PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from david white
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 20, 2014 @ 11:03 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
david white

Beer Reviews
(13)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

13
Beer Reviews from david white
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Blue Mountain Brewery, Afton, VA

As a hophead I enjoyed the Full Nelson, billed as a "Virginia Pale Ale." Full bodied with lots of character, very drinkable. Had the veggie nanchos and they were fantastic. Bar tender Whitney delivered tremendous service and is knowledgable about beer and that always adds to the experience. The place was about half full, which isn't bad the the Monday after New Year's Day, especially for a micro-brewery in the middle of nowhere. Awesome beer, good food, outstanding service. Highly recommend a vist to this one.

(01/03/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome! Great

Establishment: Capital Ale House, Glen Allen, VA

Qualifying the food as "so-so." I do not eat meat and it seriously affects my overall impression of a place like this. Beer selection is outstanding, bartenders are very knowlegdable and that makes up for the food. I will still go there, but not to eat. They need a new menu and perhaps a chef.

(01/03/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

Having read a number of the reviews on this place I was very skeptical as to what my experience would be. While I found the beer okay, the Hilton Head Brewing Company needs a better brewer. I am an IPA drinker, and theirs lack body and character. I had three, and the third was better than the first. I had a pizza, and it was quite good, and I found the bartender to be very attentive after a bit of a slow start. Suggest you go there and evaluate for yourself, and if it proves not to provide you the experience you wish to have, there is a beer bar in the same complex with 36 on tap. Several other bars and restaurants within 100 feet of the HHBC.

(11/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Awesome! So So

Establishment: Morgantown Brewing Company, Morgantown, WV

I don't want to slam the place. This was my first visit, but probably my last. First thing I noticed as I walked through the door at 4pm on a Tuesday afternoon was a cloud of nasty cigarette smoke hanging over the bar. The place reaked of stale smoke. I thought that county banned smoking in all restaurants...not so. My wife and I were directed into another part of the place and another bar. Though away from the smokers, the smell was more than evident. We had a couple of IPA's, drinkable but for me lacked character and body. We ordered some nachos as a snack. They were good until we got halfway through them and noticed a lot of liquid in the bottom of the plate and soggy chips...it was a turn off. While my experience wasn't the greatest (the service was outstanding and the server more than friendly), please, don't judge this place unless you go there. I live 130 miles from Morgantown, so this would not be a hangout even if it were the best I had ever had.

(10/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Mountain State Brewing Company, Thomas, WV

My wife and I have been to the Deep Creek restaurant five or six times now. Stopped by today for a late lunch on our way home from Bridgeport, WV to Berkeley Springs, WV. We always sit at the bar, and today Alison was at the helm...excellent bartender and server. She made us feel like family. We got the cheese plate and then ordered a Mushroom Medly pizza and my wife had a huge salad. Randy made the pizza, and I have to say it is about the best pizza I have ever had. We enjoyed a couple of IPAs, a truly great beer and a perfect match with the cheese and the pizza. Just an outstanding place, great beer, awesome pizza, tremendous service. We can't wait to back.

(08/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Downtown Joe's, Napa, CA

I have read the other reviews on this place. Very honestly, it was not the best I have been to, but it was nonetheless a wonderful place to be. The service was great, the food was wonderful, I enjoyed the IPA and the pizza I had at lunchtime enough to go back for a reprise of it for supper. I have been to brew pubs all over the country and find it best not to rate one against another. Enjoy what you get and make new friends over a good beer and a pub menu whatever it is. This place is a winner in wine country.

(12/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Water Street Brewery - Lake Country, Delafield, WI

Last review was March 2005, and nothing has changed. I am a hophead. I had the Pale Ale. The name of the place is an apt description of the product they sell. Bad. No body, little flavor or character.

(10/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company, Madison, WI

One of the best IPAs I have ever had. Great beer, great, informed service, great atmosphere. What more could I ask for?

(10/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Portsmouth Brewery, Portsmouth, NH

There on a Saturday night. Wall to wall people, but scored two seats at the bar for me and my wife. I was hoping they would have Smuttynose IPA on tap, but they had their own. I liked it and drank three. Not my favorite, but good nonetheless. Wife had a pale ale she liked very well. Food was good, and service, given the hoard of people in the place was more than adequate. I would go back, if I get the op.

(09/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Madison Brewing Company, Bennington, VT

Read some of the older reviews and don't get most. I found the IPA to be very drinkable and tasty. Service was very good and was the food. Sat at the bar...bartender was very attentive and funny. I'd go back this weekend if my wife might let me. Good beer, good food, good service.

(09/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Mountain State Brewing Company, Thomas, WV

No complaints about this place, excellent IPA and one of the best brick oven pizzas I have ever had. I wish they were next to a hotel so I could enjoy more of the great beer and relaxing atmosphere. This is a family venue in the afternoons, but I bet it is very cool at night.

(09/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Mishawaka Brewing Company, Mishawaka, IN

The original brewery/restaurant location is closed, but they do have a small pub open. The phone number listed is not correct, and this West Virginia boy did not bother to get the address or the phone number. The locale is kind of hidden away behind a bank. I found it purely by accident, though I was looking for it. The beer is very good, the food very good, the service was excellent...I had a double IPA that packed a whollop and a couple of other ales. Next time I find myself in the South Bend area I will surely go back for more of the good stuff.

(09/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Great So So

Establishment: Piccadilly's, Winchester, VA

I had a Pilsner, Fredricktown Ale, and a Bock. All three are watery, wimpy, devoid of real flavor (reminded me of apples)and pretty much have the same taste. They mix the Pils and a weak Stout to make the ales. I spoke to a homebrewer who was at the bar to see if this hophead was too critical. He agreed with me - weak and taste the same. They do have a large selection of mass produced industrial swills - Bud, Miller, Coors and three kinds of Mexican (the one you have to put fruit in for flavor) in a large, reminded me of a 7-11, cooler behind the bar. Only had a spinach dip to eat, and it rivaled the beer for lack of flavor, very bland and pasty. The place is handsomely decorated and restored, but I won't be going back just to visit a pretty bar and it won't make it with these beers. The beer might be explained with one of the owners being a wine drinker. Beer is way bad.

(03/19/2006)














(0.181 seconds) 23:03:13 54.166.33.25, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS