PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from deb
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 24, 2014 @ 01:04 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
deb

Beer Reviews
(8)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

8
Beer Reviews from deb
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good N/A

Establishment: Taps Sports Bar, Grand Rapids, MI

Normally only review brewerys but have to say we stopped in here for quick beer before going to our event and the wall of taps was great! Many places have a wall of taps but half or more are the usual selections- not this place- lots of out of the ordinary!

(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Grand Rapids Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Ok place to stop when in town. Friday night at 9pm and the place was dead. Beers are ok- nothing special. Nothing that grabs you. Many bottled beers at the grocery store are better. Too much of a chain restaurant feel and quality. Just like a Big Buck Brewery- too commercial.

(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Frankenmuth Brewery, Frankenmuth, MI

Visited the brewery while in town for the Beer Expo across the river. Stopped in for food in the stomach before indulging at the expo. Each of us tried a different beer but nothing really grabbed us. Maybe it was just anticipation of the 100's of samplers we were about to taste at the expo, but..... Will try it again before making any decision. Good food and service, nice refabbed historic building, location with great outdoor patio too. PS- the World Beer Expo (mid May yearly) is to die for! If you don't find at least a dozen favorites you are lost.

(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Old Hat Brewery, Lawton, MI

Close to home for us adds points! After years of being something, then closing, then opening, then closing, then opening- it is good to see the place thriving. Wasn't sure if it would ever happen after Bells Brewery hung it up at that location. They can even afford to charge an outrageous cover charge in the evening and still have standing room only. Small food menu but lots of "different/specialty" dishes as well as a good bar meal. I suggest they do away with the wine making and develop the beer selections a bit. Alt is our favorite when we visit. Very loud and smokey though. Outdoor area could really be beefed up to be special little hide away though.

(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Old Boys' Brew House, Spring Lake, MI

We frequent Old Boys about once every other month, to be honest, to hear a freind of ours band play. We were first very excited about trying the beers but to be honest there isn't one that just blows us away. The Kolsch I guess would lean towards the favorite, or maybe the red but almost too "mild". Would love to see them mix it up a little and try some new recipe's to get more in the real brewery game, otherwise it is just like going to a restaurant that has different beers.

(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro, Hastings, MI

Spent a few hours on a Saturday afternoon at the Walldorf Brewpub during a rainy camping weekend. Beer selection was great and most were very good. The Beesting or Killer Bee or whatever the heck it was called was FANTASTIC! Porter was good too. Was pretty quiet in there but the bar staff didn't take the time to be warm and fuzzy like you have at most pubs. We had a couple different appetizers and they were fantastic. Looking foward to going back for a full meal and of course, full beers ;-)

(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Jamesport Brewing Company, Ludington, MI

This beer is fantastic! The day and night we spent there (almost literally!), there were 11 brews on tap and one guest tap. We had to get a 10piece sampler twice before we decided that the favorite of the day was the IPA and Scottish Strong Ale. Wonderful visit with Tom the brewer, great staff and fun night with live local band. When I called to ask how many of their own beers they had on tap before we drove 3hrs just to drink there- they laughed and thought I was kidding... we made the drive and enjoyed some of the town and spent nearly the entire day at the brewery watching football and tasting!

(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lake Superior Brewing Company, Grand Marais, MI

Lake Superior Brewing (ok, ok- the pristine nature of the area too) are the reason we spend our weeks vacation each July 4th time period in Grand Marais. Great beers (although always run out of Stout! and not since our first year visit have we been fortunate enough to catch the Porter on tap), great food and staff (they even helped arrange a special 10th anniversary dinner for us this July (complete with our favorite window seat, linen and flowers!- quite out of character for the northwoods tavern atmosphere), fun travelers to meet, great other brewery tales to share, welcoming locals that just make you want to check out available real estate and become one with them. Hard to pick just one favorite beer so might as well plan on taking a different growler back to the cabin every night! Would love to see the brewery expand capacity! See you July 2007.

(10/17/2006)














(0.067 seconds) 13:04:53 107.22.37.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS