PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from david mckinstry
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 23, 2014 @ 11:26 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
david mckinstry

Beer Reviews
(22)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Everywhere you go, Dude is drinking a beer
Favorite Beer: The one in my glass
Located In: Pacific Northwest
My Website: http://solarwind5.home.comcast.net
22
Beer Reviews from david mckinstry
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Yamhill Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Yes, Virginia, this place does exist and they are serving their own beers. It is a strange little place with little or no signage so you pretty much have to know what you're doing to find them. The beers were all OK but nothing really stellar. In another market they might have really great beer but they're in Portland, OR. where the bar is so high that beer that is just "good" really isn't going to stand out. I hope they continue to work at their craft and I look forward to returning in the future and seeing how they're coming along. As as been noted in these reviews, they have been trying to get this venture off the ground for a long time. The least you can do is stop by and check it out for yourself.

(02/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Mash Tun Brewpub, Portland, OR

One of the new players in the Portland market. When I was in earlier this month they only had their IPA on tap (it had just come out) and the Pale was about to hit the taps. Fortunately we were able to sample both and I hold high hopes for their line up when they are fully up and running. The space is very functional right now but when the warm weather comes and they are able to open up their outdoor patio it will be really nice. All in all, a great addition to the Portland beer scene.

(02/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Clinton Street Brewing, Portland, OR

This is one of the tinniest brewpubs I have ever been in. And, unfortunately, you won't always find their beer on tap. It took several stops in before I was able to sample Clinton Street beer. Their chocolate chili porter that I had during a visit in December was quite good, though. And his guest taps are out of the ordinary as well. All in all it's a good stop to try some intersting beer but if you are heading over there to try Clinton Street beer you might want to call ahead and see what's on tap.

(02/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ellersick Brewing Company - Big E Ales, Lynnwood, WA

I had the good fortune to meet Rick Ellersick today while visiting his place. Being the beer geek that I am, I don't know how I had missed the fact that they have been open for about a year. The small pub is open 5 nights a week and they are working toward getting a small kitchen up and running to provide lite pub fare. The beers are very well done. I couldn't believe that he had over 8 of his beers on tap. The IPA and the Holiday Spice were my favorites. This is a place I will have to visit everytime I find myself in the Lynnwood area. Be sure to bring your growler so you can take some home!

(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Big Time Brewery and Alehouse, Seattle, WA

I've been to over 200 breweries and brewpubs and Big Time is still one of my absolute favorites. The beer is always very, very good. I especially like being able to get cask conditioned ale on a regular basis. Of all the beers I've had at Bigtime I'd have to say my favorites are Bhagwan's Best IPA and Old Rip Oatmeal Stout. And Lift Ticket and Hopgoblin Pumpkin (when in season).

(03/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville, Chicago, IL

What a combination. A great brewpub across the street from one of the most awesome shrines in baseball. Over the two days I spent in Chicago watching ball and drinking beer I had just about everything they were pouring ad it was all excellent. Please do not miss this wonderfull location.

(03/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Whistle Stop Ale House, Renton, WA

A nice family friendly place in downtown Renton. I'm looking forward to the new location!

(03/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Elk Head Brewing, Buckley, WA

Don't let the industrial park location fool you, Rich is brewing some very good beer here. Today we were able to sample his golden, amber, brown, stout, winter seasonal (regular and cask) and a nettle ale. We decided that the stout and the nettle ale need to come home with us. It's pretty much a beer to go kind of place but their happy to pour samples to help you decide what to take with you. You can bring your own containers or buy them there.

(02/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Waimea Brewing Company, Kirkland, WA

This is a new sister property to the Waimea Brewing Co. on Kauai in Hawaii. It is located in the old Kirkland Roaster/Moss Bay Brewing Co. location in Kirkland. The brewery is not yet operational. They expect it to be so by late spring or early summer. The beers are being contract brewed in Western Washington, however and they are very good! The Na Pali Pale is a wonderfull hoppy brew and my favorite. The wheat (American style), Golden, and Brown were very tasty as well. The food was very good as well. This is a fun new place so go check it out!

(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Ellis Island Casino and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

I was all set for this to be the worst brewpub of the 196 I have visited and, although close, it wasn't. They had four beers on tap: light, hefe, amber, and a Fall Fest. The Fall Fest and the amber were at least drinkable. The light was the lightest beer I have ever had...ever. The hefe was bizarre. The only way you could tell it was supposed to be one is because they put a lemon in it. Of course that turned it into some kind of strange lemon brew. No thanks. After visting all the breweries in Vegas I say to stick with Monte Carlo (unless Lagers are your thing and then Gordon Biersch isn't too bad).

(09/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Druids Brewing Company was Fire Creek Grill, Covington, WA

They are just getting started so we'll have to wait and see how things develop. On my visit they were pouring four beers: pilsner, wheat, amaber, and porter. The pilsner was very crisp and clean, the wheat was a full bodied American style, the amber was pretty average (as I usually find most ambers) and the porter was very nice with roasty chocolate notes. They have an IPA and an ESB that are due to be on tap in the coming weeks. I guess we'll just have to hop back out there and try things again! The menu looked very nice, although we did not have a meal. One word of caution: they are serving in iced glasses. Although this may work for the pilsner it's way to cold for the porter. If you don't want an iced glass I'd be sure to ask for a room temp one.

(08/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Fearless Brewing Company and Tap House, Estacada, OR

The place is brand new so we'll cut them some slack. The beer is okay and the food about the same. I'm guessing that they're just getting started and all will come together in short order. Of the four beers we tried the brown was the best. I look forward to returning some day to see how things have come along. If you get a chance to stop in post a review and let us know how they're doing.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Big Horse Brewing, Hood River, OR

This was a rather rushed stop for us so all I had was the sampler. The beers were pretty good but nothing jumped out and said "Change your plans! You need to stay here." That being said, I'll plan to stop by again some time when I can spend some time.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Elliot Glacier Public House, Parkdale, OR

They had four of their beers on tap during my visit. They were all rather English in style. Not overly hopped but all nicely balanced. The food was very good and the view of Mt. Hood just cannot be beat.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Caldera Brewing Company, Ashland, OR

Since this is strictly a brewery (with dock sales only) you have to find their beer in town. Fortunately that is a very easy thing to do. While visiting Ashland we found Caldera on everywhere we went. The best place is the Siskyou Micropub down on Lithia Creek. They had four or five Caldera taps. The beer is very good. From the Dry Hopped Orange through the Pale, and right down to the Oatmeal stout they were all just wonderful. I can't wait until I can get south again to have their fantastic beer.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rogue Ales Eugene City Brewery, Eugene, OR

The BBQ restaurant has moved across town. The brewery is still located here and the beers are served in the Italian place next door. You can also get the beer at their BBQ place that has moved in / merged with their steak house across town.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Oregon Trader Brewing Company, Albany, OR

This is the third year in a row that I have headed specificly to Albany to spend the day at Oregon Trader. Gene does such an amazing job with all his beers that it just has to be an all day event. From his green chile beer, through the Yankee Clipper IPA to his porters and stouts, they are all very, very good beers. The food menu is a little light so don't plan on a meal. Bring your steel tip darts (or use his) and plan to have more than one.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Osprey Ale Brew Pub, Medford, OR

They are no longer brewing but do have a good tap selection of local beer.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Walkabout Brewery, Central Point, OR

Ross is making some very quality beer in a rather unconventional setting. If you are lucky enough to run across some of his craft be sure not to miss it. The Red Back IPA is amazing!

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Standing Stone Brewing Company, Ashland, OR

The best thing Standing Stone has going for it is its location. Just a block or so from the Shakespeare festival in Ashland it can't be beat. The beers were okay. I enjoyed the Hefe (German style) and the stout. Unfortunately for Standing Stone there are many other places to drink beer in town that have the other Ashland beer on tap.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Wild River Brewing and Pizza Company, Grants Pass, OR

This was the first stop on a five day whirl-wind trip of southern Oregon and it did not disappoint. You know things are good when you try five or six beers and you want to have one of each. I enjoyed their Hefe (German style), the IPA, and their stout. Unless you're looking for a restaurant/pizza joint atmosphere I would suggest going to their pub location just across the street. The menu is larger, the pizza better, and the beer just as good.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Walking Man Brewing and Public House, Stevenson, WA

A fantastic selection of many beer styles. Of the four or so that I sampled they were all right on for style. The oatmeal stout was my favorite. Unfortunately my visit was short as I was passing through town. I am looking forward to coming back, having a meal, and spending some time with the other ales!

(07/28/2003)














(0.161 seconds) 23:26:52 54.167.96.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS