PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from don pfeiffer
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 26, 2014 @ 02:16 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
don pfeiffer

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from don pfeiffer
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Thunder Bay Brewing Company was Alcatraz Brewing, Auburn Hills, MI

I had lunch here today. Do not make a special trip. The beer is non descript lacking flavor and body. I had the IPA and Porter. Not worth a second visit with all ther really good beer in Michigan.

(07/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Royal Oak Brewery, Royal Oak, MI

I only had the anaversary ale and it was great... If the rest of the beers are this good then they are ok....

Service needs a little help. If you are not a regular they sort of just look the other way.

(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Good So So

Establishment: Bastone, Royal Oak, MI

Very trendy place. The supposed to be belgain beers were not very close. Very bland and not many to choose from. Food is over priced and again trendy. I do not think they will be around very long with this quality. It is more about being seen and what you are wearing and not about the beer or the food at all. Belgain beers are my favorite and I drink them all the time and brew them myself and I have done a ton of resurch on them and I would suggest that do the same.

(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Arcadia Brewing Company, Battle Creek, MI

I only rated it good this time becouse I have been there several times since my list review an the IPA is not what it used to be. Little to no hop aroma or flavor. They said that the fining they have been using mask the hop flavor. I hope they either change the fining soon or add more hops. but this is still one my favorite places.

(06/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Redwood Lodge, Flint, MI

IPA is not as good as it was a year or two ago. No hop aroma at all but a good hop flavor, so it is still not to bad. The Belgian is below ave. The Brown Porter is very good and probably the best they have. Swartzbier is also very good. The food is always good but the service could be better. But if in Flint this is a must stop.

(03/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Rochester Mills Beer Company, Rochester, MI

Unlike the other reviews I found this place to be the anti brewery. It is very nice inside but the quality of the beer an the knowledge about it is not very good. The IPA has no hop aroma and very little flavor. The Milk stout was ok but the other was awful. The ESB had no malt flavor at all. The only drinkable beer there was the Belgian that the bartender insisted on calling a couble bock. ah.. that is German not Belgian I said.. she said take it up with brewer. It is a shame that the beer is not even close to the Detroit Beer co. that they also own. Maybe the brewer there can save this one. So if you want to hang out in a very nice place (and it is nice) but, have well below ave. beer this is the place for you. Otherwise go someplace else.

(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant, Kalamazoo, MI

It is now safe to go to the OP. Gonzo and his so called beers are gone and the brewer from the now closed Mystic is there. The only reason Mystic closed was ownership not the beer. So they no for the first time have an IPA that is very good. The Red is now real beer not just colored water. It is now worth the trip if you are in the area. The service is a little slow but, I will wait an extra min or two for Dan's IPA.

(03/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

I have been here several times and it is always great. The IPA is one of the best anywhere. This time I had the Nut Brown and the Porter, both were outstanding. Service is always great. They have sandwich and soup and they are always good. And all the peanuts you can eat and throw the shells on the floor. You cannot go wrong here.

(03/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Maumee Bay Brewing Company, Toledo, OH

I live in Toledo and wish we had a real brewery but this all we have. The only good beer they have is the IPA cask. The rest are below ave. Service is always slow and the food is ok. The complex is very cool, a 19th century building with a ton of charm. Too bad the beer does not live up to that.

(03/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

I had all the beers and they are all very good. The IPA and the Red stood out from the rest. I had a Pizza and it was very good and the bartender was great. This is the best brewery downtown. I will be back.

(03/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

The only truly good beer they have is the IPA. They had a Scotch ale last time I was there but it was more like a bad ESB. Service is very very slow and the food is just ok.

(03/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Bonfire Bistro and Brewery, Northville, MI

While it is a little trendy inside for me some of the beer is very good. They have two Cask ales. The Bitter on cask was outstanding. The other beers were solid. You know when a place has cask brew that they take is seroius. When you first walk in you think that the beer might be secondary. But it is not. Keep up the good work.

(02/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Black Forest Brau Keller, Frankenmuth, MI

Good solid brewery. They need a little more beer on tap. But other than that the beer is very good. The place could use some atmosphere but all we really care about is the beer right???

(02/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Arcadia Brewing Company, Battle Creek, MI

This is one of the best places in Michigan, top 3 and in the top 90% nation wide. Every beer I have ever had has been great. The service is outstanding and food is very good also while not fancy.... It is worth going out of your way to visit.

(02/23/2004)














(0.21 seconds) 02:16:01 54.166.110.247, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS