PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dr. john
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 23, 2014 @ 11:25 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dr. john

Beer Reviews
(9)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

9
Beer Reviews from dr. john
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Coopersmith's Pub and Brewing, Fort Collins, CO

From time to time, I try other brewpubs, but keep coming back to this one. The cask-conditioned Punjabi is really outstanding. The highly critical review below sounds bogus - like from a competitor. The staff was helpful and the food excellent. STILL the best brewpub in Ft. Collins.

(09/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Baltimore Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Didn't have time to try the food. The beer alone gets the rating. While BBC's particular niche is evidently limited to these German styles, they do a super job with them. The balance, malt/hop ratios tasted exactly right to me. The Rauchbier (smoke beer) was the best I'd ever sampled. The aroma, and taste were superb.

(04/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, Ellicott City, MD

The food is excellent, and I suspect that's what many of the customers go for. The beers were decent, particularly the Marzen, Dunkel, and Bock. Having said that, these styles don't provide a huge difference for the consumer. How about adding a non-German style, like an IPA or Stout to the mix?

(04/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing Company, Canmore, AB

Canmore is a great place to start exploring the Canadian Rockies, and the Grizzly Paw is a good place to start in Canmore. Adequate selection and excellent quality. However, most Canadian brewpubs do not feature stouts and porters in summer. Grizzly Paw brews a stout in October and serves in Dec. It would be nice to have the option of a heavier brew even in summer. The food is contemporary and innovative. A great place to relax after a day of hiking...

(08/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bonfire Bistro and Brewery, Northville, MI

This is much better than your run-of-the-mill suburban brewpub. The staff seemed proud of their beers, justifiably so. The only oinker was the "American corn & adjunct swill" which they ply on Bud lite drinkers. I thought the soup was very flavorful. Definitely worth going back.

(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

Sampler included only 5 beers, although there were 7 on tap. The pale ale was okay but could use more hops. The Scottish ale was surprisingly good. For my money, their stout was best overall.

(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe, Kalamazoo, MI

This is what brewpubs should be. The selections were well hopped and malty according to style. Wish I still went to WMU...

(03/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Tahquamenon Falls Brewery and Pub, Paradise, MI

We were very disappointed in the brew offerings. They seemed to cater to the average Bud Lite-swilling tourist. The brews had little flavor, were short on malt & hops - just like Bud lite. This could have been a really neat establishment.

(03/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: A1A Aleworks, Saint Augustine, FL

Beers were appropriate for style. The Red Brick Ale is really an American Pale Ale and recommended for those who enjoy a well-hopped beer. The King Street Wheat had good hop profile but lacked a discernable wheat character. Food is not cheap but rated well as to quality & quantity.

(03/20/1999)














(0.056 seconds) 23:25:09 23.20.44.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS