PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dave keller
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 23, 2014 @ 11:44 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dave keller

Beer Reviews
(16)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

16
Beer Reviews from dave keller
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Yak and Yeti, Arvada, CO

This is the most under-rated brewpub on the planet, and I say that after capping a three-day northern Colorado beer tour.

Food: Byryani 3-meat combo was totally delicious; each meat (chicken/pork/shrimp) was distinguishable and tasty within basically spiced fried rice; the previous reviewer's comments about people phoning in pick-up orders still holds.

And the beer! I had the sampler platter: Amber Jalapeno Lena Sherpa Porter: good bitey porter Off Kilter Scotch Ale. Pilsner: nasty Belgian Blonde: Finish was wonderfully tacky in feeling, creamy, want to chew it. Honey Wheat Oak no-gluten DIPA: Wonderfully bittersweet, different; NOT big in the mouthfeel; the bittering is mellow…it has NO mouthfeel, and the flavor, the bittering texture and the nose. Unbelievable! Chai Milk Stout: Delicious! Himalayan IPA: Great grass/piney/floral/hoppy/semi-bitter well balanced.

I'll put these 10 beers up against anyone's in Denver/Boulder/Loveland/Longmont/Fort Collins.

(02/18/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Weston Brewing Company, Weston, MO

Only tried the stout (not on their web menu so either new or seasonal). One of the most delightful beverages I've had the pleasure of drinking: slightly coffee, slight chocolate, bit dry, bit creamy, bit bitter...but that's all missing the point that it's yummy and made me relax and smile and was seductively drinkable. Going for a "light" meal had the 4-cheese and ham "pie" (fine), veggie side was actually quite tasty, and the "cheese ale" soup was very good.

Ratings a bit tentative due to short visit and not sampling enough food/beverage.

LOCATION a block off of Main St downtown, so either ask a local or drive around.

(07/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Potosi Brewing Company, Potosi, Wi

Non-profit brewery AND museum w/ 17 member Board of Directors. Looks "new" for an old brewery. "Cave" amber beer a bit dry (English Malts?), nice doughy texture, modest malty...would love to drink it all evening on the large patio. "Snake" IPA was surprisingly delicious orange-pineapple-grapefruit hops; very refreshing; lots of flavor so I took a good swig and just enjoyed it for several minutes between swigs. 5 (6?) total beers including "regular" Potosi and root beer I think. Worth the 10 min / 10 mile drive north off of Dickeyville. Someone else will have to evaluate the $7 museum and try the restaurant food.

(05/31/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: The Brass Monkey Sports Bar, Omaha, NE

Bartender good with helping customers try micros. Several Nebraska brews. Intriguing selection of roughly one of each popular national microbreweries, plenty enough for beer snobs (ahem...like me). TV screens line two sides of the room, jukebox on loud. Beer selection would seem to be pretty impressive for a neighborhood bar with a popcorn machine. Lot closer to Sarpy County than Crescent Moon (but it is still no Crescent Moon). Bud is available. I had the Shillingbridge (a Nebraska winery/brewery) Scotch Ale, a very positive mouth-feel, well-carbonated and malty version of the style...impressed.

(02/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Carlyle Brewing Company, Rockford, IL

Octoberfest, which has the proper sort of nutty taste and mouthfeel, good not great (I wouldn't turn one down!). Their seasonal Old Ale was hoppier than in other years, quite excellent. Stout was...perfect! An amazing dark-roasted malty smell never, ever faded even with only 1 oz left. Bit of a hops taste on the tongue, a great semi-burned chocolate/coffee taste (really roasted malt), and an excellent persistent finish in the throat/nose. Not thick or dry, just phenomenal flavors...Porter-ish actually. Sandwiches are getting better, locally made chips were fine. Bar customers always friendly. Hey, didn't PubCrawler used to have an "atmosphere" section? Carlyle would rate high on Atmosphere. One of the finest two hours of my vacation.

(10/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Dario's Brasserie, Omaha, NE

60 Belgians and Lambics. Only downside is the bartender in the bar area is probably over-worked; but you're probably not in a hurry if you are there anyway. No bleeping TV (good!). Nice "classy" atmosphere, but blue-collar appreciators of Belgians are regulars at Dario's.

(05/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dario's Brasserie, Omaha, NE

Belgians, Belgians, Belgians. How many Belgians are in 4 pages of a beer menu? (Must be over 60 Belgians). The menu at the bar is 4 pages, the website has only 2 pages (there is an insert in the bar beer list). A regular customer "Dave" shared with me a sip of Duchesse de Bourgogne (very unusual "sour" beer); I had a Belzebuth. They've got "8" and "10" and "12", Kwak, Kasteel, Rochfort, many more. This really puts Omaha on the map. Dario's does NOT HAVE ANY 'BEER' glassware; nothing you'd call a "stein"; no glassware with handles; but several varieties of "proper" glassware. Wow. Life...is good. Very nice, almost "classy" atmosphere. Excellent and appropriate modern blusey modern jazz. No bleeping television screens.

(04/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Cedar Brewing Company, Cedar Rapids, IA

Had "Tilted Kilt", one of the seasonals; was told it was a "red" like Killians but more hoppy. Too much like Killians I'd say...tolerable but with minimum flavor or mouthfeel. I'm guessing most of their beers will be made to appeal to the masses...although one waitress appeared to be quite knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the beers.

(04/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Schilling Bridge Winery and MicroBrewery, Pawnee City, NE

Attended a mystery theater dinner (dinner was "good" but food not normally available for the establishment). I believe 3 beers available, I chose 70 Shilling Bridge...a medium brown, refreshing for a summer's day, medium and decent lasting presence and mouthfeel, fine for summer or if you like brown-ish type beers with or without food any time of year. // Wine selection and quality is also good...they bill themselves as the nation's first winery/microbrew combination, “Bridging the gap between the Wine Connoisseur & the Beer Enthusiast” TM. Good luck to them.

(06/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Awesome!

Establishment: Carlyle Brewing Company, Rockford, IL

The great thing about brewpub hopping is that you never know when you will go into a place, even after looking at all the recent Pubcrawler reviews, and find Nectar Of The Gods. At the Carlisle, it was called "American Strong Ale". Whatever, it makes no sense to me. It was apple cider brown in color. Upon first swallow, it seemed as if there were really some kind of pulp in it. Upon swallowing, the hops nature screams at you, insisting that it is a hop-head beer. There is a terrific, long-lasting aftertaste. I wanted to stick my finger in it and scrape out whatever was making it so good. As I drink more of it, I sense the exotic spices and/or possible fruits that are in it. However, it is NOT citrusy at all. This beer is just to unique, too unusual, and too complex for me to get a total grip on. Medium mouth-feel, for whatever that is worth, and it is pretty light, not heavy feeling at all. As I poured some out of my growler tonight, I could smell it easily from several feet away. If I seem to be way to emotional about this, I don't care. I would be keeping this beer secret, except that I already have my growler, I'm drinking it now, and I won't be in Rockford for quite some time. So buy the rest of it, I don't care, I have mine. // This place is more unique than the reviews have indicated. There is nothing here but house-brewed beer, and the Easy-To-Prepare-Food items: the Italian Beef is the only substantial food, also braunschweiger and onion sandwich, cheese platter, brats (which I was afraid to try). So the only thing they have is "Snob Beers", and basically forget the food. I cannot see how the place stays open without any catering whatsoever to the lowest common denominator. The bartender, Steve, stayed with customers for several minutes each, explaining each beer that they asked about. Beer menu was on the bar already, very neat. // By the way, a very darn good Octoberfest, moderate bite, great German type of Octoberfest flavor, medium body, only "terrific" compared to Nectar Of The Gods (Strong Ale). Food, service here really don't matter at this establishment, except get the Italian Beef sandwich as a foundation to the alcohol. Stay away from the pretzels. They were doughy out of the microwave, but again, nothing could detract from the fine beer. RUN, DON'T WALK TO THIS PLACE. Damn nice atmosphere...extremely comfortable. I've just finished my third 1/2 liter glass from the growler...I don't know how a beer can feel so light and be so tasty.

(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR

Run, don't walk. 100 on tap including Alaskan Amber and Victory Hopdevil, and several from Deschutes which I just didn't have time to try. "Dave" (the bartender, not me) was very friendly, cool, knowledgeable about beer, and laid back. Bar atmosphere is relaxed in spite of the industrial-techno look of the bar. Smokestack in alley is a real sight, especially at night. Restaurant in separate room seemed more conventional in atmosphere. Brewers approach Henry's to have their beers served there (according to Dave). What are you reading this for, there are 100 beers on tap...

(10/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery, Portland, OR

Agree with others: wouldn't avoid BJ's at all. Food: BBQ chicken salad sounds boring, but great with sparse but potent sauce and many veggies in it. Brownie sunday was similarly better than you'd expect. Had an IPA that was just fine, and their pumpkin spice had a slightly different dimension, a nice tang to it that set it apart from other boring pumpkin spice. Servers helpful, friendly. I'd go again in spite of other great places in town.

(10/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Upstream Brewing Company West, Omaha, NE

New, April 2004. Visible from Center Rd, it is nevertheless hard to get to...you may have to drive around the block depending on which direction you come from. Had a truly awesome dunkelweisen incorrectly called dopplebock by staff...just a slip because the beer was so new. Ate a well-done buffalo chicken with great fresh ingredients. Service was great, as it was 4 in the afternoon.

(04/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Bricktown Brewery and Blackwater Grill, Dubuque , IA

Great food. Tried two beers: the Oktoberfest, which was light in body but dark in color and taste: refreshing odor and refreshing overall. "Bliizen", their winter brew: carmelly, dark tasting, bitter and sweet at the same time...like a classic German brew...you want to chew it, definitely sip it. Food: great appetizer: black bean dip with blue cheese, and various stuff to dip in it. Obscenely rich, a meal in itself. Entree: 'Cajun' ribeye with a not hot but tasty spicy sauce...I'd recommend it. Server seemed able to only do one thing at a time...was not able to pick up menus from one table, and ask anyone else if they wanted another beer...that had to wait for another trip. In spite of this shortcoming, a fine brewpub and restaurant, and the service was still 'ok'.

(12/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Viking Brewing Company, Dallas, WI

Had Big Swede, a fine stout, and "Whole Stein": "A Coffee Flavord Oatmeal Milk Porter". This was heavenly.

(07/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Belt Brewing Company Restaurant and Pub, Saint Joseph, MO

I stopped by at 8:30 pm saturday: half full, prompt service, and a fellow playing Irish stuff. --//-- They offered 4 'light' beers, a brown and a stout. The stout was a good, 'not bitter' brew with good body and depth. They gave me a sample of their Brown, which surprised me since it was refreshing, cooling, and had the flavor and slippery texture of a delicate amber. --//-- Food was a fine cajun-spiced pasta dish.

(05/01/2002)














(0.102 seconds) 23:44:42 23.20.44.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS