PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from gargantua
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 31, 2014 @ 07:12 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
gargantua

Beer Reviews
(67)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

67
Beer Reviews from gargantua
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Gray's Tied House, Verona, WI

It had a couple of good beers, the IPA and bourbon barrel stout. The rest are OK. I had no problem with the food or service....standard pub grub, with generous portions but priced a little on the high side.

All in all, I'll stop in when in the neighborhood, but would not make a point of coming here with all the other offerings in the Madison area.

(10/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brasserie V, Madison, WI

Excellent selection of Belgian beers, served in the appropriate glass, at the appropriate temperature, with a knowledgeable server.

This will be a great addition to the Madison beer scene. And the food's good too!

(09/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Granite City Food and Brewery, Madison, WI

I thought the beer was decent. The best were the IPA and the Stout, but the bock and seasonal red were OK as well.

My wife and I both enjoyed the food, and the service was prompt and attentive. Not a destination in itself, but I'd come back for lunch if I happened to be in or around the mall, and have a good time.

(03/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ale Asylum, Madison, WI

It is more of a brewery with a tasting room than a traditional brewpub. They will typically have 10 beers on tap....good variety and very high quality. They have a solid oatmeal stout called Big Slick, and a highly hopped pale ale called Hopalicious. They have 3 Belgians, and a well-balanced amber named Ambergedden. Food is available, but limited to deli sandwiches made with quality local ingredients, and chips. A must-visit for any beer aficionado. The brewmaster and several staff formerly worked at Angelic when is was a brewpub.

(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ale Asylum, Madison, WI

This is more of a brewery with a good-sized tasting room. They serve gourmet deli sandwiches in addition to the beer. They typically have 10 beers on tap. The brewmaster is the former brewmaster at Angelic Brewing, back when they used to brew on premise. Some Ale Asylum beers will be sold there, and it will also be available in bottles. An excellent beer selection with a high level of quality and attention to detail.

(06/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Maduro, Madison, WI

I have to echo an earlier review. This is a great place. You can still buy cigars here, but now you'd have to smoke them outside.

(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Claddagh Irish Pub, Middleton, WI

It's really a pretty good place as chains go. I thought the food was quite good, with generous portions. They have over a dozen tap beers....things like Guinness, Harp, Bass, Smithwick's, Pilsner Urquell type of selections that are fairly common in Irish restaurants.

(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

The food is the star of the show here. I think the beers are really quite pedestrian, unfortunately. They aren't bad, but if you care a lot about the beer then take a mile and a half stroll over to Four Peaks.

(01/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Rula Bula, Tempe, AZ

A fine Irish pub. The food was fantastic, and the beer selection was as good as any other Irish pub. Great atmosphere too.

(01/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

I was pleasantly surprised. They had nine beers on tap and I liked every one of them. It helped that 4 of them were hoppy beers. The seasonal barleywine, called Hopsquatch, was well named and a true hop monster. Even their "mass market" weakest offering called Fool's Gold had some character. The brewmaster here gets it. The food was a touch above the average pub grub, as was the service.

(01/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Piece, Chicago, IL

They had two very fine, hoppy beers when we were there, but was disappointed that they ran out of stout. Pizza was very good. I agree, the greeter was indifferent at best, but this was offset by our server who was attentive and did a nice job.

(12/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Three Floyds Brewing Company, Munster, IN

The brewpub area is indeed now open. We visited on 11/25. It is still pretty informal, there is no hostess as you enter. Seating is first come, first served. The beer menu is extensive, as they had 15 of their own beers listed on a chalkboard and several other high-quality beers are available. The pub was extremely busy, with one very overworked, but efficient and affable bartender. The food menu, so far, is fairly limited but we were able to order at the bar and we were satisfied with the food. The star of the show is of course the beer. Anyone who really cares about pushing the envelope on brewing and is anywhere within 100 miles, owes it to themselves to get down here. I came from Madison, WI...and I'll be back.

(12/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

All of their beers (I tried 8 of them) were at least solid. The pale ale seemed average, not enough hops, but the seasonal ESB was excellent...hoppier than the pale ale. I thought the tripel was exceptional, and my wife and I enjoyed lots and lots of the seasonal coffee stout and Imperial stout. Even the regular oatmeal stout was quite good. I'd have rated the beers as awesome if they'd have had a pale ale that was as memorable as their stouts. I really liked the atmosphere in the pub. I also thought the food was quite good, and they have a couple of imaginative selections that puts it a cut above the typical pub fare. I will definitely stop back here whenever I'm in St. Louis.

(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Carlyle Brewing Company, Rockford, IL

Both beers I tried were top notch, especially the American Old Ale. The IPA was also very good. I'd come back, and can recommend to anyone who happens to be in the area.

(11/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Emmett's Ale House, Downers Grove, IL

Well worth a visit. I only drank the incredible American Imperial IPA they had on tap, much to my joy and surprise. The food is good, but high-priced.

(11/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

We'd planned to eat here, but were so unimpressed with the beer that we left after just one. It's just not very good in terms of flavor...seems brewed more for the masses.

(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Hilton Head, SC

This is by far and away the best place to find good beer on the island. Like other reviewers, I thought the pizza was excellent and a traveling companion raved about the hoagies. Efficient, and friendly service. If you like a variety of good beers, and good pizza, this is the place to visit on Hilton Head.

(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Moon River Brewing Company, Savannah, GA

They do a very fine job with their beers here. I got to have an awesome Imperial Stout and IPA, and the Scotch Ale they had on tap was also very good. I enjoyed the food I had (lunch and dinner) on two of our visits, and on all 3 visits (came for the beer only once) the service was very prompt an attentive. By far the most authentic brewpub experience we encountered in the Savannah/Hilton Head area.

(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Barley John's Brew Pub, New Brighton, MN

Out of the four beers they had available, three were outstanding. The IPA might have been, but it was hopped differently so that I wasn't crazy about it but my friend was. It's a small place, with great but kind of pricey food. I'd rate Minneapolis Town Hall a bit higher for the beer because they have more variety and I prefer their IPA, but this place is definitely worth visiting if you're in the Twin Cities area.

(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Grady's Saloon, Milwaukee, WI

This is a really interesting place, with a good variety of beers on tap. They even had Smithwick's. Nice, family-friendly atmosphere.

(05/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: The Nomad World Pub, Milwaukee, WI

Quite a lively spot on the Saturday afternoon I visited. They have a solid tap selection, including a Nomad Red Lager brewed for them by Lakefront Brewing. They have limited outdoor seating and interesting decor. I'd visit again when in Milwaukee.

(05/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Great

Establishment: Milwaukee Ale House, Milwaukee, WI

The beers here are solid, but not spectacular. They have a very good pale ale and the scotch ale and stout are pretty good as well. For this visit, I had the pizza and was sorry. It wasn't terrible, it just had a Chef Boy-ar-Dee kind of bland sauce. The sandwiches are better, just stay away from the pizza unless you don't need much in the way of flavor. The service was quite good.

(05/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Palm Tavern, Milwaukee, WI

The facade is so humble, it would be very easy to miss it entirely. It does have an incredible beer selection, and the bartender/owner is very knowledgeable about the beers, which really helps patrons make informed choices. And that's particularly important here...it's definitely on the pricey side. It's really a great environment for sampling beers and worth a visit if you're in Milwaukee.

(05/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company, Fitchburg, WI

They had an excellent Imperial Stout available during my most recent visit. Most of their beers are quite good and brewed to style. While they hae some variations, there is a great deal of overlap between this Great Dane and the downtown Madison original. The smoking area is only in the upper level, so you can pretty much avoid smoke if you stay in the lower level. Separate bars and dining is available on both levels. Definitely worth a visit if you're in town...but if I could only go to one, it would be the downtown pub.

(03/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Hopleaf Bar, Chicago, IL

One of the top 3 bar beers in the area, right up there with Firkin and Map Room. Quite an impressive beer list, and all served with the appropriate glassware.

(12/01/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.163 seconds) 19:12:27 54.81.80.156, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS