PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from david white
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 15, 2014 @ 04:27 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
david white

Beer Reviews
(4)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

4
Beer Reviews from david white
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, Ellicott City, MD

I think 2004 was the first time I visited Ellicott Mills BC. Then they served German-style beer, and being a hophead, I was not impressed. About two years ago we went again with friends, and lo and behold, they had an IPA. I found it to be pretty drinkable, and knew I would vidit there agin if the opportunity arose. It did. This past Sunday evening my wife and I were in the area and decided EMBC was where our evening repast would take place. I had a couple of their Rye IPA (not named so I called it Brian, who was our bartender. I will go back for more of this stuff if in the area. The service was wonderful. Made some new friends. The food, however, was really just so-so. Keep in mind, I have not eaten meat in 18 years. I had the veggie chili. It came in a bread bowl with melted cheese on top. If only it tasted as good as it looked, but, alas, an pardon me, it was rather disgusting. I won't be ordering it again. My wife, on the other hand, was more than please with her salad (don't remember what she got). All in all, we had a great time. iwen there for the beer, not the food, and beer is what I got. I will go again.

(07/08/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Southend Brewery and Smokehouse, Charleston, SC

Read some of the other reviews. They go from Awesome to Lousy. I think sometimes people review places not based on their experinece at that venue, but compared to another. I have visited at least 200 different brew pubs and beer bars around the country. This is not the best, nor is it the worst. I enjoyed a Black IPA, it was favorable anbd drinkable - 'nough said. While on previous visits I had pizza, and found it to be tasty and good, this time I opted only for the Fried Green Tomatoes and found them to be really, really good. I was taken aback Southend did not have an IPA on tap other than the Black IPA, but it didn't ruin the experience for me. I will go back.

(02/26/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Moon River Brewing Company, Savannah, GA

I visited the Moon River back in 2002 and carried the memory of it since then. This week I have had distinct opportunity to visit Savannah and the Moon River once again, as I sit here for third time in two days savoring a Swamp Fox IPA, I cannot help but think this is one of the best IPAs I have had in a long time. I think I could live in this place. The service is great (thanks, Melissa), the food really good - though I have not experienced a lot of it, the Moon River is a wonderful place to kill a few hours. I know this won't be my last visit, even as I make my way back to West Virginia.

(01/28/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Foley, AL

The Mushroom has the best tortilla soup I have ever had. The quality of it varies little from one location to another, but the same cannot be said about the beer. I am more than sure some silly laws in Alabama must control the quality of beers served in the state, so I can only be so harsh. I didn't find the beertender to be very beer savvy. I ask what IPA's were on tap and got a reply beginning with Sierra Nevada's Pale Ale. I was told their "high gravity" beers had to be served in 10 oz. glasses. I had a Sweetwater IPA at 6.7% ABV in a regular serving size, and then a Abita Jockamo IPA at 6.5% ABV. The Jockamo was served in a 10 oz. Made no sense to me, but I found both beers to be short on taste, body and character.

(05/13/2012)














(0.046 seconds) 04:27:18 54.90.200.228, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS