PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dan jagodzinski
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 23, 2014 @ 11:29 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dan jagodzinski

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from dan jagodzinski
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Flour City Brewing, Incorporated, Rochester, NY

I had to restrain my ratings just a bit because Flour City is so new. They just opened on May 6, 2004. They're still brewing beers to put on tap, but had 6 house beers when I was there. The Black Magic Stout was easily my favorite of those available. The dinner was excellent as well. I'll be stopping back frequently to catch more exciting beers coming online, like the porter which was being transferred to fermentation with an original gravity of 1.080! If you want to join the mug club, you can forget getting mug #1, it's already been assigned to me. Flour City will also be bottling their beers in the not too distant future. Cheers!

(05/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Alternative Brews, Amherst, NY

I've let a year-and-a-half pass before posting my response to the owner's remarks and I stand by what I originally wrote. If I made it up, I wouldn't have put my name on the review. Most of the posts since then seem to be from the "Groupies" I referred to in March of 2002. Actually, there hasn't been ONE posting from outside the Buffalo area. I would guess this is a campaign by the 'regulars' to get the rating back up and to try to discredit my accounting of my experience there. The basic issue was in the way management handled the matter. I'm sure Paul Madsen could have figured out how to contact me, but instead, they dealt with it poorly once again. Paul, this website is meant for the reviews of the patrons, not the owners. You should use it to try to improve your service, not to bash anyone leaving a less-than-favorable review of your establishment. Paul's posting about my review overstates what happened. (Not surprising since he wasn't there.) Let me set the record straight and explain a bit more about my visit. I did NOT verbally abuse the bartender, I simply asked which price was correct, the $5.00 printed on the beer list or the $6.00 he charged based on the computer at the cash register. I said, "$5.00 is already a bit pricey for this beer". It was a Druid Fluid Barleywine from Middle Ages Brewing in Syracuse. This is not an issue of supply and demand and it's not a difficult beer to obtain in this area. Paul even admits it was a mistake. That would've solved the problem if that were the response back in March. I asked the bartender to let me speak to the "Manager" who turned-out to be Mrs. Madsen, the co-owner as explained by Paul. She was obviously over-whelmed by the large crowd and couldn't be bothered by a patron who had a complaint. Since she seemed to be in a tizzy, maybe SHE had a problem with the bar being crowded, I NEVER complained about it. When Donna refunded the cover charge but not the difference in the beer price, I considered it an acceptable compromise. As I told her, “We came for the beer, not the band.” I was all set to stay and enjoy some of the other fine beers with my friend, but then she continued with "...And after you finish your beer, leave." I was astonished! I had done NOTHING to warrant being thrown out. Naturally I became irritated AFTER that, but I STILL wanted to stay to enjoy some of the other beers. She was adamant about having us leave. She told me I was "taking space at the bar from the people who came to see the band." "WHAT?!" I HAD to ask her, "Are you in the business of peddling bands or beer?" In regards to the parking, it was FAR easier to find a seat at the bar than somewhere to park my car. I found an area just large enough to park my vehicle NEXT to the last employee parking spot. This area wasn't marked as a parking spot and I was actually partially on the lawn in order to fit in. No matter what argument the Madsen's present about the parking, it was truly insufficient. I have had, and will continue to have, many discussions about this experience with my friends and associates; including several I'm SURE the Madsen's wished I had not. Many of those conversations were with people who are familiar with Alternative Brews. I have heard more than once that "Donna can be a bitc_". It's like I told you and your bartender, Donna, I have a big mouth and LOTS of friends who like "Good" beer. I'll never forget what happened, I'll never recommend Alternative Brews, I'll never return and I'll continue my conversations with everyone in the Western New York beer community.

(11/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Alternative Brews, Amherst, NY

Over-charged for beer. The beer list was only 5 weeks old, but in that short time the price of my LOCALLY brewed selection managed to go up from $5.00 per 12 ounce bottle to $6.00! They seemed more interested in selling Labatts to the groupies who came to see the band. I complained about having to pay a cover charge AND more than the posted price for the beer. After the cover charge was refunded, I would've been content and quietly moved on to some of the other beers they have to offer, but then owner also asked me to leave. I have to think ALL of the beer prices were higher than listed and throwing me out was better than listening to the complaints with each higher charge. If the higher drink charges were to cover for the band, then don't cover charge at the door. They must have skipped business 101. The parking for this location is also VERY insufficient. Beer selection only rates "Good" because they were out of my first two choices. I'll discourage everyone from going here. Their beer is not worth the aggravation of limited parking, cover charges, availability of the selections and false pricing, not to mention the RUDE management.

(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Good

Establishment: Pizza Plant, Williamsville, NY

The food is outstanding, there are a limited number of taps, but what is ON tap is EXCELLENT. Service is spotty. Somedays it is VERY poor while on other days it is simply 'acceptable'.

(03/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

One brewpub in ten serves beer with character. If you are searching for full-bodied, stand-up flavored beers, this is the place to go. The beers are brewed within the style guidelines and each one is bold in its own way. They are NOT brewing for the masses, rather the experienced palette of a beer connoisseur. (The food is good too, watch out for the "Hell Fire" chicken wings...) CHEERS!

(01/30/2001)














(0.125 seconds) 23:29:26 54.196.195.158, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS