PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from david malone
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 10:17 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
david malone

Beer Reviews
(11)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

11
Beer Reviews from david malone
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

As a beer purest, I hate to admit that lousy service can ruin a good beer, but its a sad truth. I'm from Colorado and have sampled Victory beer a few times. When I finaly had a chance to go, I was so excited, but so disapointed after my visit. The beer was as I expected, and there was a large selection of house brews. Why then, are the people who wrok there so mean and surly? The waitress was so rude that we had to leave her table and sit at the bar, but the bartender was worse. The people who work there are pretty young, but not motivated or excited at all. My in-laws live close to Downingtown and we will visit them often, but I will never go to Victory again. We'll try Sly Fox in Phoenixville next time.

(05/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

Nodding Head has great beer, but I get the impression that it could be a much better establishment. The bartender didn't seem excited to be there, and wasn't excited about the beers. From the reviews on this site it seems like Nodding Head gets a lot of out of state travel and could benefit from selling Pint glasses or the like, but they don't. Again, good place but it seems like there could be more. I had the Wee Heavier scottish Ale, and it was awesome, such a balance of flavor for such a strong beer.

(05/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Independence Brew Pub, Philadelphia, PA

The Independence brew pub was great. I am currently in Philadelphia and went here with my girlfriend shortly before I proposed. I had the IPA and stout, they were great. This establishment helps Philadelphia assert itself as having its own signature beers.

(05/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Monk's Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

What can you say about Monks that has not already been said? I love the place because its almost a novelty to find that many Belgians on tap. The Lucifer was perfect (as were the four beers I had previous but cannot remember). The fries are amazing, great bar food!

(05/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

Phantom Canyon is the Colorado springs version of the Wynkoop, I believe its even owned by Hickenlooper. Ihad gone to Bristol previously,so I really only drank one beer, a smoked porter. The beer was great and the hamburger I had was very tasty. I need to come back again.

(04/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Bristol Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

The Bristol brewery should always be on your list if you drive through Colorado Springs. It's a small place, with a great atmosphere. Pints are $3, and they have a great selection. They have an "edge city" series of beers that is amazing. The first beer I tried was the Pinon nut brown ale. It was so good I filled my growler with it. It was such an original flavor, I would have drank 2 if I didn't want to try their other beers. They have a Nitro IPA on tap, very good. They had a special going on; buy a bomber of their edge city beer, and get a free 10th anniversary pint glass. Overall, well worth the trip.

(04/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Fort Collins Brewery, Fort Collins, CO

This was my first time at the fort collins brewery, and I was very impressed. Its probably hard to compete with the other breweries' tasting rooms around town, but the Ft. Collins brewery succeeds. I enjoy lagers, but often find that most craft brewers focus predominantly on ales, which is fine, but this brewery has the best lagers that I've ever had. The "Doktor" is a light lager that has no lack of flavor, I could drink it all day. The people at the brewery were so nice, I felt bad drinking for free! They also have lots of merchandise (I bought a pint glass) including party pigs! Anyway, this place would definately be worth the stop in Fort Collins.

(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

I wasn't able to try the food here, but the beer was great. Since I live in Denver I've been exposed to lots of flying Dog beer, but having it on tap was a completely new experience. I went on a Saturday night and they had a special on their IPA. No one has specials on Saturday night, that was awesome! It was $2.00, I think. Anyway, it was such a good beer to boot. I had their K-9 cruiser, a winter/ holiday beer, it was very complex with spices that didn't overpower.

(03/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and Pub, Denver, CO

I've been to the Breckenridge brewery thats in Breckenridge many times, this was my first in Denver. The main difference is that they didn't seem to have as good a beer selection as the breckenridge establishment, and their staff didn't seem to know/care too much about their beer. All of that said; The beer that was there was very good, I had their red (not avalanche) and the oatmeal stout. The highlight of the evening was the food. They had the best apetizer for sampling beer with. The Sausage and Cheese plate was perfect for beer drinking. Every establishment worth their hops should carry a sausage and cheese plate.

(03/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Breckenridge, CO

This past weekend I spent a couple days in breckenridge to do some much needed snowboarding. The Breckenridge brewery offered a great experience for a long hard day of riding. The Pandora's Bock was in season, and I recomend this beer on tap, excellent crispness and not too overbearing, as some bock beers tend to be. They also had a blackberry ale as a seasonal. I generally avoid fruit beers but tried this one out of curiosity. I was pleasantly surprised that I actually enjoyed this light colored, fruity ale. It should be noted however, that I had consumed 3 pandora's Bocks at this point, so my judgement may not be accurate. One thing I do know for sure, is that the onion rings were probably the best appetizer in Summit County, one order nearly filled three of us up! With all the great breweries in the area it's hard to choose just one, so I suggest traveling numerous times.

(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub, Idaho Springs, CO

I've lived in Colorado all of my life so I am used to the quality beer establishments that our state has to offer. Tommyknocker is no exception. The beer selection is always impressive, combining their standards with great seasonal surprises. I had the Rye Porter the last time I was there (2-28-2004), and was very impressed. Every time I go I like to try a different menu selection, and I have yet to be disapointed. Their Reuben (or Brewben) sandwich is one of the best I've ever had. My girlfriend and I have made Tommyknocker a regular stop for dinner-lunch on the way home from snowboarding. Great alternative to lunch at the ski resort!

(03/02/2004)














(0.09 seconds) 10:17:51 54.242.85.89, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS