PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from don leaman
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 21, 2014 @ 05:15 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
don leaman

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from don leaman
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Goodnight Irene's Brew Pub, Wildwood, NJ

This is really not a brew pub. They do have many beers on tap though. The beers on tap were four dollars a pop when we went. Bottled beers were five dollars a bottle. They had some interesting beers on tap such as hazed and infused, arrogant bastard, and purple haze to name a few. We ate outside on their picnic tables. There were four of us and we each ordered a different small pizza. The pizzas were very good. Kudos to our waiter Ed who served us. Beers were brought to you quickly, and the pizzas arrived one right after the other. The four of us had a fun night and we would deffinitely return for a future visit.

(08/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill, Toms River, NJ

My wife and I have eaten here three times in the last few weeks. It is only a couple of miles from our house so it is quite convenient. They have a great early bird special for only 12 dollars. It includes bread, soup, salad, entree, desert, and your choice of tea, coffee, or a soft drink. The food is good in my opinion so it would be worth a trip even if it was not a brewpub. Now to the beer. On tuesdays and thursdays they have six dollar pitchers which is quite a good deal. My favorite is the pale ale. Unfortunately they were out of it on our last visit. They were also out of the nut brown which was going to be my next choice. I opted for the Hefe which was acceptable but not great. The only other beers they had available was the red which I do not like that much or the lite which I have never tried but would not drink just on principle alone. So if you are going for the beer alone, you might be a little dissapointed especially if the selection is limited as it has been lately. However, if you want a good meal with some good beer at a reasonable price this is the place. P.S. Nick our waiter did a nice job.

(10/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Wilmington, DE

Appears to be a very well run operation. It is large and clean. The restrooms are spotless. The food is very good and reasonably priced. I had the 8 beer sampler for 6 dollars. The glasses were four ouncers. All of the beers were good. Some better then others. There is something here for everybody. We worked up a good apetite taking a walk along the river. The brewski burger was really good and cooked to my specifications. We all agreed that this was one of if not the best brewpubs that we have dined at.

(03/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Galway Bay, Annapolis, MD

Not as touristy as the pubs around the dock area. The Inn keepers at the B&B we were staying at said it was their favorite Irish pub.

This is an authentic Irish restaurant pub in Annapolis. They have a tavern ale which is brewed by Old Dominion. The food and atmosphere are very good. Away from Main Street and the dock area where the other Irish pubs are located. Good food prices and good service.

(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company, Annapolis, MD

This was our first trip to Annapolis. We stayed in a B&B and I did my research on where to go for happy hour.I could not have hit upon a better place. Two dollar pints. The tavern ale was aces with me. The genuis stout (nitrogenated) was really smooth. They are doing some renewal on West Street, so you have to dodge construction work as you move down the street. It is well worth it though. Free mussels on Tuesday at 5 P.M. Roast beef on Wednesday. We left town though so I missed the German sausages on Thursday. Things to do. Get back on a Thursday and try the copper ale next time. P.S. My wife and I both enjoyed the service we received from Cindy who was tending bar at the time.

(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Independence Brew Pub, Philadelphia, PA

When in Philly this is always our second stop after the Nodding Head. The place always seems to be empty. I know there have been some mixed reviews, but to be honest the place is not that bad. The beers are good and the food is even better. Prices are reasonable. If memory serves me you can get the beer of the day at a reduced rate all day long. On the day we stopped the Amish had brought their chickens, turkeys, and assorted other livestock to the Reading terminal. It was a hoot to hear a rooster crowing as we rounded the corner to go to the Independence. One strange note though. My wife and I both thought it was a little odd to have cheap brown paper covering all the white table cloths on all the tables. If you are afraid that we will mess up the nice table cloths, then get rid of them.

(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

We have been here before. This place has a personality all it's own. The food is decent, but I come here for the beer. I really love the BPA. I think it's a notch above other tavern ales I have tried. My wife pointed out that the place needs a good dusting. I told her that good beer makes it all good.

(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Boston, MA

Stop # 4 on our visit to the brewpubs of Boston was the Rock Bottom on the evening of the 5th of June. We had been here before and liked the food and ale. The food was good. I had the sampler which was good. I thought the IPA was especially good. So much so that we took a growler with us and carted it around on the T for the rest of the night. The waitress was new and a little inexperienced. She did try hard though and that was appreciated by us. The surroundings make for some enjoyable eating and quaffing. I will visit again. #2 behind John Harvard as our favorite brewpub in Boston.

(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Cambridge Brewing Company, Incorporated, Cambridge, MA

Brew Pub stop # 3 was the Cambridge Brewery on the 5th of June. We got there a little before 12 for lunch. They were just getting things ready. We were told by the waiter that they had a big MIT party the night before that ran to 3 A.M. so they were all a bit ragged. It showed. The bathroom could have used a good cleaning, as well as the rugs in the restaurant. Maybe I got them on a bad day, because my IPA seemed as flat as the Kansas prarie. My wife and daughter liked their brews, but they are easy to please. The food was O.K. I don't think I would go out of my way to visit this brew pub again.

(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Boston Beer Works - North Station, Boston, MA

Well stop #2 on our trip to Boston was the Beer Works on Canal. We sat outside as it was a nice evening. The food was good. My wife was brought the wrong meal. This was quickly corrected. The beer was O.K. Nothing out of the ordinary. I'll go back if I am close to Canal Street and thirsty.

(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Cambridge, MA

Well we were back in Boston on the weekend of June 4th, 5th, and 6th. I agreed to follow my wife around if she would let us eat at all the brew pubs. John Harvards was our first stop for lunch on the 4th. My wife, daughter and I all liked our meals. Our waiter didn't even write the order down. He committed it to memory and there were no errors. I had the sampler. I am particularly fond of the IPA. The surroundings are pleasant with a large stained glass window at one end of the establishement. Out of the four brewpubs we visited, this was our favorite. We will be back.

(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lion Brewery, Wilkes-Barre, PA

I have been drinking Brewery Hill and Pocono brands for some time now. The Pale Ale is tops. I rate it up there with Sierra Nevada.

(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Cambridge, MA

My wife loved her salmon dinner. I thought the ribs were great. We both had the sampler. I thought all the beers were excellent. Took back 3 growlers to New Jersey. The pale ale, the red, and the nut brown. The server was knowledgeable and attentive. I would definitely go back for a return visit.

(10/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Hilltop Brewing Company and Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA

My wife and I helped our daughter move to Virginia Beach. We found Hilltop by accident. We had a nice lunch there. We have been back for two more visits. My daughter stops by every now and then. I appreciate someone who attempts to bring something to an area which is lacking that special something. Of course I am speaking of brewpubs. So I would encourage you folks in the Virginia Beach area to be supportive of Dale's efforts. I will be down visiting my daughter on Oct. 5th and 6th. I hope to have time to stop in.

(09/25/2002)














(0.508 seconds) 17:15:05 54.226.7.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS