PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from dreamfielder
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 23, 2014 @ 08:58 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
dreamfielder

Beer Reviews
(18)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

18
Beer Reviews from dreamfielder
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

How can West Michigan have so many outstanding breweries? It's not fair for the rest of the country! I'd never been to Founders before, but plan to make it a regular stop whenever I'm within a hundred miles. The location is convenient, parking plentiful, and the dining area spacious. The sandwiches are fine; cleverly named, if a bit pricey. But the beers are worth the visit. I had an oatmeal stout and then a porter, since I wasn't driving, and both were outstanding. I'd got a six-pack of the Arrogant Bastard, so knew how good that was. Well worth the visit, and I'll be back!

(07/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Great Good

Establishment: Grand Rapids Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

This is an excellent place for a meal; I've dined here several times, and haven't had a bad dish yet. The cheese-filled pretzels are great appetizers, and the meatloaf is super. The servers have always been prompt, cheerful, and capable. That being said, I'm always disappointed by the beer. The dark, despite the description, is pretty thin, and the other beers are unremarkable. Alas, it's the only show in town, unless Founders expands to include more than sandwiches. So it's good for a meal, but don't get your hopes up for imaginative or excellent beer.

(07/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Hub City Brewing Company, Stanley, IA

The brewery was the midpoint of a long bicycle ride. I arrived in late morning on a hot July Saturday, and left with great memories. It's a smallish interior, but there are tables with canopies outside, with an unobstructed view of Iowa cornfields! Service was friendly, very hospitable. There were about six varieties on tap, including a brown ale, porter, wheat, & summer ale. I had enjoyed the porter from a bottle, but was offered samples of several varieties. At $2.00 or $2.50 for a plastic cup, it's a hard deal to beat. I was really too warm to appreciate the tastes, but the summer ale was not overly hoppy, and very fruity. The porter is outstanding. They apologized for serving it so cold, noting that it's how Midwesterners want it, but keeping it outside for a few minutes took the chill off. These folks are taking a risk by setting up shop far from metropolitan areas, but the quality of their product will -- with time -- make them successful. I hope so; I intend to come back often!

(07/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy Good

Establishment: Timothy O'Toole's Pub Chicago, Chicago, IL

Have lunched here a couple of times while on business, and it's okay. That it's one of the two decent places to get a lunch in this area speaks to the inexplicable dearth of good beer joints in downtown Chicago. Anyway. It's a downstairs location with tables, a bar, and a billiards area. The food is pretty much pub fare, and it's okay. Don't be put off by the "beer specials" that are ballyhooed on the tables, because they're all buckets of "lite" swill. Go, instead, to the beer list, and be impressed: three kinds of Goose Island on tap, including some of the wonderful Belgian Matilda. There's a house amber ale, which I tried even though the waiter ("you wanna eat? Go ahead; see if I care!" Well, almost.) had no clue where it was brewed (Sam Adams). Once I had a bottle of Bells Oberon, which the pub must have picked up at the end of its shelf life, but it was still very good. In sum, if you need a decent meal and want some interesting beer, this is about as good as it gets in the area. Not great, but not bad, either. I'll be back.

(04/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Old Chicago, Ames, IA

Okay, it's a chain. And it's in a lousy location, not within walking distance of anything. So I was ready to be umimpressed. Several nice surprises: first, the food was surprisingly tasty. My calzone was baked nicely, came out quickly, and was good accompaniment to the beer. And what a great selection! Rogue hazelnut & Bell's porter ... in central Iowa? How can it get any better than this? Good points: easy to get to by car, but that also limits how much one can enjoy the beverages! And the beer comes out ice-cold. On a very warm day, that's not so bad, though, so I could live with it. I'd happily go back to continue working my way through the beer menu!

(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: North Peak Brewing Company, Traverse City, MI

Visited on an August Sunday afternoon. Service was very prompt, if not very informative about beers. Summer ale was okay, with a nice bitter finish, and the porter was good. Neither outstanding, but both very passable. Mushroom pizza was disappointing, but the brownie/cheesecake dessert was worth the drive from Interlochen. Terrific remodeling of an old building, enjoyable place for a meal.

(08/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

I had been here 8 years ago, and was eager to get back to what I remembered as a fun menu and great beer. I had dinner while there was an Orioles game across the street, so maybe I should have known better. I ordered an American ale, and was dismayed when it came to the table in a PLASTIC cup. Come on, people. The ale and, later, the stout were both okay, but how can you really savor the good stuff in a rinky-dink cup. So, I guess the lesson is to go elsewhere if there's baseball going on.

(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Hanover, MD

A nice walk along the harbor worked up a good thirst. The service was okay, as was the food, certainly neither would knock anyone's socks off. But the beer was worth the visit! The Irish ale was a great way to start off, and the Bad Moon Porter was a deeply satisfying way to end. Fells Point is a great place, and this is a good place to start an afternoon there.

(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Mick O'Shea's Irish Pub, Baltimore, MD

Terrific place. Yeah, not lots of selection, but some local Resurrection Ale from Brewer's Art is on tap. And a great menu. A fine, unique choice for a good lunch or a good, long dinner, and a casual atmosphere. But get here early for lunch!

(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Was dismayed to learn that half of the beers were unavailable owing to mechanical problems. Must not have been very important, since they were still not available two days later. The kolsch & impy kolsch were both good, but wish I could've tried some others. Food was okay, but at least the server was attentive, apologetic, and helpful. It's pretty sad when the best part of a brewpub is the view. So it's a good place to take someone who might not care about beer very much.

(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Elephant and Castle, Chicago, IL

This is for the location on Huron Street. Fake pub style, and too pricey, even for the Loop. Pretty good list of beers, but only a few were available. Fortunately, Fuller's was there, and that's a nice choice, not often carried. Yorkshire pudding, roast beef, & mashed spuds were definitely uninspiring. Make this a last resort.

(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: New Holland Brewing Company, Holland, MI

Stopped by on a busy July Saturday for lunch, and was glad that my brother was driving. Service was okay, and the sandwiches were fine, better than expected from a brewpub. Started with Sun Dog amber, which was crisp & light, a good starter. Dessert was the Poet porter, which I've enjoyed in a bottle and was even better on tap: deep, rich, satisfying. Would like to try the Irish pub across the street, but have no problem recommending this excellent restaurant.

(08/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Chicago, IL

Came with low expectations, based on previous Rock Bottoms, & got blown away by the service, the food, & the beer. Our servers (on two nights) were attentive, knowledgeable about the beers, & made us feel like we could stay all night (& we almost did). As for the food, the calamari was the best I've had anywhere, and using salmon for fish & chips is a great surprise. And the beers were, frankly, outstanding. Our server brought some samples, so I knew that the Irish stout would be the watered down "Guiness draft" stuff, & avoided it. Either the American wheat or the Chicago P.A. are good openers, both well-balanced & clean. The Brown Bear Brown is rich & malty, fine taste. And the server alerted us to a "bourbon porter" which, combined with the stout chocolate cheese cake, makes a trip to Chicago worth it. Am definitely heading back at my next opportunity.

(04/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Fergie's Pub, Philadelphia, PA

Nice place to drop in, with friendly staff. Food was standard pub fare, & the beer was fine. But this taught me to ask if the Guiness on tap is the real stuff or that putrid "draft style." A nasty surprise.

(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Moriarty's, Philadelphia, PA

Came by for lunch, & the place was packed, so service was pretty slow. But enjoyed my meal, and especially the Flying Fish seasonal offering. Would like to visit at a less crowded time to really savor the beer selection, which is outstanding.

(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: McGillin's Olde Ale House, Philadelphia, PA

Enjoyed the McGillin's beer on draft, & the service & food were both fine. Could have used just a tad more light and a lot less volume on the music, but still enjoyed my visit. Nifty atmosphere, & worth a stop.

(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dark Horse Pub was Dickens Inn, Philadelphia, PA

What a treasure! The atmosphere is phenomenal, with a pub for any taste. Selection of draft beers needs some better quality, but the Sam Adams White was a nice surprise. Otherwise, the John Courage is about the best of a pretty weak lineup. The food is above average for a pub, and the steak & mushroom pie is worth a visit. I found the service prompt and friendly. When the bartender brought me a Sam Adams Light instead of the White, he quickly made the switch.

(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

Stopped by for dinner while on a visit to Philly, & hope to return. Waiter was knowledgeable, but he should have warned me off the grog as an opener. Menu says it's a brown ale, and it's great, but malty & way filling. Entree was excellent, & oatmeal stout was a worthy dessert.

(04/07/2005)














(0.222 seconds) 08:58:36 54.87.134.115, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS