PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from david
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 10:26 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
david

Beer Reviews
(17)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

17
Beer Reviews from david
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Calhoun's Restaurant and Brewery, Harrisonburg, VA

We found this by accident (no, really) looking for a place to have brunch. They have a fantastic brunch menu. Only four beers on tap, but the Apricot Wheat and the Scottish were both very good. There's a nice patio upstairs overlooking the square in the center of Harrisonburg.

(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Sea Dog Brewery, Topsham, ME

Really spectacular setting on the river. They had a good selection of beers on tap but since we were passing through we just had time to try the IPA and the Hazelnut. On a friday night this place is pretty much packed, the huge bar, restaurant and the deck overlooking the river.

(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Gritty Mc Duffs, Auburn, ME

Nice location on the river in downtown Auburn, although the deck is also the official smoking section. The same beers as other Grittys, and a couple casks (I believe the ESB was on when we visited).

(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: The Liberal Cup, Hallowell, ME

This is a nice little brewery in the restored (so I'm told) downtown area of Hallowell. The super lager came out the day before we arrived and it's a fine beer. The food is fantastic, in fact most of the place was raving about the ribs (which sadly we did not order). Very friendly place.

(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Sebago Brewing Company, South Portland, ME

There's a brewpub at the Maine Mall now, right where the turnpike lets you off. The trick is not getting back on the pike when you leave the place. It's open late (1 AM), has free wi-fi and a good selection of beers. The menu is varied and everything we had was good.

(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lost Bear, Portland, ME

It's probably all been said in other reviews, but with so many breweries in Portland and nearby parts of Maine, this is the only place to go if you don't have time to visit them all. They have at lest one or two beers from all of them, plus multiple casks.

(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Moat Mountain Smokehouse and Brewing Co, North Conway, NH

Food is very good, and the portions are huge. It's not really barbeque in the southern US sense of the word, but it is good smoked meat. The beer is generally decent, although the brown and the wheat are excellent.

(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Harpoon Brewery, Windsor, VT

Fantastic place to visit. If you're familiar with Harpoon beers there won't be a lot new here, but you can get a few seasonals in six packs, and the growler values are great ($4.99 to fill). They're only open mid-day but it's a nice place for lunch.

(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good

Establishment: Latchis Grille and Windham Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

Excellent selection of the Berkshire beers, plus 1 cask. There's a good dark wheat, although you might suspect it of being a dark ale, but good nonetheless. Collectively we probably tried about 8 beers. The regular 'Berkshire' pale is notably good considering we don't normally even drink Pale ales. This is worth an evening out, although if you only have 1 night in Brattleboro you have to try McNeils too.

(05/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Good So So

Establishment: Piccadilly's, Winchester, VA

Still amazing to me, but this place makes a red ale by mixing their stout and their pilsner until it's roughly the right color. Furthermore, they do the same thing to make a "classic nut brown". Good way to brew 2 beers and sell 4. There's nothing special about the actual beers either. Food was decent. We stopped on our way up I-81 but we won't stop here again.

(05/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

Good selection of beers, some on draught, some in bottles (and growlers to go as well). It has a German brewhaus feel and decor which encourages a communal sort of atmosphere. Good people watching (for Vermont) as well.

(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Maple Leaf Malt and Brewing, Wilmington, VT

A nice little pub overlooking the center of Wilmington. Friendly staff, a nice eclectic set of beers and decent food.

(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Long Trail Brewing Company was Mountain Brewers, Bridgewater Corners, VT

The beer garden along the river is a great place to sample a few beers (at least in the summer). They don't tend to have any beers onsite that you can't find for sale elsewhere in Vermont but it's worth a visit if you're in the area and can find it.

(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

Wide selection of their own beers although a lot of them fall into the same general spectrum. They usually have a nice set of guest beers as well. In the winter, and before movies start it can be nearly impossible to get a table and/or a beer here. The downtown location is a lot more relaxed.

(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Cock and Bull Pub, Sarasota, FL

In the general beer wasteland known as Florida, this is definitely a bright spot. The focus here is entirely on beer (I would say mostly on selection really). Of particular note is the variety of eastern European beers, but the US, German and Belgian selections are impressive too. My only complaint is the lack of a list (especially in light of the fact that more than half the beers are not displayed). They are supposedly working on this, but in the meantime, make sure you get a seat at the bar if you want to do any perusing.

(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

About the least pretentious brewery you could ever find, they usually have about 8 of their brews on tap (The Porter and Scottish are my favorites) and maybe anoth 8 interesting guest beers. Pizza is fantastic. My only complaint is that the bar could be a little bigger, it's pretty much always full.

(07/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Westville Pub, Asheville, NC

Easily the best pub in west Asheville. They don't have a huge beer selection, maybe a dozen taps, probably two dozen bottles but it covers a good range and they don't waste any taps on low end mass-produced stuff. They have an eclectic but interesting menu as well. Try the hummus (it's Asheville, you should always try the hummus). There's occassionally live music as well, their website seems to be up to date in general.

(06/03/2004)














(0.099 seconds) 22:26:18 184.72.154.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS