PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from donnie ebelt
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 18, 2014 @ 08:52 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
donnie ebelt

Beer Reviews
(10)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

10
Beer Reviews from donnie ebelt
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Redondo Beach Brewing Company, Redondo Beach, CA

I really had to stretch to even give this place a "so so" rating. I tried their Red Lager, Pale Ale, Porter, and Cask Ale. All were weak efforts in their respective syles. The food was not much better (e.g. goat tacos). Parking meters have to be fed every 30 minutes, so you're constantly getting up and going outside. Talk about a commerce killer. What's up Redondo?

(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Anacapa Brewing Company, Ventura , CA

On our motorcycle rides out to Cold Spring Station, we always stop here for lunch. The hefe weizen and pale ale are above average offerings. They even carry guest brews like Stone Brewing Co.'s "Arrogant Bastard Ale". The food is excellent, especially the fish tacos. A must stop and see if you're in Ventura.

(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Anacapa Brewing Company, Ventura , CA

On our motorcycle rides out to Cold Spring Station, we always stop here for lunch. The hefe weizen and pale ale are above average offerings. They even carry guest brews like Stone Brewing Co.'s "Arrogant Bastard Ale". The food is excellent, especially the fish tacos. A must stop and see if you're in Ventura.

(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Indian Wells Brewing Company, Inyokern, CA

I always like to stop here on my way to the Sierras, nice folks operating this place. But if you want an objective opinion of the beer, it's nothing special. Creative recipes, just not enough basic ingredients (e.g. malt, barley, hops, etc.) which leaves you with a mediocre watered down product. Worth a stop if you're out that way cause it's the only game around for miles around.

(02/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Belmont Brewing Company, Long Beach, CA

The food is above average and the location on the sand adds to its appeal. However, don't get your hopes up about the beer. It's nothing to write home about. I'll stop short of calling it "watery trash", but I would call it mediocre at best. All of the beers lack the body and character most would associate with quality craft brewing. And to the folks that are touting their beer as the next best thing to sliced bread, I say, make a stop at some of the local breweries in Oregon if you're ever up that way and you might learn something about craft brews.

(02/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Deschutes Brewery, Bend, OR

Rating brews is largely a matter of personal taste. I believe the Mirror Pond ale is one of the finest I've tasted in this brewing style. A near perfect balance of malt and hops, IMHO. My greatest disappointment was to find that they don't distribute this fine ale to So. California. The layout of the place is a little different, but the food and beer selection are unquestionably great.

(12/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Red Car Brewery and Restaurant, Torrance, CA

The food is nothing to write home about, but it's ok. Tried a sampler of their brewed beers and found most of them passable with one exception, the IPA. The IPA is a better than average offerring in this brewing style. A very nice hop strategy, it goes down easy and keeps going down, unlike some IPA's where the flavor of the hops become redundant. Worth a visit to try this one very good ale.

(12/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good

Establishment: Crown City Brewery, Pasadena, CA

Nice atmosphere and decor, very casual. Appears to be a local's hangout. Very good bottled beer inventory. Tried a Christmas Spiced Ale freshly brewed. A nice offering , better than average. Food is average, nothing to get excited about. Worth a visit if you're near by, but don't go out of your way.

(12/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good

Establishment: Crown City Brewery, Pasadena, CA

Nice atmosphere and decor, very casual. Appears to be a local's hangout. Very good bottled beer inventory. Tried a Christmas Spiced Ale freshly brewed. A nice offering , better than average. Food is average, nothing to get excited about. Worth a visit if you're near by, but don't go out of your way.

(12/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR

One of the best Brew Pubs I have ever been to. These guys really cater to the serious beer drinker with their beer selection. As an added treat, it's right across the street from Jake's Restaurant, rated one of the ten best seafood restaurants in the U.S.

(12/24/2004)














(0.073 seconds) 08:52:20 107.22.45.61, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS