PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from don grage
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 12:23 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
don grage

Beer Reviews
(32)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

32
Beer Reviews from don grage
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Southend Brewery and Smokehouse, Charleston, SC

A great brewpub in an awesome old building -- three floors, open all the way to the top with pool/cigars and an extra bar on the top floor. We really enjoyed the beer selection as well as the food and service. I highly recommend it if you're in Charleston.

(01/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

The beer was ok, nothing special. We didn't eat, but the service was great and it was a fun place to hang out.

(01/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Laguna Hills, CA

Another fine entry in this chain. Fun place, great atmosphere, stylish architecture/decor, good live entertainment, excellent food, and decent beer -- they only make four or five kinds but they make them all well. And most importantly, Laguna Hills really needed a brewpub!

(01/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Laguna Hills, CA

Another fine entry in this chain. Fun place, great atmosphere, stylish architecture/decor, good live entertainment, excellent food, and decent beer -- they only make four or five kinds but they make them all well. And most importantly, Laguna Hills really needed a brewpub!

(01/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bistro Belgique Gourmande, Occoquan, VA

What a place! Although not a beer bar, it's a true, European dinner experience in the setting of a quaint house in old town Occoquan. They book the tables only once per night, and they expect you to hang around all evening enjoying their fine food and selection of 60-70 Belgian beers. If you like Belgian beer, you won't regret going out of your way to get here and making an entire night of it!

(11/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

The cask-conditioned Oatmeal Stout was truly wonderful, much better than the standard stout (different recipe). Overall most of the beers were great, with only a couple exceptions. They also have a very impressive list of 10 or so guest beers, which were primarily high quality imports not readily available on tap in the U.S. The food looked great; too bad we weren't hungry!

(11/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Very good British and Irish ales, and the food was good, too. There are typically several cask conditioned selections, but none were available among the 7 tasty house beers on tap when I was there in late July. It's right in the heart of the Haight district and well worth a visit... I'll be back to try the cask beers!

(09/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Liberty Street Brewing Company, Akron, OH

All the beers were good; I especially liked the Scotch Ale and the Stout -- both were excellent. Great Cajun/Creole food too.

(09/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Betelnut, San Francisco, CA

Excellent food -- eclectic and spicy pan-Asian menu. Very good house beers brewed by Golden Pacific Brewing Co., and they also have a great selection of Asian beers available in bottles.

(07/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

Tried the Hefeweizen, which was quite good and true to the German style. Also tried the Red, which was tasty as well. Didn't try the food, but they often have a good New Orleans jazz band playing. It's generally a nice place in the French Quarter to hang out and have a couple beers before you start in on the obligatory Hurricanes for the rest of the evening!

(05/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Brass Bass Restaurant, Wilmington, DE

I didn't try the food, but they have a good beer selection for a standard restaurant in a hotel -- a few micros on tap and many more in bottles... most importantly, Anchor Liberty Ale.

(04/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilmington, DE

Right in line with the other John Harvard's I've been to... except this one seemed a little less upscale and more friendly than the one in DC. All the beers I tried were well brewed. This is a good chain.

(04/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So So So

Establishment: Brandywine Brewing Company, Wilmington, DE

I asked the one bartender on duty which beers he recommended, and he only said "I don't like beer -- I drink scotch." I don't care what he drinks, but a guy alone behind the bar at a brewpub should at least know the beers! I picked four of the available 7 or so for my nicely priced sampler, but thought they were only ok -- the IPA was best. The food was very good, and the place had a nice atmosphere.

(04/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: ThirstyBear Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Very nice, upscale place -- great atmosphere, great beer and excellent food. Highly recommended!

(03/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

Excellent beer and food, and I love the atmosphere/building too. Go there!

(03/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Timbercreek Restaurant and Bar, Truckee, CA

Several local and other California micros, great appetizers. In the village at the base of the Northstar ski area.

(02/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: District ChopHouse and Brewery, Washington, DC

An upscale restaurant with excellent, reasonably priced food.  Try the pizza, it's awesome! The beer is decent.  The upstairs pool bar has room enough for three pool tables, a couple couches, barstools, etc. Definitely worth a visit; make time to stay for dinner.

(01/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Redondo Beach Brewing Company, Los Angeles, CA

A nice place to stop and have a microbrew on the way to the gate.

(01/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant, La Jolla, CA

A fine, upscale restaurant in the heart of La Jolla Village with nice atmosphere.

(01/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Clarendon Grill, Arlington, VA

Always interesting beers, but only about 10 taps. Food is great, and they often have good, live music. Across the street from Blue -N- Gold.

(12/02/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Toronado, San Francisco, CA

Awesome place to hang out in a fun area of the city. Terrific selection of West Coast micros, eclectic decor and clientele. Haven't tried the food.

(10/13/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Santa Fe Cafe, Arlington, VA

More of a family restaurant than a beer bar, but great beer selection, excellent yet inexpensive Mexican food, and friendly wait staff. Definitely worth a visit for dinner before heading out to the more raging microbrew bars. Say hi to Kip; he'll remember you forever!

(10/06/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

My favorite brewpub in Boston, and one of my favorites anywhere. The fact that it's across the street from Fenway Park makes it very crowded (and fun) on game days... but then, you'll probably never have to deal with those crowds in October!

(10/01/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Houston Brewery, Houston, TX

A fine, German style restaurant with nice bar and good beer. I haven't been there for well over a year, so hopefully it's the same or better now.

(09/23/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Orchid Lounge and Supper Club / Village Brewery, Houston, TX

Great beer, great food, popular hangout -- kind of an upscale sports bar feel. Don't miss it if you're visiting Houston.

(09/23/1997)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.155 seconds) 12:23:28 54.211.231.221, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS