU, and having lived in Boulder for 16 years, it is hard for me to admit it, but Ft. Collins has awesome brewpubs, and Coopersmiths, while perhaps not the best in the area, is certainly in keeping with the excellence I have found at nearly every Ft. Collins Brewpub I have had the pleasure to hoist a few at. By the way, don't get too cocky you Aggies...the Buffs will get you next year.

(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Alcatraz Brewing Company, Littleton, CO

(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Denver ChopHouse and Brewery, Denver, CO

The only complaint I have about this place is that they actually have a beer called "Red Wing." I mean, this is Colorado, home of the Avalanche. Why name a beer after those guys from Detroit?

(03/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Sandlot Brewery, Denver, CO

Hey, what can I say? The beer is generally lousy, but ITS RIGHT IN COORS FIELD!!! Accordingly, the best (and perhaps only) good thing about this place is location. But ya can't beat the location. Still, if you're looking for decent brew, you're actually better off going to one of the numerous beer stands located throughout beautiful Coors Field (or Coors Canaveral to you altitude junkies and homer fans)that sell "Beers Of the World" which include local micro's (of which I'm partial to the Left Hand Porter, Fat Tire Ale, Oasis Stout, and most of the brews from the Rockies Brewing Company in Boulder...Oh yeah..try the Elle's Brown from Avery)

(09/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Denver, CO

The beer is identical to the Walnut Brewery in Boulder. I assume this is because they are both owned by Frank Day. The best of the selection is the Brown Ale. Other than the Brown Ale, no real outstanding beers here. The food is standard bar fare, perhaps a little above the nachos/chicken wings/burgers stuff, but not much. The best thing about this place is the usually good crowd of attractive Rocky Mountain professional babes that tend to inhabit this joint on Friday afternoons.

(09/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Champion Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Pretty lame beer overall. The Brown Ale ain't awful. The food is average at best. Basically an average sports bar, but in a good location in the Larimer Square area of Denver.

(09/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Falling Rock Tap House, Denver, CO

Beer lover's heaven. HUGE selection of both draft and bottled beers.

(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Twisted Pine Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

Try the brown. One of the best of the Colorado locals.

(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Trout Creek Brewing Company, Fairplay, CO

I love the Porter...a lot.

(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub, Idaho Springs, CO

I wasn't overly impressed with the beer, although I understand they've won a few awards at the GABF (I think it was a silver for the Bock...I might be wrong). The brown ale isn't too bad if you like a really sweet beer, but darned if I could drink more than one (it's like trying to eat way too much chocolate out of one of those Whitman samplers or something). Still, it's a fun place to stop on the way back down I-70 after a day of skiing.

(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: New Belgium Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

I wasn't even aware that they had a brewpub, although their beer (found throughout Colorado in bottles) is consistently good. I think it has now become "hip" to settle into a bar stool at most front range bars and casually order a "Fattie" (i.e. a "Fat Tire") so that you look like a local and not a tourist.

(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Amicas Pizza and Microbrews, Salida, CO

A real pleasant surprise in the little town of Salida. Not that Salida is a bad town, it's just that it's up in the mountains and off the beaten track. I was there on a business trip about a year ago and was real happy I found this place instead of settling for Domino's while watching HBO on the motel TV.

(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Hubcap Brewery And Steakhouse, Vail, CO

Nothing special about this place, other than the fact that it's in Vail. There are far better, albeit more expensive, places to eat in Vail. Kind of a funky place with lots of metal on the walls. It's hard to describe the atmosphere, or lack thereof, found in this joint.

(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Denver ChopHouse and Brewery, Denver, CO

Decent beer and awesome food. Try the mashed potatoes, the portabello mushrooms, the lobster pot pie, and those big ol' onion rings. Nice place to take out of towners before a game at beautiful Coors Field which is about a 10 second walk away.

(09/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Crested Butte Brewery and Idle Spur Grill, Crested Butte, CO

Whether a tourist or a Colorado native, you should check out this place. Crested Butte is a terrific little ski town to start with (not too "Hollywood" like Aspen or Vail, but regular Colorado, like Steamboat Springs if you know what I mean) and the Idle Spur really compliments the Crested Butte experience. It has got a great atmosphere, kinda ski lodge cozy, and the beers are darn good. My buddies and I drink a bomber of the White Buffalo Ale before all University of Colorado Buffalo footballs games as both a good luck ritual and as a chance to drink a really good beer.

(09/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

Very "Boulder-like" experience. A favorite amongst the Deadhead, Phish wannabe types. It's worth the trip simply to check out the crowd. The beer brewed on premises is decent, although not awesome. They usually have a good selection of local "guest beers."

(09/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

The best brewpub in Colorado by far. I would also say that it is the best overall brewpub I have visited, although I figure I've got to try a few more throughout the country before I say it's the best anywhere.

(09/14/1998)














(0.231 seconds) 18:10:53 174.129.74.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS