PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from glen uber
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 16, 2014 @ 04:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
glen uber

Beer Reviews
(9)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Never waste a trip anywhere by coming home without beer
Favorite Beer: Lost Coast Downtown Brown
Located In: Colorado

9
Beer Reviews from glen uber
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ausiello's 5th Street Grill, Santa Rosa, CA

At Ausiello's, food is cheap and delicious, the bartenders are friendly and the crowd is young but respectful. Wht more can you ask for?

Ausiello's is a sports bar that serves a great selections of micros, including Bear Republic's Red Rocket, Lagunitas IPA, and rotating Mendocino Brewing Company brews. Also available are Guinness and Newcastle. In addition, they have just added a small selection of bottled beers including New Belgium's Fat Tire.

Televisions are on every wall and behind the bar and are always tuned to one or more sporting events. During football season, it is heaven on Earth. Each of the 2 largest screens is tuned to the local team's game and the other televisions are showing every other game on the satellite network.

If sports are not your thing, there is a shuffleboard and a well-stocked, diverse jukebox. Buy a basket of peanuts for 50 cents and discard the shells on the floor -- it's encouraged. Most nights, patrons can be seen playing cards, liar's dice or just sitting and chatting and having a great time.

I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to blow off steam with friends and relax with a good beer or three.

Cheers!

(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

I can't believe I wrote, "Mürzen. Obviously, I meant "Märzen".

Mea culpa! Cheers!

(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good So So

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

My wife and I stopped in here for lunch a week or so ago. Boy, what a disappointment.

The place itself isn't that bad. In fact, it was one of the nicest looking places I had ever been in. I was impressed at the fact that there were 8 beers on tap, including a Pale, an IPA, a Red, a Pilsner, a Mürzen, and a Stout. Unfortunately, the beers themselves were dull, watery and flat.

I had the ShanghaIPA and the Red Ale. The IPA was nowhere near hoppy enough. In fact, the hops taste was almost non-existent. The Red tasted flat and almost cask-like, although there was no indication that it was a cask beer. Both beers were served at or above cellar temperature. While I'm a bit of a traditionalist, I prefer my beers a bit colder.

The employees were nice, but aloof. The bartender seemed to know a lot about beer and took time to answer some questions I had. The waitress was a stunning Scandinavian girl who seemed a bit inexperienced.

The day we were there, there was a "classical" pianist playing on the old, slightly out of tune upright in the corner. The classical he was playing wasn't soothing classical, but rough edged, angular, modern-sounding classical, more in the vein of Steve Reich or Terry Reily than Chopin or Rachmininoff. It was very distacting and not at all appropriate for the venue or the atmosphere.

On a positive note, the food was outstanding. I had the fish & chips, my wife had the calimari and chips. Both dishes were tasty and plentiful. I can't recommend either dish highly enough.

One last complaint (not specific to SF Brewing): Why do all places have "seasoned" fries (chips) these days? And what is in this ubiquitous seasoning? Can't a man get a plate of plain french fries anywhere these days?

Cheers!

(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gore Range Brewery, Edwards, CO

I am re-submitting this review due to the great server disaster of 2003. Originally posted in February, 2003.

My experience with Gore Range is completely different from the other reviewers'.

My wife and I took a road trip in October 2002 and stopped at dozens of brewpubs in California, Nevada, Colorado, New Mexico and Arizona and we found Gore Range to be one of the most welcoming. It seemed that everyone there went out of their way to accomodate us. The bartender was friendly and fairly knowledgable about the beer. Any questions she couldn't answer, she found out for us.

I had the sampler tray that included the very excellent Biker Stout and the hoppy and crisp Powder Day Pale Ale, a six-pack of which made the journey back to California with us. We also left with an armful of swag, including a t-shirt and some labels. A great pit stop between Grand Junction and the Denver area.

One word of advice: go easy on the beer. At 7000 ft, the sampler tray will make even the heartiest beer drinker a bit woozy and buzzed. Bring a sober friend to help you drive.

Cheers!

(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Vic, Santa Rosa, CA

Unfortunately, the Old Vic closed at the end of March. Despite a 15-year run as downtown Santa Rosa's premier spot for live music, great beer and matchmaking (4 married couples I know met there), the property management group got greedy and forced them out.

Russian River Brewing Company is scheduled to open their new restaurant/bar/brewing facility at this location later this year. While it's good news that there'll be a quality micro downtown to compete with Third street Aleworks (q.v.), it's a shame that, no matter how hard anyone tries, there will never be another Old Vic.

Cheers!

(06/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Gore Range Brewery, Edwards, CO

My experience with Gore Range is completely different from the other reviewers'. My wife and I took a road trip in October and stopped at dozens of brewpubs in California, Nevada, Colorado, New Mexico and Arizona and we found Gore Range to be one of the most welcoming. It seemed that everyone there went out of their way to accomodate us. The bartender was friendly and fairly knowledgable about the beer. Any questions she couldn't answer, she found out for us. I had the sampler tray that included the very excellent Biker Stout and the hoppy and crisp Powder Day Pale Ale, a six-pack of which made the journey back to California with us. We also left with an armful of swag, including a t-shirt and some labels. A great pit stop between Grand Junction and the Denver area. One word of adivse: go easy on the beer. At 7000 ft, the sampler tray will make even the heartiest beer drinker a bit woozy and buzzed. Bring a sober friend to help you drive.

(02/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rafters Grille and Brewery (formerly Willow Street), San Rafael, CA

Willow Street Brewery recently changed management as well as its name. The beers are still top-notch (better than Willow Street's as I recall).

(12/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy So So

Establishment: McNear's Saloon and Dining House, Petaluma, CA

McNear's is a saloon-style bar and restaurant that shares a building with the Mystic Theatre, a hot-spot for live music by nationally-known acts in historic downtown Petaluma. In fact, during shows, patrons who have paid for the show are free to come and go between the two places. I had always liked McNear's in that setting as well as when I've been there for bachelor parties or other "boys-night-out" type events. In the past I had gone mainly in the evening for imbibing purposes only. It had been quite awhile since I had been to McNear's for lunch. However, I snuck out of work early last Thursday and met a friend who works nearby for lunch. To say the least, I was hugely disappointed. First off, the service. It took us several minutes to be seated, even though we were the only ones waiting for a table, plenty of which were available. When we finally were seated, the hostess didn't ask whether we would like a beer. Finally, when our waitress came, she seemed to have no clue how to work her pen and pad and also seemed to be a bit jumpy and eager to get away from us. The beer selection hadn't changed much since I had been there last, although Petaluma favorite Lagunitas IPA had been replaced by Bear Republic's Racer 5 IPA. A good selection of beer all around with Guinness, Bass, Anchor Steam, Widmer Hefeweizen, and a couple of Christmas beers: Sierra Nevada Celebration and Anchor's 2002 offering. I settled in with a Guinness and my friend decided upon a Black and Tan. We ordered fish and chips (which inexplicably took over a half hour to prepare). Bland is the only word to describe the boring, flavorless and ho-hum fish that was served (for the record, the fries were outstanding). As I told my friend at the time, I've had phlegm that tasted better than the fish. The poor quality of the food and the service was not the low point of the experience, however. The kicker is that a single order of fish and chips costs $9.95 and the beers are $4.75 per pint. OUCH! Definitely not a place to dine if you're searching for a quick and reasonably-priced lunch while in Petaluma. Eat somewhere else, and come later in the evening for the live tunes, beer, mixed drinks and socializing. Better yet, avoid McNear's altogether go around the corner to Andreesen's bar for a funkier atmosphere, better service and a hipper clientele or across the river to Dempsey's (q.v.) for freshly-brewed beer.

(12/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Stumptown Brewery, Guerneville, CA

I love this place. I first visited at the end of a weekend-long bachelor party in the summer of 2001. I've been back numerous times since and have enjoyed myself each time. The pub itself is located on the shore of the Russian River on the eastern border of the small town of Guerneville and you can often find weary river revelers and thirsty canoeists quaffing away on the deck overlooking the river. It's worth a visit for the atmosphere and scenery (and the great eye candy, if you know what I mean). The Rat Bastard Ale is incredibly crisp and hoppy, the perfect brew on a hot summer day. The food consists of a smokehouse that serves ribs, bbq beef sandwiches and the like. There are very few vegetarian menu options so I have never sampled the food. The pub keeps 2 or 3 of their own beers and 6 or 7 local brews and a local cider on tap. The atmosphere is great: a bit funky, kinda dark, reminiscent of a southern roadhouse. The dead animal heads and taxidermied carcasses that are sprinkled around the walls are a little unsettling to an herbivore like me, but they somehow add to the place to the place's strange charm. Highly recommended if you're on the way to or from the ocean (about a half hour west) or as a stopover near the end of your canoe journey between Forestville and Guerneville. I should actually take my own advice and get there more often myself. After all, it's a shorter drive to Stumptown than it is to work. And, really, which of these two options sounds more appealing?

(11/16/2002)














(0.024 seconds) 04:28:45 54.161.200.144, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS