PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from daryl vb
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 27, 2014 @ 09:43 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
daryl vb

Beer Reviews
(61)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

61
Beer Reviews from daryl vb
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: The Liar's Club, San Diego, CA

A small place with an excellent offering of local micro brews. Parking is very difficult so plan to walk if you are not lucky enough to find a spot close by. Again, this is a BEER bar and that is their main focus. I enjoyed visiting with some locals who explained how the place has evolved over time to now become a very popular place to find some awesome beers. Friday nights they offer $2.50 pint night. I ordered a teriyaki chicken sandwich and it was not very good. Go for the beer, not the food. Great place to sip a few brews and watch the people go by and just a few steps from the beach.

(06/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: O'Brien's Pub, San Diego, CA

After reading and hearing about how great this place is, I can't say it was all I thought it would be. No doubt they have an excellent beer selection. Service was very good and I was offered small tasters to help with my decision making. The place is small and was crowded during my visit. It is a BEER bar with the taps mainly representing CA beers, which is a good thing. Large selection of Belgian bottles. I guess I was spoiled when I was able to visit the Maproom while living near Chicago, it is still my overall favorite.

(06/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Coronado Brewing Company, Coronado, CA

They were out of the IPA which I was told was their best beer. I tried the Pale and it was just OK. Did small samples of the Hefe and Red, both OK. I really enjoyed the Porter. Food was good. Worth a stop if you are in the area. Easy to find.

(06/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Schirf Brewing Company was Wasatch Brew Pub, Park City, UT

Stopped by after a day of skiing at Deer Valley. Tried 3 different beers. The Brown and Porter were good. The Pale/Amber beer was not very good, not sure what they are trying to do with that one. This whole gripe about the alcohol % in Utah - after a long day of skiing and being in a higher altitude, its probably a good thing the beers are not as strong as other places in the US, because then I wouldn't be able to have more the just a couple. People need to lighten up about this issue and just enjoy the beer.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Desert Edge Brewery, Salt Lake City, UT

My last review was not very good, but glad to report things have changed. I stopped by on a quiet Sunday night so things were a little slow. All the beers I tried were good. Service and food also good. They have several awards hanging from the wall so they must be doing something right with the beer. Worth a stop.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Red Rock Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

My second visit over five years. Busy place in downtown, good beer, good food, just wish they had something more bitter/hoppy for my taste.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Roosters 25th Street Brewing Company, Ogden, UT

It has been over 5 years since my last visit and the beer is still very good. My favorite is still the Chocolate Stout. The Pale could be a bit more hopped, but overall, not a bad beer in the bunch. Friendly staff, relaxing place - worth the drive if you are in the Salt Lake area.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Squatter's Pub Brewery was Salt Lake Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

I hadn't been to Squatters in about 5 years. The beers I tried were OK. The place was very busy on Friday night. I had the Philly Cheese steak sandwich served on some kind of strange flatbread, which didn't serve this sandwich very well, they should just use a sub/hoagie bread like it's suppose to. I thought the beer was better than a few of the reviews. The 4% alcohol thing isn't holding back the beer in my opinion.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Uinta Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

Stopped by after a day of skiing. They have a nice bar area in the same building as the brewery. I tried all the available samples on tap, not a bad one in the bunch. My favorites - Porter and Pale. I was even given a bottle of the higher alcohol IPA they ship out of state or sell at the liquore stores. I just started to see this beer in Minnesota and was informed they just got hooked up with a distributor in MN. I will purchase their beer in the future. A must stop if you are in Salt Lake City and want some good beer.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Great

Establishment: Squatters Airport Pub, Salt Lake City, UT

This was my second stop at this locations over the past year. The beer is good. The food is not. It looks like they just microwave everything. I am not sure my cheeseburger had real meat and just comes with chips - $9 is to much. Stop and have a beer, but skip the food.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great

Establishment: Steelhead Brewing Company, Burlingame, CA

Stopped in on a Saturday night after arriving on a late flight. I got a place at the bar. Started with the IPA, then a Pale and Stout. IPA was good, the Stout was just OK. Went with a basic burger and fries. Nice place overall and the beer was solid. The bartender was a bit snobby, but had a nice visit with a local who provided me with information about tourist stuff in SF. Worth a stop if you are in the area, just off the 101 a few blocks.

(02/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Half Moon Bay Brewing Company, Princeton-by-the-Sea, CA

Stopped in on a Tuesday night for beer and supper. Our group started off with the sampler to get a taste of all the beers. Not a bad one in the bunch. I picked the IPA and Stout as my favorites. We sat in the bar area and food and service was good. They had a 3 pc band playing, big screen TV, fireplace, very good beer, and a nice looking waitress - what more can you ask for. I recommend the drive to this place.

(02/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Stopped by on a Sunday evening and the place was very busy. I managed to get a seat at the bar next to a couple of locals. They were very quick to talk with me about the beer and history of the place. It was strong beer month so they had some special offerings they only tap once a year. Started with the Porter, then a couple of IPA's, and finished with the strong Stout. All the beers were good. I ordered the beef brisket sandwich, it wasn't the greatest, with some strange tasting BQ or steak sauce mixed with the beef. Overall it was a worthwhile visit. Good beer, friendly conversation, and parking was available on the street out front.

(02/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Anderson Valley Brewing Company, Boonville, CA

I drove up from San Francisco to take the tour on Sunday 2/13. I showed up at noon, so I was early for the 1:30 tour. No problem, as the tasting room/gift shop was open. I tried 5 (sampler)of the beers from the 8 or 9 available. I don't see all their beers in the Midwest, so I had to try the one's I can't normally get. As I expected, all were excellent. The tour was interesting, however, the tour guide was not very knowledgeable about the overall process, but that's OK. From what they tell me, the Sunday tour is generally led by whomever they can get that's available. Large/modern facility. After the tour, it was back to the tasting room for a couple more samples. I spoke with several people that also took the tour. Very friendly and enjoyed telling me about the SF area, beer, brewpubs, places to see. I had a great time. The roads to Boonville (off the 101)are very crooked and scenic. Visit this place if you get the chance.

(02/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

I took the tour on 2/14. They have a very nice brewery and the tour takes you very close to every process along the way. The tasting at the end is very generous. They provide samples of all the beers they make. It takes about 2 hours, but well worth every minute.

(02/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Minneapolis Town Hall Brewery, Minneapolis, MN

Now that I have moved to MN I am able to make more frequent stops at the Town Hall. They are still brewing some excellent beers. The ESB (seasonal) is currently on tap and very good. They also brew and excellent IPA. Check out the beer release parties when a new beer is put on tap, pints are only $1 from 5-6PM. Only down side - parking. Limited street parking, but there is a parking ramp just around the corner.

(07/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Brewery at Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA

Small bar area with brewing equipment behind the bar. Beer was OK but not great. It always concerns me when I get my beer served in a frosted glass pulled from the cooler. That method only works when you drink the mass produced water beers. I didn't try the food/pizza but several people were in the place eating. I was hoping for more, but its a small brewery and they are doing what they can with what they have. Very friendly and social bartender.

(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

Excellent. What more can you say. We did the tour and found it very interesting. You have to walk over to the brewpub to try the beers. Though they don't have free samples, the sampler they offer for a fair price is very worth while. Living in the Midwest and only being able to buy about 6 of the beers, I was very impressed at the amount and quality of the other beers they produce. I am very jealous of the locals in Chico, having access to one the of the best breweries in the USA. Make an effort to visit this place.

(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Chico BrewHouse, Chico, CA

Very happy with the beer and food. Stopped by on Sunday and had the brunch with an IPA and Porter. Both beers were good. The waitresses were very easy on the eyes. If I lived in Chico, I would be a regular.

(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Red's Old 395 Grill, Carson City, NV

A very large and good selection of beers. The half chicken meal was great. Good place to try several different beers. Friendly and hard working waitress. Any place that has that many taps is a must stop.

(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery, Reno, NV

Great beer and food. Tried all the beers, not a bad one in the bunch. We went here first upon arriving in Reno, with plans to go to Great Basin next. After going over to the Basin (overrated), we came back for a second visit. Both visits were good. Food and service was decent while the place was very busy. They are opening a second location closer to downtown. The best beer in the Reno brewpub scene.

(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Great So So

Establishment: Great Basin Brewing Company, Sparks, NV

I don't know what everyone is talking about. I was very disappointed with my visit. After reading about the awards and how great this place is suppose to be, I must be missing something. The Icky IPA didn't even resemble an IPA. So I tried several of the other beers, very thin and stripped down. About the awards. I noticed all the awards were from about 1994 - 2000. Nothing since. So we asked the waitress if the brewmaster left. She said he used to be the main brewer, but turned that over to someone else, whick probably explains why the beer is not very award worthy now. We ordered the fish and chips. Big mistake. If these people want to see how to make fish and chips, travel to WI/MN and attend a Friday night fish fry. Sorry to be so blunt, but I was hoping for so much more. Go to Silver Peak for great beer/food.

(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Brew Brothers Microbrewery, Reno, NV

I tried the Stout and what they called their "Big" beer, a strong, hoppy, pale. The Stout was not very good, had some sour off flavor. The Pale was not very hoppy and barely reflected a Pale. The steak I ordered was very good. They cater to the general public that is there to gamble, not to seek out a good tasting beer.

(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sherlock's Home, Minnetonka, MN

Does anyone know why this placed closed? I just moved to the Minneapolis area and was looking forward to frequenting this place often. I used to stop whenever I visited in the past and was very disappointed to see it closed. I hope someone brings it back to life. If anyone knows what happened, please inform????

(10/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: O'Gara's Bar and Grill, Saint Paul, MN

As the other reviews mention, the beer is not very good. I had the Brown Ale and the first sip was rather eye opening. A very sour, strange flavor hit me. Towards the middle of the glass I was able to tolerate it. I didn't want to waste a beer so I drank it. They have some imports/micros on tap, I suggest trying those instead. Nice neighborhood place.

(10/21/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.331 seconds) 21:43:37 54.82.216.134, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS