PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from don diamant
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 22, 2014 @ 05:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
don diamant

Beer Reviews
(12)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

12
Beer Reviews from don diamant
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Owen O'Leary's, Natick, MA

The beers were all lacking in body so I didn't even bother trying the light beer. I think the stout may have been the worst stout I have ever tried that wasn't infected, and some of the infected stouts I have tried are better. The saving grace was that at least the IPA was hoppy making the weak body tolerable. Many of the surrounding towns do not allow smoking in the bars so this one crowds with smokers and will drop a non-smoker fast. This place is overall okay but definately not worth traveling any distance, even across the street, just for their beer. There are just too many places to get good beer to bother with this place for beer.

(03/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Biddy Mulligan's, Dover, NH

Best selection of beers on tap in Dover, NH. A nice little place. If a non-smoker this place can drop you fast.

(10/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Dostal Alley Brew Pub and Casino, Central City, CO

There's no place like Dostal Alley, literally. The bar has an old west deco which is cool, the restaurant area is spartan with gaming machines nearby. The food isn't worth the trip, the beers are. The brewmaster here knows his stuff. We were very fortunate to visit on a brewing day. There is no better way to enjoy a good glass of beer than with the scent of boiling wort wafting about one's nose. If you're in the area and enjoy good microbrews it's worth stopping in.

(06/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Schirf Brewing Company was Wasatch Brew Pub, Park City, UT

They have a satellite at the airport. I had a lay over and found this little delite in the terminal! Every airport needs a little brewpub. I tried their Hefeweizen, what a great beer. This is the best Hefeweizen I have had in the US period. If you are in the airport and have the time I suggest stopping by, it's worth finding.

(06/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Bitter Creek Alehouse, Boise, ID

They have a very nice outdoor cafe setup out on the sidewalk. The food was great and so was the service. The beer selection was pretty good, more than the typical bud, bud clone, bud light, bud light clone, and a microbrew on tap you see in most places. I tried a couple of cold brews one from Seatle and the other from Portland, OR. I was not impressed. The Rogue Brutal Bitter had the nastiest case of chill haze I think I've ever seen, a little off flavored too. The other beer I tried wasn't terribly good either, it tasted like bananas it shouldn't have tasted so, the name escapes me. I had heard so many northwesterners rave about how great their microbrews are. I am beginning to think they are delusional.

(06/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Tablerock Brewpub and Grill, Boise, ID

A nice comfortable place to grab a bite to eat and have a few brews. Their beers aren't particularly noteworthy but none of them were bad. If you were to compare them to Northwest beers they are actually very good. I was not impressed with the northwest beers in general that I tried.

(06/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Moat Mountain Smokehouse and Brewing Co, North Conway, NH

What a feast! They fed us enough for three meals, couldn't finish more than half of it. The food was very good, some of the best in the area. Seven beers on tap and all at least were good. The stout is excellent. All of their darker beers were very good. The lager was a little fruity and the pilsner had a hint of fruitiness to it too. Keep to the darker beers and you will be pleased. Unless of course you are a domestic swill drinker, then you'd likely think all the beers are too heavy.

(07/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Milly's Tavern was Stark Mill Brewing, Manchester, NH

I read quite a few bad reviews and I'm rather perplexed, I think this place is great. The service was fast and friendly and the food was great. The beers I tried were all at least good and most were great. Are the rest of you certian you are reviewing the right brewpub?

(10/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Good

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

Don't let the quasi-western deco and the yuppie air scare you away, this place has a large selection of good microbrews on tap. This place has more vegetarian dishes on the menu than any where I've been before but what few items with meat that they do have is excellent. If you are a non-smoker you are out of luck here. The dining room surrounds the bar so thier non-smoking section is pointless.

(10/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Boston, MA

We were in the theater district to see a performance. Brew Moon was conveniently nearby. The food was excellent and the prices were very reasonable. The restaurant was interestingly decoured but quite functional. The beers ranged from not good to good. I recommend staying away from their light beers unless you think Budwieser is wonderful. Their darker beers were nicely hopped but lacked body, still, I would say they are good.

(06/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Great

Establishment: Martha's Exchange Brewing Company, Nashua, NH

They promised eight of their own beers but only delivered four. It must have been a bad day. Martha's Exchange does not look like your typical brewpub, it has a typical bar but, the restaurant has a nicely themed Greco-look, it also has a candy shoppe. The beers (what I could try) were hoppier than most versions of the styles. If I had to name their best available it would be the pale ale. The brown ale is not the best interpretation of a brown ale that I have had it was lacking in body and over-hopped. I also tried their interpretation of a HefeWeizen. It was unfiltered which is how a HefeWeizen should be presented but, this was a very hazy beer. I could not see through the beer. It had lemon added to it. Surprisingly, it had a pleasent taste. The Scotch ale though, not as full bodied as I like it to be, was a good interpretation. Our service was good and the food was very good. Prices on beer were typical but the food was reasonably priced.

(05/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Gritty McDuff's, Portland, ME

The fish and chips were fantastic! The service was great, friendly people as are the patrons. The beer was great, I had the sampler, and all were atleast very good. The stout is the best I've had yet that wasn't Guiness. I'm no big fan of berry beers but I could have been content to drink thier rasberry wheat all night long. If this isn't Portland's, or Maine's, best brewpub then please, let me in on the secret of which brewpub is the best.

(02/11/2000)














(0.194 seconds) 05:28:22 54.197.111.87, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS