PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dave johnson
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 21, 2014 @ 09:36 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dave johnson

Beer Reviews
(10)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

10
Beer Reviews from dave johnson
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Four Sons Brewery, Titusville, PA

Overall the brews were good, if your taste leans toward the malt flavors, and away from hops. The titusville lager was an enjoyable lighter beer, and the plissken ale was the only one of the seven on tap brews that I could taste any hops in at all. The service was lacking, our server seemed to disappear for extended periods. Our group heard apologies more than anything else from the waitstaff in general. The onion soup was very good, the bruchetta had too many conflicting flavors in it, but other than those the food was not noteworthy in either direction.

Four Sons is a good try for a small town. If they can improve their service, and add some hops to the brews I might make the 90 minute trek to try it again.

(03/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

Dinner with friends, some vegetarians with us. They were impressed with the veg. selections. Great fall seasonal selections for the beers. The table above the ramp shoudln't be considered "non-smoking", though, as it was wide open to the bar (smoking) area.

(10/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company, Duncansville, PA

There is no better way to cook a pizza than a brick oven. Really enjoyed the food. The beer was good, although the light lager was a bit of a disappointment. Good selection with 6 regular beers and 2 rotating seasonals. Suggest that the seasonals be included in the sampler, and that a beer menu for reference be left on the table so people could keep it fresh in mind what they are sampling. The IPA and Stout more than made up for it. Would definitely visit again next time I am in Altoona.

(09/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Bethlehem Brew Works, Bethlehem, PA

Had a very tasty hard cider on tap in the sampler...which my wife hoarded, and the selection was a little low as I was told there was jsut a big music festival, and they were still in the middle of brewing new batches. Anyway, the food was delicious, and the beer was still good as well. Will definitely stop by next time I am passing through.

(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

Went out of my way coming back from NYC to Western PA to visit the Bullfrog. It was definitely worth the trip. A very good selection remained in spite of the little league World series going on. Food was delicious, esp the onion soup. Next time I am through that way I will definitely stop!

(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Times Square Brewery, New York, NY

Nice new location, much bigger. Good beer & food. I have to say there was nothing exciting or daring in the beer selection, no stouts or porters for the variety. What they did have was quite enjoyable.

(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

I have been back three times since my first visit. I keep trying to find something more substantial to complain about other than no logo pint glasses, and I have had no luck. Everything is still as great as my first (albeit lengthy) review stated. I guess I will have to keep going back (again and again and again if I have to) in a hopefully fruitless search to find anything less that stellar at North Country.

(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Cleveland Chophouse and Brewery, Cleveland, OH

Hit the Chophouse and was surprised to encounter a brunch buffet. Discovered that the brunch alone would be enough reason to enjoy this establishment. The decor in the vintage building was wonderful. The beer overall (I have to agree with a previous reviewer) was a bit "thin", especially the Irish Stout. In spite of that, the flavors of all the beers were good to great, but they were insubstantial as far the textures go. The upside might be that one could enjoy several of the Stouts without getting filled up. P.S.-Hats off to the bus staff working this morning---no dirty (buffet) plate stayed on our group's table for more than 30 seconds after we were finished with it.

(04/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

I made the short trip to Slippery Rock for the sole purpose of visiting North County for lunch. I have to say that I was not disappointed in the slightest. They had a total of 12 brews on tap. Got a sampler of all of them. They were all well balanced and very tasty. Notable comments: Though I am not a fan of the fruit beers, I found the Fruit Bowl ale (currently strawberrry) quite tasty. It is probably the best tasting fruit-accented beer I hav had in a long time. I also was not very impressed with the Candy A** ale. It seemed a little too sweet, more of a novelty beer if you ask me. Scottish Ales are also not typically near the top of my favorites list, but the McCleod's Ewe was delicious. Very well balalnced without being over-malted. I would go to NCB again in a heartbeat for a single pint of the Buck Snort Stout, Friar's Porter, Paleo IPA, or the Station 33 Firehouse Red alone. They were all top-notch in their own genre. I have to comment that the Northern Lite was quite surprising. At first glance, when served the color is so light, you would expect no flavor. That is where the surprise is. There was quite a lot of flavor for how light this beer is. It would definitely satisfy those too afraid or unrefined to drink full bodied beer. The other brews we had were a Dry Stout, a pale ale, light-amber ale, and a golden ale. They were all very good, and should please anyone whose tastes lean to those particular styles. The food was all very good. We enjoyed the pretzels and the Ploughman's platter for appetizers. My table had burgers and sandwiches which were also very good. I can't wait to go in the evening and try their dinner selections. I also have to agree with the reviews of the decor. There was a lot of time, effort and care that went into the decor of the whole building. It would be worth the 10 minute trip off of I79 just to walk through to see what beautiful things that can be done with antique, natural, and authentic materials in the hands of a skilled craftsman. It is rustic without looking contrived. All in all I highly recommend North Country and look forward to my next visit. I hope they get logo pints, so I can add one to my collection (hint,hint!)

(03/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Southern Tier Brewing Company, Lakewood, NY

I Visited Southern Tier in Late July. At first glance, the building appeared empty, but one of the brewmasters, Phineas, was down the hall in the tasting room. A tour group had just left, so he invited my wife and I to sample some of the varieties until more people arrived and the first tour came back. Not long after, more people came in and the first tour came in from the brewery floor. Phineas guided our toor, (beer in hand) and it is evident he loves his Art, and is very knowledgeable about the brewing process. On to the beers. I had sampled them all in bottles previously, with the exception of the Hop Sun. I was already a big fan, but the fresh-from-the-tap-never-left-the-brewery beer was better than I could have imagined. The Pilsner has the lightest flavor, and is quite an enjoyable mellow beer. The Mild Ale is much more full-flavored and more what I look for in a quality Ale. The IPA offered by Southern Tier has got the hoppy punch one looks for in an IPA. This one can hold its own in any crowd. The Porter is my personal favorite with the dark undertones one should expect from a great dark beer, but without anything overpowering to detract from the beer experience. We also sampled the summer seasonal brew the Hop Sun. This has got to be the perfect summer beer. Enough of the hops to give it plenty of flavor, but no so much as to make the taste overpowering, or to make you ever want to stop drinking it. In a nutshell, every one of Southern Tier's beers is in a word, drinkable. The varieties are all variations on the theme that great beer is brewed to be enjoyed. These are all great beers. If you get the opportunity to try Southern Tier, or stop by on a Saturday...DO IT! I have personally adopted their sloagan as my own at home...... "its what we drink around here"

(08/17/2004)














(0.054 seconds) 09:36:04 54.90.195.67, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS