PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from d.r. montzingo
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 21, 2014 @ 09:37 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
d.r. montzingo

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from d.r. montzingo
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Lousy So So

Establishment: W.T. Hacketts, Scranton, PA

I have waited over a year to see a review for Hacketts and have wondered why no one was interested in speaking out on NE PA's only brewpub. I now realize that no one commented out of kindness to the owners. The beers are BLAND - on my most recent visit the choices were Light, Blonde, Amber and Stout (none of them interesting). Hacketts seems to try to be inoffensive to the local Coors Light or Yuengling drinker. The original brewer was given his pink slip early on (deservedly so) and the quality of the beer has improved. However any brew with a remotely interesting character was brewed in limited quantities and never made again. As for pub atmosphere, if anyone ever opened a brewpub in a hospital or a Holiday Inn, this is what it would look like. Antiseptic decor and bare walls do nothing to increase the comfort level of the patrons. The food I've tasted has been good, but service at the bar has been spotty.

(01/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

The pub itself is better than the beer. I found the beers to be pretty much non-descript, no matter what the style implies, very understated. But the building itself is the nicest you will find within 100 miles. The bar is odd-shaped and beautiful, as is the view through the huge windows.

(02/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Springfield, PA

A good range of beers, all well made. While there wasn't one style that was exceptional, there were more than enough "good" beers to get my repeat business. Imperial stout was very good this year.

(02/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Pizzeria Uno Chicago Grill and Brewery, Metuchen, NJ

Pretty much an "upgrade" for standard beer drinkers. Nothing sent my taste buds into ecstacy, but some decent beers. Not worth travelling for, but if shopping in area, worth a stop.

(02/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Jersey Jim's Brewing Company, Somerville, NJ

Closed. Nuff said.

(02/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Hops Grill and Brewery, Alexandria, VA

Seems like a food chain thought of a gimmick of brewing beer, then crammed it into a Fridays-type restaurant. Believe me, it is NOT a good fit! Although the Alligator Ale was suprisingly good, the atmosphere at Hops is like sitting with your spinster, God-fearing aunt at Thanksgiving (I couldn't wait to get away). The staff knew squat about the beer they were serving.

(11/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Birchmere / Native Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

I've never been as confused as I've been in this establishment. I guess you could put it down to me not being a local, but when I walked in, I was totally bewildered as to what was going on in this hall. I eventually found the bar among record stores, doors that went nowhere, and lines of people waitng for an unknown something that would always remain a mystery to me. It was like being in the Twilight Zone, not a brewpub. Beer was merely fair.

(11/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: District ChopHouse and Brewery, Washington, DC

Great dim, old-fashioned elegant atmosphere with a fun-loving wait staff. Nice big band, jazz/blues background music fit the pub nicely. All beers were great, especially the cask conditioned bourbon stout, which was among the best stouts I've ever tasted.

(11/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Kutztown Tavern / Golden Avalanche Brewing Company, Kutztown, PA

I can't really agree with the other reviews about beer selection. Out of 6 beers brewed at GABC, there was only one with an appreciable body (the stout). The alt was rather tasteless, the wheats were enjoyable, but would be lost in the crowd if compared to other weiss beers. I realize that it is summertime and most palates go for a lighter style of beer, but the selection was almost exclusively on the light side.

(09/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

I've made 2 visits here and have come away with the same impressions both times - VERY average, mainstream, non-assertive beers. If CBC was trying to offend the least amount of people with their beers, then they are a great success. But this "dumbing-down" of flavor and aggressiveness does nothing for the drinker expecting a memorable brew. (Good atmosphere, though).

(07/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bethlehem Brew Works, Bethlehem, PA

A nice atmosphere, very workman-style design for a pub. I found the beer to be good, but somewhat one-dimensional, lacking depth. For example, sweetness seemed to dominate the taste of the dubble to the point of drowning the Belgium yeast flavors and the Scotch was on the sweet side. The ESB was good. Overall, I would visit again, looking for likely refinement of the brews.

(12/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Cooper's Waterfront, Pittston, PA

Although the beer selection is decent, the taps are usually nothing to write home about. The feel of the bar is a restaurant, not a beer bar.

(09/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Zeno's, State College, PA

Everybody comes back to Zeno's! A pioneer in beer bars. Always a great tap and bottle selection. For a small, subterranean bar with little "atmosphere," it never fails to draw a crowd. Good beer and good music will do that to you.

(03/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: J.K. Moose's Par Four, Wilkes-Barre, PA

The friendliest small bar around. Always somebody there who wants to talk beer. Big selection of great food - mostly dinners, not sandwiches. On the cutting edge of beer knowledge & events.

(03/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Elmer Sudds, Wilkes-Barre, PA

12 eclectic taps and a beer engine. Over 100 bottles. Superb food. Great reputation. In most people's opinion, the best neighborhood beer bar in Wyoming Valley.

(03/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Weyerbacher Brewing Company, Easton, PA

A very small and narrow place. Has a cozy, neighborhood feel to it. The beers are great, from the Scottish to the IPA. Always a "special" beer on tap that you could only get at the pub. Nice place to down a few.

(03/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Porter's Pub, Easton, PA

A very friendly, comfortable pub. The taps don't push the envelope, but there is something for everybody - especially the novice cross-over drinker. Patrons seem to be enthusiastic about good entertainment. A fun bar to stop at, but don't expect anything really unusual to drink.

(03/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good So So

Establishment: North Wyoming Brewing Co, Hazelton, PA

When this place first opened up about a year and a half ago, they had a great tap selection. But upon my last visit (March), the taps had pretty much gone the way of Budweiser and Coors. A few good taps left, but it's not worth the trip. I think they weren't doing the business with the micros because of local bars serving $.75 drafts of macro brews. And, let's face it, Hazleton doesn't seem the best place to push a better beer palate. The place itself is a nice wood-prominent bar, but lately has been prone to having the ubiquitous Coors Lite flags flying overhead.

(03/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

A vast gulf between the beer (excellent) and the atmosphere (lousy). The hopped beer is great, as is the pils. But the establishment itself made me think of a big high school cafeteria. I've heard it's improved since my last visit, but it's got a long way to go to reach the friendly confines of a comfortable brewpub.

(03/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Selin's Grove Brewing, Selinsgrove, PA

I've been to many a brewpub and have never found one with as great a lineup of beer across the board. And the atmosphere (non-smoking) is great. Very small, but cozy bar and dining area. Friendly and VERY inexpensive!.

(03/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Barley Creek Brewing Company, Tannersville, PA

Super Hop & Renovator Stout are delicious. I found that the others tend to taste somewhat similar - could it be the same Yeast? Overall, worth the trip.

(03/21/1998)














(0.341 seconds) 21:37:14 54.91.25.210, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS