PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from don pitcher
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 21, 2014 @ 05:18 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
don pitcher

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from don pitcher
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Great

Establishment: Brickskeller, Washington, DC

My take is that as echoed by many of the other postings here: go for the beer selection, not the food or for elegant atmosphere. It did also seem that they were out of about 50% of what my party was wanting to try, but as too pointed out previously, that could be more blame of the distributors and not the establishment. It IS a place to check out and say that you've been to.

(08/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: North Coast Brewing Company, Fort Bragg, CA

Have never been to the brewery but have sampled a good deal of their product and it IS better than most. High marks go to Red Seal Ale, especially if you can find a place that has it on tap. But if you really wish to treat yourself, search up their Anniversary Ale that is aged in old Jack Daniel's casks. The blend of the ale and the bourbon flavor is not to be missed! Even at $11+ for a 750ml bottle, you won't regret it.

(08/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Mishawaka Brewing Company, Mishawaka, IN

Made the 2 hour drive to check the place out after reading the comments listed here. Ordered the Four Horsemen but rather than "hop city," got a rather bland brew. The IPA was better by greeting you with a sharpness on your tongue, but dissipated into a slight watery taste. I wisely only had a sip of the Honey Oatmeal Ale after overhearing a staff member mention it as being overly sweet. VERY watery, tame with no bite or body. The Apricot Wheat had a slight tartness to it and an abrupt finish. I was happiest with the Founder's Stout which bettered with some warming. Body wasn't as heavy of a stout as I prefer, but had a distinct enough taste to be able to roll about your mouth some. My advice would be to go for some samples first thing on your arrival. I felt that they made their brews a bit on the "safe" side as to not offend the Budweiser too much. The food was mostly unspectacular of what we tried. Scotch Eggs were good, as were the stuffed Breadsticks. Club sandwich was suffered from too much bland cheese & mayo, while the sauce caked onto their ribs was overpoweringly sweet, especially if you're one who prefers a tangier BBQ.

DID find a fair package store just a block or two to the west on the corner of Grape & Edison. Better than normal import selection and several micros on hand.

(08/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY

My ratings are just based on being able to sample the Ommegang and the Hennepin. I was VERY impressed with the Ommegang I must say and with factoring in the price (aprox. $4.50 for 750 ml) it is one awesome (!) buy. They've got the right idea going here and this is the closest I've encountered in the States for meeting the Belgium style in taste & body. Try it -- at the price you can't afford not to!

(08/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

Just reading the posts here has left me open mouthed, pleading for the taste of their homebrewed Belgiums. Been there only twice but I can so strongly remember that Resurrection...just nectar, pure nectar. Everything else I sampled was aces as well (Cherry ale went down great on a hot day), but the Rez couldn't be beat for me! These guys do the Belgium thing up right. Food was excellent; the only "non-awesome" thing being the price. Duck into this place if ever in town. Believe me, you won't regret it!

(08/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Knickerbocker Saloon, Lafayette, IN

No one yet has mentioned the fact that you can catch some GREAT live blues & jazz here on the weekends. Good mix of clientele in a place that retains a bit of its 1800's wooden decor. Ample selection on hand ranges from Belgium ales to fine English stouts. The wait staff is always stand-out. Even on a busy night they are usually on top of the game, knowledgeable of the brews, and always bring you a fresh glass with your bottle. Plus they don't rudely kick you out at 3:00 AM's last call! My highest respect goes to this establishment - a great place to escape off to any night of the week.

(08/01/1999)














(0.12 seconds) 17:18:45 54.163.139.36, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS