PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dan
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 28, 2014 @ 02:50 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dan

Beer Reviews
(35)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

35
Beer Reviews from dan
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Eldos Grill and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Now it is Wunder Beer, but I am under the impression that it is the same owners as Eldos. Still undrinkable crap.

(12/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Good Great Good

Establishment: Brew It Up! Personal Brewery and Grill, Sacramento, CA

I just don't like their beer. They have 24 taps, you would think that they would have something that is good, but the quality is just poor. When they first opened, I would have given the beer a "Great" rating, but they have let quality slide considerably.

Food is VERY overpriced. Burgers are around $10, for example.

(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Fox and Goose, Sacramento, CA

The Fox and Goose is Sacramento's best English Pub. 16 taps, I believe, with a smattering of German, Belgian and American beers among the traditional English pub ales. They have lots of live music, mostly folky/ country/ Americana.

The BEST BEST BEST breakfast in town!!!!

(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Hoppy Brewing Company, Sacramento, CA

Hoppy usually has 9 regular beers and two seasonals which are all good but none are particularly outstanding. The food is OK. Definitely worth checking out.

(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! So So So So So So

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Sacramento, CA

Meh, not very impressive. Pyramid's beers, for the most part, are light in flavor, unassuming, and perfect for the average person who likes to think that they are drinking a microbrewed beer without having to be turned off by all that taste.

A few of the 16 or so that are on tap are pretty good. The hefeweizen is very good.

Pyramid also owns the Portland Brewing Compamy's former line up, so you can also find the Mactarnahan's beers.

In general, the service here is terrible, although I have noticed an improvement the last few times I have visited. Yes, I dislike the place but am frequently meeting friends here and biting my tongue.

If you are looking for good beer, go east 10 blocks to Rubicon or west 7 blocks to River City Brewing.

(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Elk Grove Brewery and Restaurant, Elk Grove, CA

A tremendous brewpub in every way. Usually 12 beers on tap, every one of them is high in quality and perfectly in style. Great food, although a little pricey. Awesome service. Bill, the brewer, if frequently there and is very friendly.

(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Rubicon Brewing Company, Sacramento, CA

Rubicon is the best brewpub in Sacramento, hands down. Their seasonal beers are consistantly outstanding and the regular brews are great. Rubicon has 7-9 on tap, usually with 2 seasonals. Good quality and reasonably priced pub food. This is also the unofficial second home of Two Rivers Cider, which is one of the best ciders in the US.

A true, local neighborhood brewpub that supports the community and is filled with locals.

(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Triple Rock Brewing Company, Berkeley, CA

A high quality, local brewpub with great beer and pub food. I prefer TR's darker beers, such as the Dragon's Milk, Stonehenge Stout, Tree Frog and the (seasonal) Death Star Stout. The IPAX is also very good.

(Gee, J. King, could you possibly be from STANFORD?)

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Eldos Grill and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Bleh. Flavorless beer absent of any character or body. So disappointing, as this is the former location of the Golden Gate Park Brewery, which was awesome.

Not worth a trip even to try it.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Toronado, San Francisco, CA

Look, you whiney pansies. This is a BAR. It is NOT a tasting room or a brewery. You order a beer or get the hell out of the way. Do you walk into your corner pub and ask for free samples? Do you ask the bartenders to recommend "something good"?

The Toronado has the best selection of West coast beers you can find. Period. I'm sorry that you are not familiar with many of them, that's because they are RARE and HARD TO FIND. The best way to determine if you like a beer is BUY IT and DRINK IT.

Yes, the bartenders can be gruff and short-tempered. Did you happen to show up on a Saturday night when the place is wall to wall with patrons? Try going during the day, when all pints are $2.50-$3.50 and there are only 5-10 people there. You will have a better experience.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Suppenkuche, San Francisco, CA

Oh, my, my, my. I can't say enough good things about the beer at Suppenkuche. The best on-tap German beer selection I have seen in the US. You do not want to miss this place if you have any interest in German beer and cuisine.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Plough and Stars, San Francisco, CA

One of the most authentic Irish pubs outside of the Emerald Isle.

The BEST pint of Guinness you will find. A great place for live music.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Las Vegas, Las Vegas, NV

Ah, the real deal. Fresh German beer imported and served for you in a 50 gallon stein. Well, it seemed that big. The Disneyland-esqe quality is a little creepy, what with the artificial skyline and the never-ending oompa-band. Always Oktoberfest here!!!

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Just terrible. You almost have to throw things at the waitresses to get their attention. The beers were bad. The pizza was bad.

Typical Vegas Brewery/Casino. Is Vegas the worst brewtown in the United States???

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Typical Las Vegas Brewery/Casino. By that, I mean that the place happens to make beer, but is nothing that any self-respecting beer drinker would go out of their way to patronize.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Red, White and Brew, Redding, CA

I love this place. Anytime I am passing through Redding, I always stop, grab a pint and chat with the owner.

15 or so taps, nothing special, just good quality West Coast Brews. Also a strong supporter of local music.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Double Springs Brewing Company, Mokelumne Hill, CA

CLOSED

Too bad.

Check out the Homebrew store.

8345 Main St. Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245 (209) 286-0506

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Sequoia Brewing Company, Fresno, CA

First, this used to be called Butterfield Brewing.

The best beer in the area! Sequoia has great beers across the spectrum, from the Kolsch to the stout.

I would eat a few blocks down the street, though...The tower district has the best restaurants in Fresno.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Iron Door Saloon, Groveland, CA

Ah, the Iron Door Saloon. Good stiff drinks and more history than you can shake a stick at. Sometimes there is live music. Sometimes, there are very odd and drunk locals. I believe that this is the oldest continuously operating pub in California.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Saint Stan's Brewery, Pub and Restaurant, Modesto, CA

CLOSED

...and thank god, the quality of this once great brewpub had seriously degraded in the past years.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Lousy Great

Establishment: Valley Brewing Company, Stockton, CA

I am torn. While I love the beer, I absolutely hate the owner and the management. If this wasn't the only place in Stockton to get a good beer, I would never return.

The seasonals are especially fantastic, as Steve is always experimenting and getting better and better. The IPA is the best of the regular pours.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Lodi Beer Company, Lodi, CA

A new addition to the Central Valley. Lodi Brewing has good beer, but nothing that really stands out as an excellent creation. Absolutely beautiful location, I wish them the best of luck and expect great things for them!

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Manhattan Beach Brewing Company, Manhattan Beach, CA

Another of the LA beach breweries that all seem to be the same place. Someone needs to clean the lines or the tanks in this place because the beers are start to bleed into each other with the same musty taste. Not recommended.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Bonaventure Brewing Company, Los Angeles, CA

Yuppie beer, that is brewed to be as inoffensive as possible. Gravity is so low you'll swear this beer was made in outer space.

(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Great

Establishment: Second Street Brewery, Santa Fe, NM

I had a great time here! The day I visited, the place was full of beer tourists from across the country all sporting their gear. Many of us wandered from table to table asking where everyone was from and comparing notes.

This place is definitely a destination for locals and those seeking good beer, not not for the typical tourist. It is out of the way and hidden in a more industrial part of Santa Fe.

I loved the IPA, pale ale, nut brown and the stout.

The food and atmosphere were great. Service was tough but they were a server short. Live music, too!

(10/16/2006)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.304 seconds) 02:50:00 50.16.75.46, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS