PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from donald
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 03, 2014 @ 02:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
donald

Beer Reviews
(30)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

30
Beer Reviews from donald
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Montgomery Brewing Company, Montgomery, AL

Visited on 3-12-09. Had a live band playing that was very good. River boat red was very good followed by the seasonal Velvet Elvis which was a Scwartz(sp?) beer, a black lager. This was excellent. Wanted to try the others but had to drive to hotel. Definitely recommend the alligator appetizer. Bar staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the beers.

(03/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Moon River Brewing Company, Savannah, GA

Had the beer sampler. The Claire was by far the best followed by the Wit and Boddington style. The IPA had too much hops and the cider was just bad. The Fest, Slow Savannah and porter were very good. Bartender was more interested in what looked like a 21st Bday party than paying attention to customers at the bar.

(03/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Captain Lawrence Brewing Company, Pleasantville, NY

Visited today from NJ. Scotts family is friends with our family. Prior to this visit we tried several styles in NYC bars and now know where to find it in NJ. Anyway, the expresso stout was excellent followed by a very good brown ale and the IPA. Normally IPA is not my favorite but this one was and I bought a growler back home. Service was excellent even though it was extremely crowded today. Vinny was very helpful and Scott led a very good tour of the brewery. Hope to see the beer become more mainstream in central NJ. Thank you

(02/07/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Redhook Brewery, Portsmouth, NH

Took the tour on 8-9-08. Was very informative. The samples were excellent. Had to try the Nitro in the bar but was well worth waiting for. The Longhammer IPA has become one of my favorite beers now. Food was also very good as was the selection in the gift shop.

(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Portsmouth Brewery, Portsmouth, NH

I visited on 8-10-08 but had no opportunity to review untill tonight. The Smuttynose Portsmouth Lager was excellent followed by the Old Brown Dog. Both were quality brews. Then I had the Weizenheimer which was also well brewed. The food was very good as well. Place was very crowded but I sat at the bar and 2 bartenders were very friendly and knowledgeable about the beers

(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: BrewZZi Microbrewery, Bakery and Pizza, Boca Raton, FL

To start I had the beer sampler. They were very generous in the size glass and there were 6 of them. The waitress told me a little about each. The Citifest was my favorite of all.It had a slight nuttiness to it and was a nice copper/orange color. The next best was the Black Duke. This was a reddish brown with slight hints of chocolate. I didnt really care for any of the others.As far as food goes probably the best Cuban Sandwich I ever had. Everyone elses food at the table was also very good. The waitress (sorry I dont remember your name) was exceptional. Purchased an over priced mug (12 oz) with there logo for 8.00 but I like to collect glasses from where i travel.Will return.

(06/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Heartland Brewery and Rotisserie, New York, NY

Third time here. Today I had the Old Red Nose Ale which is a winter seasonal. It is slightly spiced but not too bitter. Has a nice amber color. Then I had the Farmers Oatmeal Stout. It is a dark, creamy flavorfull stout. On a 25 degree day these 2 really hit the spot. At 3pm on a Friday the restaurant and bar were both very crowded but was served rather quickly. Service gets only a great because the bartender was not available to discuss the beer with a full seating.

(12/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Williamsburg AleWerks, Williamsburg, VA

This micro brewery opened in Williamsburg in August. They are minutes away from the colonial area and believe in trying stick with the colonial beer techniques. Located in an industrial park ,all of the beer is hand made. Chuck gave me my tour today (3pm everyday) and was very informative about the brewing process and then takes you into the store to sample all of the beers. $5 gets you a pint glass to take home and samples of all available beers. The brewery has plans to expand there production and distrobution in the near future. Today I sampled the wheat, porter, brown. IPA and the Innaugral Ale. All were very good but especially the IPA (slightly sweet) and the Innaugaral Ale which was superb. If they keep this up they will be aroud for a long time. Thanks for the tour and the beer.

(12/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

Had the beer sampler. The stout was best followed by the Red and the double hop beer. The wheat was very plain. The food was excellent especially the pretzel basket. I will go back and give the beers another try.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: L’Amere a Boire, Montreal, QC

Hasn't changed much since the last visit. Had the Rousse, Porter and Imperial Stout. The stout was my favorite but the other two were also exceptional beers. For a Saturday night the place was crowded and service was excellent.

(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Le Sergent Recruteur, Montreal, QC

We started off with the Criminelle (Cream ale). It was a translucent, golden amber with a thick ceamy head. Very smooth. Almost tastes like a white Guiness. Then I had the Nuit Blanche. Also very good, pale yellow and cloudy with slight hints of citrus. The bartender who we found out later was the brewer then offered us the Hip Hop IPA. Not liking IPA's myself, this one was exceptional. It was not overly bitter but you could smell the hops. Almost a piney smell. We told Danny how much we liked it. We came back the next night with only time for one more and had the Criminelle again (best in Montreal).The service was really focused on us which made the visit real nice. Only thing is they moved across the street and it doesnt have the same atmosphere even though they did bring many things with them. Thank you Danny for the excellent beer.

(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Cleveland Chophouse and Brewery, Cleveland, OH

Best Brew Pub I came across in Cleveland in August. The Irish red was excellent. Had a nice creamy head and was slightly bitter. The wheat was true to style and easily drinkable. Service was excellent an hour before the game.

(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

Had Burning River Red while watching The Yankees at Jacobs Field in August. Dark red brew and was very hoppy and bitter. Would have been better if it wasn't 97 degrees at game time. Next trip I will have to visit the brewery itself.

(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Cleveland, OH

Visited in August but Pubcrawler was down. River bend red was good but had no character or body to it. The walleye wheat was clear but they claim it is unfiltered?? Did not live up to the standards of a wheat. Food was good and service was great.

(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Peter B's Brew Pub, Monterey, CA

After a whale watch trip in what the guide called the worst weather they ever went out in we stopped here. The Octoberfest was poor. There was no flavor or character to this beer. The pilsner was plain and boring and the wheat was marginally ok. The food was good but not anything special. Sevice was good. I would avoid Monterey for the beer and whales in the future.

(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant, San Francisco, CA

The octoberfest and rip tide red were both excellent quality beers true to style. The west end wheat was good but i have had better. The food was excellent but pricey for the portion size. Got seated right away on a Saturday just before sunset. The view was excellent. I had asked for beer coasters but they had run out.

(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! N/A

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

I had the dream weaver over the summer and was told to try the Mad Elf in december. The staff gave me direction as to how to find Mad Elf in NJ. After a screw up at my local store I found it in Red Bank. It is probably one of the best Christmas seasonal beers I ever had. 11% alcohol and full of flavor. I am looking foward to actually getting to visit the brewery in Harrisburg.

(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

I had the winter Warmer which was very good. It had a lot of flavor but was not over powering. The milk stout was also great and I have a 6 pack to look foward to. My brother had the sampler which consisted of 10 different beer styles. Next time I am in Lancaster I will be having the sampler. I asked the waitress about tours and she never came back with an answer. That was a disapointment.

(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Chicago, IL

Was very quiet in mid afternoon which gave us a chance to talk to the bartender about the brewery and city. The walleye wheat was excellent in taste and style. The brown bear beer was very good with mild chocolate overtones. erics red ale was excellent with a unique combination in a beer with lemon and grapefruit which really made this a good red.Would return an another trip to Chicago.

(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville, Chicago, IL

Went after the Cubs game. Beer was much better than the oldstyle i had at the game. Hexnut Brown was my favorite. The hefeweizen was good but not exceptional. The summertime was terrible both at the pub and at Millers in downtown Chicago. Good thing for the other 2 brews. The usher at the game reccomended Goose Island. He was very helpfull to us and gave us good beer advice.

(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Heartland Brewery-Midtown, New York, NY

Stopped in on the way to a show on a saturday night. It was not crowded. The pumpkin ale was excellent. will return when i have more time to try more of the variety.

(10/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bieres et Compagnie, Montreal, QC

Finally a commercial beer bar that sells BOREALE. Had such a hard time finding it this trip. Had the blonde, rousse, and black. All were top quality and served in the appropriate glass. The bartender was the most proffesional i have ever seen. Wish Boreale would become available in the US. Could not find Biere Du Monde as mentioned in a previous review.

(08/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Le Sergent Recruteur, Montreal, QC

excellent cream ale and stout. the blonde was also very good. Bar was very busy so we couldnt spend any time talking to the bar tender. cant wait to go to montreal again to come back here.

(08/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: L’Amere a Boire, Montreal, QC

Second trip here and the beers were as good or better as they were 2 years ago. The stout was still the best even though it was about 100 degrees while we were in montreal this year. This is definitely worth a trip to.

(08/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

First i had the Kolsch. It was light in flavor. The siera madre stout was the best stout I had all week in Colorado. The cream ale was also an excellent choice. Surprisingly, the Pattys Pepper Ale was excellent. It had a nice taste of chilli peppers that was not overwhelming but you knew they were there. This was the best beer of my trip and sorry i found it my last night. I am not sure if it is a seasonal or a regular but you must ask for it at this brew pub. Food and service were also amongst the best in denver.

(10/25/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.113 seconds) 02:45:16 107.22.78.233, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS