PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dan hodge
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 29, 2014 @ 10:05 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dan hodge

Beer Reviews
(37)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

37
Beer Reviews from dan hodge
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great So So

Establishment: Liberty Steak House and Brewery, Myrtle Beach, SC

When I saw the ad listing the location as "Broadway at the Beach",I mistakenly thought that "Broadway" deadended into the oceanfront and it would be a great place to have a couple. My fault. Huge disappointment to find it in the middle of the most touristy tourist trap I've ever seen. I had a sampler of eight brews. The porter, nut brown, and pale ale were very good,but the blackberry wheat was bland and gave no hint of blackberry. There was no really hoppy beer available. We sat at a self-seating table which was fine but the whole time we were there there was some loud screaming type of music playing which was interrupted EVERY FIFTEEN SECONDS by the hostess yelling:"Adams ,party of four" like a guy calling trains at Penn Station. When one of our party ordered a "medium rare hamburger" she was told that South Carolina law prohibited rare hamburgers. Obviously, this was not the fault of the brewpub, but I thought it very ironic that the same state government that allows it's governor to fly off to South America to dally with an Argentinian bombshell on the taxpayers dime feels justified in telling you what kind of hamburger you can or can't eat. Not s memorable visit!

(08/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Tun Tavern Brewing Company, Atlantic City, NJ

I stopped in very briefly on November 9th to pick up a growler on the way home from AC and had a sampler while I waited. The beer menu advertises five 4oz beers. The sampler that was presented to me contained five tiny double shot glasses that couln't have contained more than maybe two and a half ounces. I was in a hurry to get home so I didn't really care, but then I noticed that a lady to my left asked for a sampler after I did and was presented with five tasting glasses that obviously twice the size. When I questioned the barmaid about this difference she replied that they were both the same size.Sure, and Dolly Parton looks just like Meg Ryan. I said don't be silly, anybody can see the difference, to which she then replied"Oh yeah! Those are the OLD ones and we only have one set of those left." I didn't bother to ask why the later order was filled with them rather the earlier. Also of the six beers that were available on tap, I wasn't offered a choice, but was given light, red, pale, brown and stout. My favorite style is IPA so I had the growler filled with that, but it would have been nice to have asked me which of the six I didn't want, or just upped the price and given me all six. This place makes fine beer, but DON'T order a sampler sight unseen.

(11/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great

Establishment: Bier Garden, Portsmouth, VA

Obviously, the beer selection is awesome.And just as obviously the prices are very reasonable. The service leaves something to be desired. I think that asking the hostess three times to get someone to take our order is too much. ONCE is too much! The beers, though great, all arrived at the table looking like someone hadn't filled them up, which indicates the bartender did his job but the server left them sitting for too long before she delivered them.The food was okay and again very reasonably priced, but I would have preferred to have my four wursts devoured and still have potato salad left over, as is the custom here in Jersey. There is probably nothing worse than trying to eat Bauernwurst by itself. It would cost pennies to increase the portions of potato salad and red cabbage, and would cost NOTHING if the prices were raised to offset the cost. All in all, though , this is a great stop for lovers of the brewmaster's craft and highly recommended. The ambiance in the outdoor section is wonderful. I felt like I was in the Rhineland!

(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pearly Baker's Alehouse, Easton, PA

I had an hour or so to kill before meeting a guy in Allentown and felt like a sandwich and beer so I stopped in. I almost didn't because it's hard to figure out the stupid parking meters(some take dimes, some quarters, some give a maximum 12 minutes, some an hour, but how in hell are you supposed to know that before you pull in?)At any rate a local guy offered me the remains of his hour so I parked and went in. I never figured to find twenty taps, all of which had excellent beers: Arrogant Bastard, Weyerbacher Simcoe IPA, Ramstein Oktoberfest for example. The very personable bartender provided excellent service and the crabcake sandwich was delicious and reasonable($9). This place is highly recommended!

(07/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Blue Corn Cafe and Brewery, Santa Fe, NM

I stopped in just to have a sampler, which consisted of nine beers. They were all served a little warm for my taste and I don't like ice cold beer. I didn't care for the wheat ale, the hefeweizen or the red. ( so-called "red" ale is my least favorite style), but I thought that the IPA and :Organic Primal Ale weer excellent. I also like the pale and the stout. We didn't eat, since we only had one dinner left in Santa Fe and to flip a coin to choose between Second Street and Blue Corn. Second Street won, but I wish Blue Corn had. It's a lot cleaner. From my very limited experience I would recommend this as a good stop for any beer lover.

(06/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Santa Fe Brewing Company, Santa Fe, NM

This was my third experience with the "self serve" type of brewpub(the othe others being Gettysburg Brewing Co. and Bridgeport) and while I'm not crazy about that type of service they make GREAT beer so who cares? I first tried their beers at a place called "The Shed" and liked them so much we went to the brewery for some more. I had the ten beer sampler which only cost something like eight bucks and liked every one. I have my own unofficial sysytem of 0 to 5 stars and every one of theirs got at least a three except for the Easy Blonde. The pale, IPA and Belgian all got fours and the Java Stout and Chickenkiller Barleywine got fives. The porter was not included in the sampler but I love the name (State Pen Porter) so I bought some to take home. Haven't tried it yet, but I'll bet it's great , as well. We didn't eat , so I can't comment on the food, but I suspect it's probably at least okay, since they obviously take pride in the beers they sell. They probably take pride in the food as well. Great place!

(06/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Second Street Brewery, Santa Fe, NM

The beers are better than Bud or Coor's but that's about it. I had a sampler and couldn't tell the difference between the Alt, Best Bitter, Glacier and IPA. All had what appeared to be exactly the same color. The best I tried was the Ottowi Pale Ale. I'd go back for that. The whole place needs a good cleaning and or sprucing up. Being from the east Coast and having access to Jewish Delis, I always thought a "Rueben" was some rye bread covered with about a pound of of corned beef, a ton of sauerkraut and and melted swiss piled six inches high and open faced. I did not like the Rueben as presented at Second Street. But maybe it's only me. I liked the place anyway. I'd NEVER give a bad reccomendation based upon a single visit.

(06/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Kelly's Brewpub, Albuquerque, NM

I read the previous reviews and need to clarify some issues. This place is a brewpub. It's not supposed to be some kind of snobbish upscale eatery that overcharges for a miniscule portion of some "creation". That having been said, I'd like to report that Kelly's brews good beer has good pub grub, VERY friendly and efficient service and extremely reasonable prices. I am not alone in this opinion as evidenced by the hundreds of folks who were parking three blocks away and filling the joint on June 15th. If the guy from California, who "couldn't find a beer he could drink" out of the 19 in house brews they had on tap, there's something wrong with him ,NOT them! The only problem I have is that they don't sell samplers and it's impossible to sample all 19 by drinking pints, but I did manage to try the IPA (excellent), the Scottish (littlt light bodied for the style but Very drinkable) and the ESB (excellent.). I may never be back in New Mexico, but if I am Kelly's is a must visit. I found a a lot of beers I could drink, contrary to the snob from California.

(06/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Pizzeria Uno Chicago Grill and Brewery, Metuchen, NJ

I stop in once in a while on Tuesaday nights on my way home from Philly and have to say that this guy's beers are wonderful. They just seem to get better and better. Tonight the seasonal was a Scotch Ale, served in a snifter, that reminded me of a cold night I spent in a pub in Edinburgh a few years ago. The only negative was that it may have been served a little too cold, but that's easily remedied by just satring at it and smelling the wonderful aroma for a couple of minutes untill it warms up. His IPA is GREAT. The price for these excellent brews is incredible. From now on I will eschew the Yuengling's on tap after rehearsal at our band's clubhouse in Philadelphia and raceup Rt. 1 to allow enough time for a stop at Pizza Uno. A great stop and highly recommended for beer lovers!

(12/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Pizzeria Uno Chicago Grill and Brewery, Metuchen, NJ

I occasionally pop in here on my way home from Philly, just to see what new seasonal is available. It's always late on a Tuesday night and I am absolutely AMAZED at the low cost for a pint. The beers are way above average. Their IPA is excellent and the porter I had at the NJ craft brewers festival was wonderful. There's not a lot of "atmosphere" as the place seems to have about forty TV sets and some stupid electronic video game (REAL beer enthusiasts don't need those diversions...the brew and conversation are enough), however at least it's not ear-splitting loud like some of the joints I've been in, the bartenders are efficient and friendly and the beer is wonderful. I'm told that there is some sort of late night, lowcost promotion on beers, so take advantage of this place if you find yourself a little thirsty around ten pm or so.

(11/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Good

Establishment: L'Inox, Quebec City, QC

Stopped in on April 8 and had a sampler. All then beers were good, one was outstanding: the seasonal Coulee Douce, a sping ale. I was dissappointed with the "Scotische", untill I read the description and discovered that it was not supposed to be "Scottish ale, but instead Brown Ale. For a brown ale it was excellent. The down side was, we wanted to have lunch. I've been in very few brewpubs that didn't have a kitchen. Can't imagine why they don't! Stop for some good brew, but not if you're hungry!

(04/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant, South Orange, NJ

I can't let this one go by! I have to respond to "a South Orange". He lives in the area and "has kids". I guess this makes a knowledgeable expert on beer. This moron eventually orders a "regular" Miller and offers the opinion that the Gaslight has a very poor beer selection. What this laddie doesn't know about beer could fill volumes. He states that the first brew he was served was "obviously a stout", thinking that just because a brew is dark in color, and wishing to impress his friends with his "expertise" it must be just that, completely ignoring the several different styles of porter, schwartzbier, rauchbier or dunkel which can also be very dark in color. Why anyone would venture into a brewpub and ask for any kind of "Miller" is beyond my wildest dreams. After reading this guy's review I questioned the owner a sto it's validity and will report it here. Any reader can make his own determination after reading both sides. The unhappy patron came in on a Monday night to watch football. From the waitress he ordered a "lager". When questioned by the girl if he wanted a "Black Bear" lager, the current house offering of the dark lager style, he said 'just bring me a lager". When the beer arrived he was displeased and asked for a "Miller", a sure indication that this boy knows his beer. Since the Gaslight's only offering in the Miller line is Miller Lite(admittedly an obnoxious beer) this was presented and also turned down as our connoioseur doesn't drink lite beer. He then complained to bartender who wisely figured he wasn't going to please this guy, and advised him that it would probably be best for both sides that he simply leave. Which he did, thank God, for I stumbled in a few moments later, in search of a couple of pints and probably would have had to listen to this nonsense.I, too, "have kids", and "live in the area" so I have something in common with "a South Orange". But here the similarity stops as I, unlike, him, know something about beer.

(10/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Cricket Hill Brewing Company, Fairfield, NJ

the extremely personable owner has hit upon an idea which has long been overdo in this area: brewing beer which is light years away from Bud and the rest of the mass market crap, while keeping the price low and the taste a little less "in your face", than some of the available craft brews.The Cricket Hill Beers are not the equivalent of Troeg's or Victory, but the3y don't cost as much and ANYBODY would drink them. With so many Coor's light and corona drinkers around it's tough to procure beer for a get together if one refuses to buy such slop. By the same token it makes no sense to buy a good micro because your guests will make a face and ask for Amstel light when offered a bottle of Hop Devil. Mr. Reed has struck the happy medium. None of his brews would "offend" the Heineken drinker, while still retaining enough body and flavor to please a microbrew fan, at a very reasonable price. Cricket Hill is now my choice for parties.

(08/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Cricket Hill Brewing Company, Fairfield, NJ

the extremely personable owner has hit upon an idea which has long been overdo in this area: brewing beer which is light years away from Bud and the rest of the mass market crap, while keeping the price low and the taste a little less "in your face", than some of the available craft brews.The Cricket Hill Beers are not the equivalent of Troeg's or Victory, but the3y don't cost as much and ANYBODY would drink them. With so many Coor's light and corona drinkers around it's tough to procure beer for a get together if one refuses to buy such slop. By the same token it makes no sense to buy a good micro because your guests will make a face and ask for Amstel light when offered a bottle of Hop Devil. Mr. Reed has struck the happy medium. None of his brews would "offend" the Heineken drinker, while still retaining enough body and flavor to please a microbrew fan, at a very reasonable price. Cricket Hill is now my choice for parties.

(08/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Office Beer Bar and Grill, Summit, NJ

I'd heard about the Wednesday $2 pints. Good Lord!! In my whole life I've never heard anything like that godawful juke box/sound system! One literally had to scream to order a beer. I've figured out why the Office can offer the great Wednesday promotion and still make money. It's because the people who LIKE the "music" drink Corona or some other crap which doesn't qualify for the $2. Anyone seeking out good beer only stays for one. Without a doubt, this is the most obnoxiously loud joint I've ever been in, and i've been in thousands. There was a good selection of beer, including Heavyweight's Lunacy, but who cares? I'd much rather pay twice as much and be able to save my eardrums.

(08/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Good

Establishment: JJ Bitting Brewing Company, Woodbridge, NJ

After a bad experience five years ago, I stopped in again, because I always thought the beer was excellent, in spite of the difficulty, and I was not surprised to find that little had changed. The cask IPA was to die for. If i didn't have to worry about driving home , I coul;d have easily drank a half dozen. It was one of the best brews I've ever had. When you can "remember" the taste while driving home, it's a great beer. The juke box, however , was unbelievable! Why does the younger generation need to have everything played at a decible level that completely obliterates any attempt at normal conversation? I may be considered by some to be an "old fogey", but I'm 57, and I've spent my whole life in brass bands, military bands, Mummers string bands, and pipe bands, and none of the above is the equivalent of the "music" at Bittings!For God's sake, lower the volume!!!!!!!!

(04/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Great Adirondack Brewing Company, Lake Placid, NY

My wife and I went for dinner on February 19th and an absolutely wonderful experience. The beers were excellent. I especially liked the Abbey Ale and the Haystack Blonde. The Scotch Ale was excellent also. The smoked porter was coffeeish with little smokiness. I tasted a couple of different versions of Alaskan Smoked Porter this past summer and this example of the style is not up to that caliber. But so what? Everything else was great, especially watching the snow fly during dinner. An absolute MUST stop on your visit to Lake Placid!

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great

Establishment: Lake Placid Pub and Brewery, Lake Placid, NY

My family and I went for dinner on February 18th and had about an hour wait for a table. This is no problem, after all it was Friday night on a holiday weekend. The problem arose from the fact that once we were seated, it was almost ten minutes before anyone came to take our order and then almost an hour before the "pub grub" arrived. When it finally did, my daughters was not what she asked for and it was another fifteen minutes before the correct food arrived. The food was average, about what you'd expect from a pub of this type. So much for negativity. The positives GREATLY outweigh this probably rare occurence. There were two distinct positives. First , the quality of the beer. This place makes absolutely OUTSTANDING beer. The Frostbite Ale is to die for. I took a growler back to Jersey for several members of my brew club to try and all agreed it was easily the equal of Sierra Nevada's Celebration or Clipper City's Heavy Seas Winter Storm. The Ubu Ale is also outstanding and the 46er IPA and Olympic Ales are perfect for either a solitary pint or a "session". Their beers are some of the best I've had in a long time. Now for the best part, and the part that leads me to believe the less than perfect experience with the long wait for food not the norm: without any complaint from me, other than questioning the waitress about what was taking so long, when I presented my credit card to pay the tab, it was returned to me with NO BILL and an APOLOGY FROM THE OWNER! I have never had anything like this happen before.If ever there was a testimony to an owner's wishing to please the customer, this was it. Don't go here if you're looking for fine dining, but if you're looking for some of the best beer you've ever had, decent "pub grub", extremely reasonable prices,and a management that obviously takes pride in it's work, by all means don't miss this place!

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant, South Orange, NJ

Jay from Linden is certainly entitled to his opinion, however, the fact that he rates the "beer selection" as "so so" should be indicative that he may not know exactly what he's talking about. His review was written on 1/09/05. I was last in on 1/10/05. On that particular evening they had seven of their own beers on tap plus a cask conditioned ale in addition to Ramstein Winter Wheat, Ramstein Blonde at least one other Guest brew, not to mention a bottled beer list that runs the gamut from Rolling Rock and Miller Lite to Corsendonk Christmas Ale and Duval.( Probably about 30 to choose from). At their Victorian Christmas Dinner I think I counted twenty or so beers that were available To DRINK, not just pick from. The beer selection is definitely NOT "so so".

(01/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant, South Orange, NJ

I was a little disappointed with the previous Pirate Pale, but the latest is absolutely outstanding. Ditto for the new Octoberfest and Zum Alt Dorf.

(09/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Swan's Pub was Buckerfield Brewery, Victoria, BC

I agree with one of the previous reviewer's comments as to the volume of the live music. This isn't the place to go for a quiet pint or two. The beers were good, the selection plentiful. The only problem was that the barmaid obviously mixed up a couple of the styles, but the ones mixed up were easy to discern. For example she told me that what turned out to be the Scotch Ale was witbier and vice versa. The most outstanding feature of this place is that, without a doubt, it's the most beautiful brewpub I've ever seen. The flowers alone are worth going for even if you don't drink! I'd love to return someday for dinner or even when it's a little quieter. Go without hesitation when there's no band playing. It's a beautiful place.

(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Spinnakers Brewery, Pub and Restaurant, Victoria, BC

We stopped for a late lunch on a beautiful Sunday afternoon and had a great time, sitting on the outdoor deck, having some absolutely delicious fish and chips and drinking their GREAT beers. The only one I really didn't care too much for was the Raspberry ale, which is really brewed ,of course, for people who want to drink something other than beer. It was okay as fruit beers go, but I just can't picture myself coming home from a hard day'd work and craving a raspberry ale. On the other hand, I'd kill for one of their IPAs or the Jameson's Scottish Ale. Our waitress was a lovely girl named Erin who was extremely pleasant and efficient.Absolutely beautiful place.

(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Hugo's Brewpub and Lounge, Victoria, BC

We stopped for early dinner on a Saturday afternoon. They don't really offer anything for children but went out of their way to provide extra plates, share entrees, etc. The Digby scallops I had were delicious and the beers were memorable. I thought their pilsener was very reminiscent of Czech style beers and the hefeweizen was among the best I've ever tasted. You could smell the bananas from a foot away. In short a wonderful place in what may arguably be one of the most beautiful cities in North America.

(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

We had a wonderful meal there on the night before our Alaskan cruise. The beers are outstanding, the food was great, and the service impeccable. Highly recommended!

(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company, Juneau, AK

I had planned to vist this brewery when the ship I was on docked in Juneau, but was even more enthusiastic when I tried the amber, Esb, and pale, which were all available on the Radiance of the Seas. The trip to the brewery intensified my belief that this stuff has to be near the top of best craft brews made in America. The staff, including the bartender and girl who gave the tour were informative and pleasant. It's a great place that makes great beer. My personal favorite is the ESB, but they're all good!

(08/11/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.122 seconds) 10:05:46 54.81.75.69, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS