PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from david m. taylor
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 24, 2014 @ 02:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
david m. taylor

Beer Reviews
(16)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Favorite Beer: Dominion Pale Ale
Located In: Wisconsin
My Website: www.twinkiesproject.com
16
Beer Reviews from david m. taylor
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

Brought my family of five to the Tap Room for supper last week while visiting downtown St. Louis. It's not too far of a walk from the City Museum. The family was not very impressed. When the first thing the waitress says to you is, "I apologize in advance, it's very busy right now," you expect the worst but hope she strives to exceed her goal of poor service. Alas, she met her goal, it was poor. We had to flag her down anytime we needed anything, even twice to remind her, and never a stop to ask us how things tasted. Luckily, it was alright. The fish 'n' chips was pretty good. The grilled cheese for the kids left something to be desired. The six beers were all pretty good, not the best selection in the world but tasty and well made. I tried the sampler, including the signature pale ale, pilsner, 15 (at least I think it was 15), oatmeal stout, and both the American and German hefeweizens. The 15, brewed for their 15th anniversary, was complex and was my favorite. The pale ale was disappointingly in the English style. I was hoping for a whammo hoppy American style, but that's my problem not theirs. As an English, it was alright, nothing to write home about. The pilsner and oatmeal stout were both very nice. And I like hefeweizens, and these were good, but didn't knock my socks off.

All in all, if I was in the area, I'd come here again, alone, for the beer, but I wouldn't bring back my family or sit at a table due to the poor service and mediocre food. Simple as that.

(06/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company, Wisconsin Dells, WI

I went back again this week with my family while on vacation in the Dells. Moosejaw is fantastic!! The beer was excellent, the food was excellent, the whole family loved it. I got to sample about 10 beers, and every single one impressed me with its quality. The apple ale (must be a seasonal) was awesome. I also really enjoyed the honey lager, the IPA, the wild hop pale ale, and the imperial stout! All fantastic beers. My only wish is that I could have spent a LOT more time here. This has got to be one of the best brewpubs in the state, honestly. I will be coming back here year after year. The prices are only a tad too high, but it is well worth it IMO.

(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: San Diego Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

After researching on the net to determine the single brewpub in the San Diego area that my family would be most likely to enjoy while on vacation, I chose SDBC, and we stopped in here last week. The place didn’t seem very busy, I’m not sure why, as everything was pretty good and it was right at around 7:00 or so. It seems there are a few locals who frequent the place – there was a young mother and child, and the waitress knew them by name; and an elderly couple ordered “the usual”. The waitress was very friendly and joked with us a bit. I ordered the sampler of their 7 house beers, and all were very well made and to style. My favorite was the old ale, which was bittersweetly balanced with West Coast hops and malt, and I believe was around 9% ABV. The amber ale was similar and also excellent, but not as strong as it was closer to 5% ABV. I also tried their light beer, hefeweizen, brown ale, cocoa porter, Belgian ale, all were very good. The food was alright, but didn’t leave a lasting impression. I had the California burrito. It was huge, plump and tasty, but having never tried anything else like it, I’ve got nothing else to compare it to. The wife tried the French dip, which was alright but not the best she’s had. The kids were happy with their hot dog and fries or whatever they got. All in all, this wasn’t the best brewpub I’ve been to, but I’d come back again, without my family, mainly to enjoy the broad selection of beers, both in-house and otherwise. Worth a look.

(03/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: Stone Cellar Brewpub / Appleton Brewing Company, Appleton, WI

I've tasted a dozen of Stone Cellar/Appleton's beers over the past decade. In reviewing my tasting notes, in general it is apparent that most of their beers are mediocre in quality -- none are particularly excellent, and none particularly horrible. The only really noteworthy ones for me were the Winter Ale, which was spicy and unique; the Barleywine, which was about the best beer I've had from them; and the Light, which had a nice grainy character. The rest, not worth much discussion -- they're all fine, but not the best I've had. When I visited the pub about 6 months ago, I must admit I was very impressed by the large selection of beers available, I think they had like 10 beers on tap at the time. The food was alright, but unmemorable. All in all, I think it's an alright place, nothing to write home about, but might be worth a visit if you're in the area and can appreciate a good selection of halfway decent beers.

(01/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rush River Brewing Company, River Falls, WI

Well apparently they're still in business, and apparently somebody out there is reading the reviews on this website, because I just received in the mail (snail mail) a whole bunch of recent information that says that Rush River Brewing is moving from Maiden Rock to River Falls in the spring of 2007. They're spending big bucks on a giant new brewery. Apparently they've outgrown the old one. I guess I'm just going to need to put in a little extra effort to find some of their beers to sample next time I'm in the area!

(10/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Denmark Brewing LLC, Denmark, WI

I heard they're closed. They've been noticeably missing from the local brewfests for a while now.

(09/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company, Wisconsin Dells, WI

I don't agree with all of the negative comments. I liked just about everything about this place... great food, great beer, and some of the best service I've seen. The ribs were very good... fall off the bone, tender and juicy. I got the 10-beer sampler, and all were tasty and within style. One negative comment is that they all seemed to me to be a bit thin in body, but tasty nonetheless. The pilsner was packed with Hallertaus, sort of like a blonde Sam Adams Boston Lager. They also had two different pale ales, both quite good. One was made with locally grown hops, the other with Cascades or the like IIRC. The amber and dunkel were also yummy. The dunkel has taken silver in the GABF and I could see why. Nevermind the raspberry beer, which was more like a wine cooler for the chickies, otherwise I really liked the place. Next time I'm visiting the Dells, I'm sure to be back.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Denmark Brewing LLC, Denmark, WI

According to beeradvocate.com, these guys are listed as closed. I haven't seen them at the local brewfest for a year or two, and haven't seen their beers at stores anymore, so I began to wonder myself if they were open. Most likely not, though I haven't contacted them to confirm.

(07/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rush River Brewing Company, River Falls, WI

I don't know if this brewery truly exists anymore, or what. I drove up to the stated address, which is at the tippy top of a steep bluff in the middle of nowhere, and all I got was muddy roads with deep ruts, and signs saying "PRIVATE RESIDENCE", "KEEP OUT!" and that kind of stuff, so I figured this so-called Rush River Brewing Co. is probably a homebrewer who tried to hit the big time, and maybe they did for 5 minutes a few years back, but I could find no trace that this brewery exists anymore. If anyone can prove me wrong, please let me know the REAL address, or where I might be able to sample their beers, I'll probably be in the area again sometime within the next several months.

(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: New World Brewery, Tampa, FL

I've got mixed feelings about this place, but overall I really kind of like it. The atmosphere is very casual and a great place to hang out with friends, and the beer selection is superb -- imports, domestics, you name it, they've got just about anything your heart desires. First night I went there (I believe it was a Monday), it was pretty quiet and cozy, and I had nice conversations with the people sitting at the bar while quaffing several of the numerous Belgian ales they have available. The next night, it was a little busier and people all had their cliques and didn't say a word to me... which is fine, that's my problem, not theirs. I enjoyed a few more Belgians and was on my way. Later in the week, there was a live band, and a cover charge to go with it. I figured, what the heck, so I paid the cover and went in, sat at the bar again. The place soon became very crowded, loud, and smoky. Not my style, but my own fault, I know. But like I say, overall, I have to say I liked the place. At least on a quiet night, it was just what I needed. Some nice European beers, and pretty ladies to look at. The bartenders were always friendly and attentive, even when it got busy. And, Belgian ales on tap? Wow, couldn't ask for much better than that.

(03/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

I've stopped here numerous times over the years. The location is good, right in the middle of historic Ybor City. The atmosphere is such that you can feel comfortable wearing a T-shirt or dress clothes or anything in between. The beer selection is fantastic. Last time I was there, a couple of months ago, I believe they had about 8 or 9 different beers to try. And of course I tried them all. The best was the stout, which I think was actually an imperial stout, extremely complex and had a licorice flavor to it. I asked if they added licorice and they said, no, it was just the dark grains. I'm sure the gravity and yeast strain had something to do with it. Anyway... excellent place. The real ales on cask are also great, though they don't always have them... once they run out, that's it for a few days. The food is also excellent. I'll be back next time I'm in town.

(03/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Buckeye Beer Engine was Buckeye Brewing, Lakewood, OH

A weird little place, but weird in a good sort of way. It's weird in that when you first walk in, there's a homebrewing store, followed by a brewery, followed by the bottling area and a little bar in the back. It's certainly nothing fancy, but the bartenders and locals are friendly. The beers are good, and they have a nice selection of local brews as well as national and international. Worth a stop or two, but only for the more serious beer enthusiast.

(10/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: The BREW Kettle Taproom and Smokehouse / Ringneck, Strongsville, OH

Nice little joint located in a strip mall. Wide selection of European beers on tap. The barbecue pork sandwich was good. Worth a look.

(10/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Cleveland Chophouse and Brewery, Cleveland, OH

To be perfectly honest, I saw this as the perfect place for a yuppie business man to entertain his hooker escort. Seriously, the dude next to me in a suit was making out with some blonde bimbo, whilst the bartenders all ignored me for 10 minutes before I finally received my mediocre beer. Yeah, they've got a nice ice bar, perfect if you want to keep your beer cold enough so you can't taste it. Nothing here excited me. I left the establishment just as soon as I could slam my overpriced beer. Certainly not worth the effort or the price of parking across the street.

(10/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

Stopped here twice while on a business trip. The most spectacular thing about this place is the food.... man, is it ever good. If you like bread at all, be sure to try it, some of the best I've ever had -- they use spent grains from the brewery to give it a great crunch. And they have a great selection of great beers as well. You can't go wrong. I'd definitely rank this as my number one destination in Cleveland.

(10/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Titletown Brewing Company, Green Bay, WI

This place is one of my favorites. I've been here many many times over the years. The food is excellent, the desserts are even better, the atmosphere is unique and very upbeat (old train station), and the beers are always great. Try the Johnny Blood, or my personal favorite, the Railyard Ale. Also, make sure you try the beer bread. They use porter, so it's nice and dark and molassessy. Mmmmm!!!

(12/26/2003)














(0.209 seconds) 02:29:47 54.204.94.228, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS