PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from gerald nigro
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 20, 2014 @ 04:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
gerald nigro

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from gerald nigro
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Red Bell Brewery and Pub, Philadelphia, PA

Quality of their own beer has dropped, and my once favorite, Black Cherry Stout, has become too uneven batch to batch -- small batches are brewed -- and I rarely find a good one anymore... I like a hopped-up pale ale like Sierra Nevada and oddly enough they advised me that their lager was hoppy and much more so than their APA, and they were right; go figure?.?.? I do have great news to report though: on my last visit, during a Flyers game, I was pleasantly surprised to find that they had two Victory Brewery taps -- their first guest beers, to my knowlege -- and one of them was one of my very favorite beers ever, HOP DEVIL. I was in heaven, and I found the quality to be outstanding... The other Victory was their pilsner, which I didn't try since I was too much into my pints of Hop Devil. Reviewing on the Hop Devil alone would raise my rating but, after the flat Black Cherry Stout last time, and the other bad batches, I just can't rate them higher than 'good' --- BTW: the food consists of only roast beef sandwiches which are better than the other Wachovia Center food but merely 'good'.

(11/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Steam Whistle Brewing, Toronto, ON

While in Toronto to watch yet another Flyer A$$Whooping set upon the Laefs we followed a group, thinking we were headed to the Air Canada Center... to our pleasant surprize we serendipiously ended up at this wonderful little brewery. As pointed out prior, there is only one selection -- much to my amazement since they told us that they have been around a few years -- Even though Pilsner is not at the top of my list of beer types I enjoyed the sampling and much enjoyed the tour that was delivered for a modest sum by a charming young employee... We learned a lot and were impressed by the operation. Included in the price were either a sampling glass or, for a couple bucks more, a pint -- openers/other options were also available -- The pint glass made a wonderful addition to my glass collection and looks great in the brewery section. The Pilsner was a crisp product that provided that special quality that is found in professional microbrews, and the tour pointed out the qualities that are being instilled in their product. Best of luck to Steam Whistle and..... Let's Go FLYERS!! !!!

(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Heartland Brewery-Midtown, New York, NY

Sorry... my review, last month, was for the Times Square location... I have not visited this brewpub and cannot give my opinion... my apologies to Midtown for any problems I may have caused them; The Big Apple is just too big for a Jersey lad like myself ;O)

(12/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Heartland Brewery and Chophouse, New York, NY

The following was originally posted for the wrong location and should have been for this Times Square brewpub........Last month we tried this brewpub in hopes of good beer and decent food, we expected the prices to be high due to the location... The beer was pretty good; I had the Oatmeal Stout hoping for something near 'Samuel Smith's' but found something closer to a Guiness --the waiter brought me a pint when I asked for a 23 ouncer but quickly brought out the big one [and still charged for the pint :O)]. My main gripe is with the food... I ordered Buffalo Ribs --thats bison and not 'Buffalo Styled' like wings-- thinking they would be lean, since buffalo is leaner than beef. What I got was barbque smothered 'fat' and a large check. The wife ordered the Stroganoff [or something like that] and got a small portion with nothing on the side. Even with the price of a pint glass the bill was over $50.00 with tax and tip[and a soda for my wife] and the food was bad and unhealthy... but the good thing was that the portions were small.

(12/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Heartland Brewery-Midtown, New York, NY

Last month we tried this brewpub in hopes of good beer and decent food, we expected the prices to be high due to the location... The beer was pretty good; I had the Oatmeal Stout hoping for something near 'Samuel Smith's' but found something closer to a Guiness --the waiter brought me a pint when I asked for a 23 ouncer but quickly brought out the big one [and still charged for the pint :O)]. My main gripe is with the food... I ordered Buffalo Ribs --thats bison and not 'Buffalo Styled' like wings-- thinking they would be lean, since buffalo is leaner than beef. What I got was barbque smothered 'fat' and a large check. The wife ordered the Stroganoff [or something like that] and got a small portion with nothing on the side. Even with the price of a pint glass the bill was over $50.00 with tax and tip[and a soda for my wife] and the food was bad and unhealthy... but the good thing was that the portions were small.

(11/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Triumph Brewing Company, Princeton, NJ

We visited this last weekend and found a place that was not at all what we had expected... After a long walk down a looonnng corridor --and after almost getting knocked out by people leaving, swinging open heavy doors in our faces-- we found what seemed to be a popular place and a fairly long wait ahead of us. After a decent wait we were seated in bar with a nice 'atmosphere', and found a good but limited menu [that was not 'health' oriented in the least] and a small draught beer list. It was before seven o'clock but we found that one of their 'specials' was already no longer available. After another check of the menu I made another selection and found out that I may have been lucky for the pork dish I then selected was excellent... This just may have been my best meal in a long time --but please note that I have been living on 'low fat' dishes for a long, long time-- The waiter was very quick, knowledgeable, attentive and courteous. The beers I had were very good; I am a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale drinker and I first tried their Amber Ale thinking that the 'hoppy' 'West Coast' type ale described on the menu would be to my liking, as opposed to the 'Indian' Pale Ale... but I was mistaken and the IPA was much more to my taste and matched up very well against a Sierra Nevada draught from a beer conscious local pub. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by my visit and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to throw caution to the wind and forget about their cholesterol for a night.

(11/11/2002)














(0.044 seconds) 16:10:31 54.204.200.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS