PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dave
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 15, 2014 @ 04:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dave

Beer Reviews
(18)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

18
Beer Reviews from dave
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Steelhead Brewing Company, Burlingame, CA

No review in 4 years, now 2 within a couple of weeks. This was my first visit to this Steelhead(i have been to one in Portland) and I have to agree with the previos review. The bartender was great, the beers and the food very good, and a neat atmosphere. I will definitley be back again.

(07/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Bowie, MD

Sampled a few beers and all were very good. Settled on the Red(can't remember the name. Guess I had too many) Had the Misfit wings and chips. They both were very good. I will definitely stop by again when in the area. Only bad thing, they were out of growlers(I collect them). Oh well, guess I'll have to go back.

(06/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

They have reopened and have a new brewmaster. The beers were decent. They had 4 of their own on tap (IPA, Amber, Porter and Summer Blonde). Tried all axcept for the Blonde. All were drinkable with the porter being the best. They said it has been a rough start up. They nhad to dump a bunch of beer. The wings are pretty good as well as the potato skins. It is a nice place with a friendly staff. I guess it turns into a dance club late night. It is still very hard to find, but if you don't like it, there are other bars in the plaza.

(09/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: McClellan's Grill and Brewing Company, Canon City, CO

Was visiting the Royal Gorge and decided to check out downtown Canon City and discovered a very nice brewpub along the way. Tried a sample of the Impale Ale. It was a very nice IPA. While sitting at the bar, the Brewmaster (Jeff)stopped by and the bartender (Rick)commented on the Porter, so I tried a sample. It was very smooth, one of the better porters I have tasted. I ended up having a couple of them. When I was leaving, Jeff and I noticed that almost everyone at the bar was drinking a porter. They've only been open a few weeks, but are doing a very nice job of ramping up their beer selection. I had the Shepards Pie for dinner and it was great. The staff was extremely friendly and the atmosphere was nice. If you are ever in the area, I highly recomend stopping by.

(07/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Shamrock Brewing Company, Pueblo, CO

The Scotch Ale was fantastic, but very strong(10%), and the Irish Red was very smooth. Had the open faced Reuben, and it was very good. Definately recomend stopping by.

(07/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

I guess I forgot to give this place a review when I was here last October. I loved it so much, that this business trip, I made sure to get a hotel close to the brewery. The beers are all excellent and the food is very good. I've had the Reuben and the cajun chicken sandwich, and both were fantastic. I can't seem to settle on one particular beer, because they all are great. If you like an IPA, try the Hop Knot. The atmosphere is great, but parking can be a bit of a pain. It was a 115 degrees out yesterday, and it was very comfortable inside. I also noticed a lot of people sitting outside, but I'm not that brave. I highly reccomend stopping by if you are in the area.

(07/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Bricktown Brewery and Blackwater Grill, Dubuque , IA

My girlfriend and I tried a sampler paddle(not really a paddle)and had a hard time settling on a beer because none were that good. We thought the Scottish and the Basster ale were the two that we could drink. We then tried a couple of appetizers and they were decent. The bartender was a little slow getting beers to us and they weren't that busy. We only stuck around because we were watching the Badger/Hawkeye basketball game. It is amazing that after a few beers they started to taste better. We decided to buy a growler of beer and take it back to Madison with us and when we opened it the next day we realized that we really didn't like it. It is a nice place though and the staff is friendly.

(02/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewery, Meridian, ID

The bartender was very knowledgeable on their beers and was very helpful with the tasters so I could decide on one. I settled on the buttface amber. It is a very smooth beer. They have a very good selection of beers, and they all were tasty. I just had an appetizer sampler platter and it was ok, nothing spectacular, but good enough. It was a pretty friendly place to hang out at.

(02/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Tablerock Brewpub and Grill, Boise, ID

I only just stopped in for lunch on my way to the airport. I had the Scottish ale and it was fantastic. It looked like they had a pretty good selection of beers and the atmosphere was nice. My waitress was relatively knowledgeable on their beers even though she said she wasn't much of a beer drinker. I wish I had been working in Boise(I was working in Nampa) so I could have given this a little more time and tried a few more beers, but if I ever get back there for work, I will definately hang out there.

(02/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company, Fitchburg, WI

Like both the Madison and the Fitchburg locations. Hear they are opening at Hilldale also but can't brew there because of some Wisconsin law limiting the amount of brewpubs one owner can have(or something like that). Anyway, their beers are fantastic and the service is usually pretty good. Both locations have outdoor seating, which is great when it's nice out. Both have different atmospheres though, so you have to try both places out.

(01/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: J.T. Whitney's Brewpub and Eatery, Madison, WI

The atmosphere is ok, but nothing to write home about. The beers however, are worth writing home about. The selection is well above average and they all taste great. It is worth stopping by.

(01/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ale Asylum, Madison, WI

This place doesn't look like much on the outside, but it has a pretty cool atmosphere on the inside. The beer selection is fantastic and they all taste great. My girlfriend and I tried a sampler platter and both liked every beer on the tray. We settled on the Nut Brown and purchased a growler to take to a party. The people that tried it there just loved it also. The staff is extremely knowledgeable on their beers and very friendly. I highly recommend stopping by if you are in the area.

(01/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Royal Oak Brewery, Royal Oak, MI

I'm not sure what evryone is complaining about. I had great service at the Royal Oak. I suppose on any given day, anywhere, you can get bad service, though. Any way, I was in town and I heard the city of Royal Oak had an abundance of microbreweries. I decided on the one with the home town name. I sat at the bar, and both bartenders took excellent care of me. Although the one seemed to be a little unfriendly, she never let my beer run out. The choices of beers were really good, especially the seasonals. I had the pizza and it was not to bad, either. I would definately go back if I'm in the area again. They also have a bar and dining area outside that looked pretty nice.

(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Etouffee, Southfield, MI

Thought I might have been under dressed for this place, but I wasn't. It seems like it would be expensive, but it is very reasonable. The only beers they have are those that they brew there. I only had the IPA, but I ended up having a few, because it was one of the best IPA's I have had in a long time. I met the brewmaster Marty, and he gave me a personal tour of the brewery. He seemed to love his craft, which tells me he knows how to brew a great beer, and I think he does a great job with his beers. I think this place is too well a kept secret, that more people should check out. It is a little hard to find, but well worth it if you do. The food is fantastic, the atmosphere is great, and the beer is top-notch.

(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A Good Great Great

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

Tried a few of the seasonal brews and they were all excellent. The food was good, but nothing to write home about. The bartender was very knowledgable and never let my beer get empty. Will definately visit again if I am in town.

(08/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Callahan's Pub and Brewery, San Diego, CA

Was a little leary about going there, since there hasn't been a review since 2004, but talked the guys I was with into checking it out. Got there at about 5pm and the place was very busy. We were greeted right away, and as soon as we sat down, we had a very friendly waitress taking care of us. I was with two guys who don't like micro-brewed beers, so it was good that they had a large selection of other beers. I tried the Old Thornton 1st. It was tasty but high in alcohol content so I switched to the red. It was very good, so good that I bought a growler to drink im my hotel room. I had the Corn Beef and Cabbage, and it was great. Everybody liked the food. Would recomend going Callahan's if your in the area.

(06/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Capital Brewery Company, Incorporated, Middleton, WI

I love just about every one of their brews. My girlfriend loves the new Island Wheat. The gift shop is pretty cool. They get a pretty good crowd in the beer garden when it is nice out. I highly recomend taking a tour, meeting Kirby and enjoying a few beers.

(05/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Great

Establishment: Tustin Brewing Company, Tustin, CA

The Stout is fantastic. The Red was also very tasty. Their onion rings are excellent and the "pork wings" were very good. The prices were reasonable. The only problem I had was, the bartender kept letting me run out of beer and it also seemed to take an unusually long time for the food. They weren't very busy at the time.

(04/11/2006)














(0.088 seconds) 04:29:08 54.90.200.228, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS