PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dan vanderkooi
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 19, 2014 @ 12:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dan vanderkooi

Beer Reviews
(26)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

26
Beer Reviews from dan vanderkooi
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Lumber Barons' Charcoal Grill and Brew Pub, Bay City, MI

Tried the IPA and the wheat - authentic style German wheat beer, and I think the IPA was the better of the two - I tried the Cajun catfish and was happy - getting seated and waiting for the food was on the slow side even though there weren't many people there but the server did his best to accommodate us Atmosphere wasn't necessarily anything special either, but still overall was a great experience.

(05/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Bonfire Bistro and Brewery, Northville, MI

I was a little disapointed having been to Grand Rapids brewing company (owned by the same company)

however, still not a bad place with decent beer and food. We had the wood-fired pizza, and Could have done more with the theme.

(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Big Rock Chop and Brew House, Birmingham, MI

This is a nice place but very expensive and the beer I had was not very good (I had the "blond" their attempt at a light beer which of course is a difficult brew to tackle ) This cost me $5 plus tax and tip.

There was quite a wait when I got there so my wife and I decided to sit at the bar. The bartended was obviously too busy (we didn't even get acknowledged ) so we decided to head upstairs where there was immediate seating. However, only the blond was available up there so I stuck with that. We decided not to get any food after looking at the prices on the menu. If I was rich, I might give this place another try. Then again, maybe not.

(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Thunder Bay Brewing Company was Alcatraz Brewing, Auburn Hills, MI

From what I understand, the beers here are brewed by the same brewmaster that brews for Etouffee in southfield. The emphasis there was on stronger brews, here the emphasis seemed to be on not as strong (7% or under) The beer was good, but I only had the chips and salsa to eat. The atmosphere is pretty much the same as when it was Alcatraz, just changed the theme to North Michigan (The jail bars are gone and the bridge now represents the mackinac) Not bad for a brewery that is located in a shopping mall.

(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Great Good

Establishment: Travelers Club Restaurant / Tuba Charlie's Brewpub, Okemos , MI

According to the waiter, the only beer they currently serve that is their own is a pale ale. Also, it is no longer brewed there but brewed for them by Michigan brewing company. It may soon be available in bottles. Not a bad pale ale, but no longer being brewed at their location. Very interesting place with several Michigan brewed beers on tap. I also tried a trippel from Dragonmeand while I was there and had a buffalo burger.

(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Etouffee, Southfield, MI

I tried the Imperial IPA, which was excellent. I was going to also order the brown but they had replaced it was a heffewiezen. I think they had about 6 beers on tap, with at least three being very strong in alcohol. (Imperial Stout and doppelbock were two of the others I believe) Excellent cajun theme and menu. I had the catfish my wife had the chicken - we were both pleased. very nice atmosphere and live jazz when we were there.

(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Arbor Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

I had olde no. 22 (alt) and the cask porter, both great. they four higher gravity beers on tap. I plan on going back to try those sometime. Brought my family this time, we all liked the food except for my wife, who had some kind of pasta. I'm not a pasta person so I can't comment on that.

(02/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hair of the Frog Brewery, Grand Rapids, MI

Can anyone verify if this place is still open? I just stopped by Tonight (Wed. Evening Feb 11) and they were closed. My recollection is that they were only closed on Mondays. It's been less than a month since last time I've been there, and there wasn't any signs of them closing. I've also noticed most everything has been taken off their web page.

(02/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Robert Thomas Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Just an update: Jan 20, 2004

Happy to report Robert Thomas is alive & well. They currently are offering three brews on tap: the porter, stout, & I think the par 5 pale ale. Same ownership as always, however, they are going to try to market it again in the spring. No plans to close at this date. --

(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated, Kalamazoo, MI

16 beers on tap, great variety. Happy hour prices (until 8 PM) monday through Friday, $2.50 for a pint, and $7 growlers. Something for everyone. I tried the Blackberry Dunkel & the ESB. Also, they have very interesting bands play here.

(01/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: New Holland Brewing Company, Holland, MI

(12/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Grand Rapids Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

I tried the Silver Foam & The River City Red which were both very good. I also had the cask-conditioned pale ale, which was my first experience with cask-conditioned ales... wonderful. I think they had 10 beers on tape, a Munich Dunkel, an ESB, and octoborfest were there specialty brews, I had to get a growler of the ESB to go. The soft pretzels are awesome for an apetizer the rest of the food was just average.

(10/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse #2, Grand Rapids, MI

This location closed today. not a real suprise considering the dismal financial news.... I'll miss this place, but Grand Rapids has better breweries.

(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

at least 14 beers on tap- food: just a lunch menu with soup & sandwiches. service: one waitress for the whole place working the bar too, but she did a good job. warning- I got locked in the men's room, hopefully they get the door fixed. Anyways just knock real loud and someone will let you out

(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Robert Thomas Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Apparently the brewery is for sale for $350,000- that's the equipment and the labels/recipes/etc. The building itself is leased. So anyway, they've scaled back somewhat since their future is indefinite. They only had three beers on tap when I was there, that's the stout, amber and roffey's lancaster pale. They also were offering the porter in bottles. They had a limited food menu but I didn't have anything to eat. They were hoping to know more in the next couple weeks about what was going on....

(09/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Hair of the Frog Brewery, Grand Rapids, MI

I believe they had 9 beers on tap. Everything from Pilsners to Stouts ... I tried one of the IPA's & the Copper Lager, both good. I didn't have any food although they do offer snacks, and meals on the weekends.

(09/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Old Boys' Brew House, Spring Lake, MI

Stopped in to my growler refilled, tried their new octoberfest, it was nothing special. Didn't try the food this time, but I've had it many times before and it's decent. I am little biased also since this brewery is the closest one to where I live, however, the longer trip to Ludington or Grand Rapids is worth it as there are better breweries to be found at those locations. I've tried updating the URL on this one for awhile and it doesn't seem to work so I'll just give it to you here: www.old-boys.net

(08/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Jamesport Brewing Company, Ludington, MI

One of my favorites-- never dissapointed. They had at least 10 beers inculding 5 regular & 5 seasonal. Everything from Cream Ale to Scottish Strong, I tried them both.... On their lunch menu, I tried the chicken fahita wrap which was excellent. Also as an apetizer the pretzels with spicy peanut sauce our delicious....

(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Rochester Mills Beer Company, Rochester, MI

They didn't have any special brews on tap when I went, but they do have 9 regular beers which were all available. I tried the Wheat & the Red. I thought the Red was a little weak, but the Wheat was about right. I had the blackened catfish and was the best I've had. My wife had the burger which she said was great. Looks like they have bands on Friday & Saturdays. They also have trivia.

(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Lily's Seafood Grill and Brewery, Royal Oak, MI

Neat place. Went there for brunch on Sunday. Opens at 11, if you're from out of State, keep in mind that they can't serve beer until noon. Had some waffle bites or something like that for an appetizer, and the catfish wrap. My wife had a chicken sandwich. Food was excellent. My wife enjoyed the Root Beer as well. The beer left a bit too be desired though. They had 6 beers: A light, red, stout, honey ale, wheat, and B.S.A (Big Summer Ale). I had the BSA, dissapointing as a summer beer. Was too sweet & dark for my tastes. Thought the beer @ Royal Oak brewery a few blocks away was much better...

(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Royal Oak Brewery, Royal Oak, MI

I had the ESB with some chips & cheese. They were both excellent. I believe they had 5 beers on tap, nothing besides their regular brews at the time I went, and they were all out of the Red. The atmosphere was good, it's a little on the noisy side...

(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

I only tried the Cherry Wheat, tastes just like Sam Adams Cherry Wheat, if not better. The food was very good too. I had Walleye which was on special, my friend had the burrito which he said was excellent. They offered three specailty brews in addition to their regular offerings including an IPA. Stopped for Ice Cream in the caboose after dinner.

(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Prairie Rock Brewing Company, Schaumburg, IL

Only had some seasoned fries for food. Very good for seasoned fries. The Vanilla Cream Ale was excellent if you go for those kinds of beer.

(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewery, Schaumburg, IL

didn't have any food. Just tried the IPA, which tasted like it had grapefruit in it. Didn't taste like an IPA. Wasn't bad though.

(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company, South Barrington, IL

Came here for the Breakfast Buffet on Sunday. Glad to see they can serve beer Sunday mornings unlike my home State of Michigan. (I believe this is a State law?) They had a wide selection, at least 8 brews listed, however, a couple of the beers I ordered were not available at the time. The following were good, Vanilla Ale, 4 Rose, & Panther Ale. However, the Country Inn Ale I could not drink. They said it was more of their more popular choices, however, it tasted like it had something wrong with it. My friend that was o.k. though, although he thought he tasted vinegar? They had a good selection of bottled beers in their store, I bought one of their Dark Star Lagers but haven't tried it yet.

(08/18/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.327 seconds) 12:21:17 54.237.78.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS